A Chorus Line Reviews - London Palladium

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
London Palladium

London Palladium
8 Argyll Street
London
London
W1F 7TF

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(2mins) Exit 8 from the tube goes out onto Argyll Street (opposite the large Topshop). The theatre is 100 metres down the road.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 5th February 2013
Booking Until: Saturday, 31st August 2013
Matinees: Wednesday and Saturday 3pm
Evenings: Monday to Saturday 7.45pm
Running Time: 2 hours (no interval)
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3 out of 5 stars based on 102 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "29 August 2013 I had truly expected a fantastic show. I adored the concept and the music...."

Reviews Sort by
    Tuesday, 11th Jun 2013 by Rachael

Awful, terribly boring, and awkward. The worst show I have ever seen. The "poor-me " stories went on and on for 2 hours without an Interval. ( with a few dance routines in between).Not fun at all. All I wanted to do was leave.

The last fewinutes were a bit entertaining and bright.

Not recommended.

    Sunday, 9th Jun 2013 by Caroline

This show is utterly boring. Fell asleep within first 15 minutes. Thought it might pick up and improve but sadly not. It has this modern format of prying into these people's lives, questioning them and making it painfully awkward. I didn't come to see this to hear all their lifetime problems - I wanted to see singing and dancing. Apart from 1 or 2 numbers during the show the best was in the last 5 minutes. Appalling beyond belief. Please do not waste your money and time on this show

    Wednesday, 5th Jun 2013 by Anon

Oh how I wish I had read your reviews before going to see this. I have NEVER walked out of a musical before (and frankly never thought I would need to) but this musical is shockingly bad. How it got the slot to show at the Palladium (and hasn't been cancelled yet) is a mystery to the world. I was quite literally bored to tears and it was truly painful to watch. All the way through I was thinking how much I wished I was in front of the TV watching my favourite TV show instead of stuck at the theatre watching this painfully dull musical. There was no storyline and development of characters - simply each dancer recounting their life stories. The lyrics to the songs were a little silly (I need this job, I reeeeeeally need this job/ Tits and Ass and tits and ass). The content was contrived and predictable (a character who has divorced/ unloving/ critical parents; sexual abuse; homesexuality). I hardly ever write reviews but thought I should this time round because I was so sad and disappointed after watching this I felt like I needed to share it with everyone. For anyone considering going to watch this musical, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!

    Wednesday, 5th Jun 2013 by Liv

What a terrible show. I really can't believe this is on in the west end, I was so looking forward to it but it was amateur, lack-lustre, boring, the acting / accents / dancing / singing was just poor quality. There are only about 2 good songs and those are at the end of the show - I know this because we had to stay until the end because there is NO INTERVAL! Most of the audience would leave if there was!

There was one point where this guy was doing the most tedious monologue and I thought i would have to just clamber over people to leave, it was that boring. What a shame. And the random shiny outfits at the end??? Why?

Not one I'd recommend......

    Saturday, 18th May 2013 by James

Great venue and very good performances but I found it a bit boring. My daughter who is studying dance/musicial theatre loved it. She heard a guy snoring after 10 minutes behind her and I fell asleep several times although she doesn't know. The ending was great and it was good to meet the friendly cast at the stage door but that was the hi-light. I can't really recommend it. Shame really as they all worked so hard.

    Wednesday, 15th May 2013 by Colin

The worst West End show we have ever been to. We persuaded friends to accompany us and ended up apologising to them for our poor choice. The audience was very passive and quiet throughout. The last 10 minutes were by far the best, but overall, a very disappointing 2 long hour.s.

    Wednesday, 15th May 2013 by Lynn Trott

Basic story - dancers rehearsing for a show; getting to know a bit about each dancer, ending with glitz as their task is complete. Totally boring. In comparison to Stepping Out which I saw a few years ago and had a similar basic story but the dancers were women in an evening class which was fabulous. Total waste of £90 (2 tickets).

    Wednesday, 15th May 2013 by Hils

Although knew the story was of an audition and didn't expect the set to be glitzy, I was surprised and disappointed that it was so boring. Cast just wearing leotards telling their life stories for 1 hour and 55 minutes and then 5 minutes of glitz and glamour. Couldn't relate to the characters so didn't believe their stories. No interval was a surprise but imagine that's to stop audience leaving! Not surprised it was only 50% full! Disappointing for such a wonderful venue :(

    Tuesday, 14th May 2013 by Jane

Loved it! "A Chorus Line" - it does what it says on the tin. Not the most expensive show, but definitely the most entertaining I have seen in a year or so!

    Thursday, 9th May 2013 by Mandy

I understand that this is how a chorus line works and how hard the dancers have to work to get on in their chosen career and this cast was talented. However, it didn't make for an interesting show given the poor story line and totally lacklustre set. Not surprised there was no interval as my friends and I would have left at this point and I guess many others who expressed disappointment on leaving.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 1 + 2)