A Chorus Line Reviews - London Palladium

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
London Palladium

London Palladium
8 Argyll Street

Seating Plan


(2mins) Exit 8 from the tube goes out onto Argyll Street (opposite the large Topshop). The theatre is 100 metres down the road.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 5th February 2013
Booking Until: Saturday, 31st August 2013
Matinees: Wednesday and Saturday 3pm
Evenings: Monday to Saturday 7.45pm
Running Time: 2 hours (no interval)
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3 out of 5 stars based on 102 review(s)


Latest Review: "29 August 2013 I had truly expected a fantastic show. I adored the concept and the music...."

Reviews Sort by
    Sunday, 10th Feb 2013 by Julie

Once a year I go to see a West End show - in 30 years I have never ever see such a poor production. There was no scenery as such, blackcurtain or mirrors. The whole 2 hours consisted on the cast standing in a line on stage - talking, or singing an awful array of songs. I left the theatre not really understanding what I had just experienced - and felt totally let down. I agree with the comment about people being "bussed in" as they seemed to laugh, clap etc at the smallest thing and i just sat there confused. If you have money to waste and want to get out of the rain then its perfect, but if you haven't then go and see something else.I very rarely write a bad review for anything but i feel so upset by my experience I don't want anyone else to suffer without warning.

    Sunday, 10th Feb 2013 by Sue

Never trust a show that has no interval. It deprives the audience of the chance to escape.

I saw the show tonight and am still recovering from charisma vacuum that sucked the life out of me and the 3 other unfortunates that witnessed it with me.

To be fair, its evident that there are some good singers and dancers in the show. I've seen Summer Strallen before and think she's a talented performer (I hope the poor soul didn't give up her part in Top Hat specially to take part in this shambles). Its the actual "show" (and I use the word loosely) itself. My God, its dull!!! I really couldn't give a toss about the whiney self-pitying little tales of the participants. Perhaps that's the sign of poor acting failing to engage the audience. But its probably more the script. I hadn't researched the show beforehand (I won't make THAT mistake again) so I didn't know what it was about. After about 3 or 4 of the personal histories, I was finding it a bit slow but comforted myself with the thought that it must surely pick up speed soon and they'd never be so cruel as to make us sit through all 16 (yes, SIXTEEN!) tedious little cameos. But yes, they did. As luck would have it, I spilled the remains of a very cold gin and tonic in my lap about a third of the way through, which perked me up a bit and was the high point of the evening. On the downside, I was deprived of some much-needed alcohol to see me through to the end.

And speaking of the end, the last five minutes were good and gave the cast a chance to show what they can do, and gave a cruel and tantalising glimpse to the audience of what the show might have been. No wonder the audience went wild! So starved were we of entertainment, we would have clapped a walk past by the ice-cream seller. And, by the way, its worth noting that the Marketing Dept cynically uses an image of the last 5 minutes ie the entertaining bit, to market the show. If that's what you think you're getting - as we did - you'll be bitterly disappointed.

I'm fortunate enough to have seen many musicals and I really can't understand the appeal of this piece. To the people who say its the best musical they've ever seen, I must ask "WHY"? There's only one decent song. Actually, there's only one song - full stop. The other bits are all half singing, interrupted by insipid talking.

If you know the story and have seen this before, then go ahead and see it - you've only got yourselves to blame. Otherwise, save your money, buy a cheap bottle of wine and invite a few people you don't like very much round for the evening. You'll get the same effect.

    Saturday, 9th Feb 2013 by Amanda, Lee and Harry

I now know why there is no interval - to stop the audience from escaping. We were very disappointed and bored. It's even depressing in places. It's a shame because there are obviously some talented people in the show. The set and costumes are dull. If only there had been more of songs like the finale. It left me feeling rather flat and not uplifted as I normally feel after a west end show. The show although advertised as been suitable for 10 years+ was certainly not suitable, due to the sexual content, for my ten year old son.

    Saturday, 9th Feb 2013 by waffle

So boring! Sad and unconvincing story if ever there was one, bad singing, a total waste of money and time. It's two hours, it feels like two days.

    Saturday, 9th Feb 2013 by Hellie M.

I certainly couldn't rave about this production....and I was so looking forward to seeing it. There were a few good performances in it, but even more wooden ones.....and some of the ugliest costumes I've seen in a musical. I had to watch the film again to remind me how good A CHORUS LINE could be!!

    Saturday, 9th Feb 2013 by haffy

Fantastic. Well done everybody involed.

    Saturday, 9th Feb 2013 by ann miller

A fantastic show. Great cast. Jon partridge's dancing impressive. Loved it.

    Friday, 8th Feb 2013 by ZK

.. Well done to everyone - I can see this show at the Palladium for a long time to come.

    Thursday, 7th Feb 2013 by JOHN L K JESSUP

My wife and I went to this show yesterday evening at £54 a ticket.

We couldn't understand why the circle was not being used.

Also,the audience was of an unusual type for a London theatre performance,Had some of them been "bussed in" by any chance?

John Jessup

    Thursday, 7th Feb 2013 by Arly

Disaster from beginning to end. No plot, bad dancing, bad acting, bad american accents, bad set, bad costumes. Please - let this die a quick and merciful death.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 7 + 8)