A Chorus Line Reviews - London Palladium

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
London Palladium

London Palladium
8 Argyll Street
London
London
W1F 7TF

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(2mins) Exit 8 from the tube goes out onto Argyll Street (opposite the large Topshop). The theatre is 100 metres down the road.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 5th February 2013
Booking Until: Saturday, 31st August 2013
Matinees: Wednesday and Saturday 3pm
Evenings: Monday to Saturday 7.45pm
Running Time: 2 hours (no interval)
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3 out of 5 stars based on 102 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "29 August 2013 I had truly expected a fantastic show. I adored the concept and the music...."

Reviews Sort by
    Tuesday, 26th Feb 2013 by Laura

People who are commenting on this review saying that 'What I Did For Love' was (quote:) 'Bizarley sung by moralez instead of cassie' really need to widen their knowledge of the show before commenting. In the original script which is the one of which this revived perfomance has been staged around there are many different aspects in comparison to the film version- the way that this show performed is in its original conditions which agreeably differ from most theatre nowadays- however if you know what to expect and have a clear understanding of what a chorus line is, then it's a thoughrilly enjoyable and emotionally thrilling show.

    Monday, 25th Feb 2013 by Kim Hardy

Heart in your mouth emotional thrill ride, but only if your human! This show is meant for people who are not looking for the tralalar trash that litters the west end, this is a show that makes you think out of the box if your willing, it doesn't dumb down and spoon feed you dross it slaps you in the face with a double dose of reality, and some people don't know how to take it when they see something that is too close to home. Good theatre and yes especially musical theatre should reflect and heighten life, it should examine and present moments, that imitate the human condition In ways that we have to repress in the real word, this show is a relief a breath of fresh air and makes you care and engage with the journeys of these fragile souls. Don't judge a book by its cover or should I say don't let the cover miss lead you into thinking your getting a sing a long romp... it's far more layered then that.

    Monday, 25th Feb 2013 by Sheila

A friend and I were looking forward to our night Thursday 21st.at the Palladium, what a disappointment. There was no oomph or any lustre. We collect our tickets to find we had been 'upgraded' this should have rung alarm bells. The upper circle was completely empty and lots of seats empty in the stalls.. With John Partridge the driving force - it would have been great to actually have seen him instead of most of the time 'voice off stage'. Utter waste of money.

    Sunday, 24th Feb 2013 by Joan

Don't bother never been so disappointed in a London show, we have been lucky to see most London shows and try to see one a month.

This was not worthy of a London stage even fell asleep at one point, it had no staging so nothing to hold your attention while it just dragged on and on, this is the first show I have ever seen that I wanted to ask for my money back, put your money into a proper show like Les Mis.

    Thursday, 21st Feb 2013 by Dean

After reading some less than favourable reviews, of this amazing show, I felt compelled to write.

I saw the matinee yesterday, and am still buzzing. Firstly, the cast are first rate. Not only brilliant dancers, but wonderful singers, and fine actors to boot.

I was transported to 1970's New York, with an excellent orchestra and music. I generally prefer to see American shows on Broadway,to get the real deal. However I found it difficult to tell the difference!!

I was totally engaged for the full two hours, and couldn't believe the time had passed so quickly. I was left totally spellbound. What a treat. Some real quality theatre for a change. Something the West End has been sorely lacking of late, with some of the poor quality shows, and dumbing down of Musical Theatre.

Standing Ovations were well earned, and the whole team should be proud of this superb production!!

    Wednesday, 20th Feb 2013 by Jon

I was looking forward to seeing this show despite some of the negative reviews it had recieved. However I'm afraid I was very disappointed, there was no story to follow, and it was not uplifting, it felt very dull. it looked as if the stage and costumes were extremely dated consisting of a couple of mirrors that turned round. I enjoyed some of the singing but when they were talking it dragged on for AGES. This show cannot compete with others such as Oliver, overall a huge disappointment.

    Wednesday, 20th Feb 2013 by amber elliott

Having bought tickets for the opening night (19 Feb) I was looking forward to it so much. What a disappointment. The american accents were cringe worthy. It was like an am drama performance. The singers were weak, the girl who sang ti *ts and ass didn't hit any of the high notes. What I did for love was bizzarly sung by moralis not Cassie with no clue why. Far too much talking, I know from experience of other musicals with a fair bit of dialogue they will just end up with the tourists who don't speak English very well,talking through all of it.

    Tuesday, 19th Feb 2013 by Matt

Everyone who is writing bad things about this show is complaining that the experience wasn't 'uplifting' or 'joyful'. By this, they mean that they wanted the huge block-buster commerical trash which litters the West End and brings in the tourists. This isn't that show, it's something far better. It has style, taste, artistic integrity and truth. You can't just sit back and not think for two hours, you have to engage your brain and understand the audition simulation which is happening onstage.

This Broadway classic is way ahead of We Will Rock You or Viva Forever! etc. Go and enjoy, but only if you have taste and don't just want to sit and a mind-numbingly cheap and commerical excuse for a good piece of Musical Theatre.

    Monday, 18th Feb 2013 by Stephen Vishnick

I saw the matinee Saturday 16th February 2013.

Having seen and greatly enjoyed the '76 London production I was mostly disappointed this time around I'm afraid it was like watching an amateur audition for the musical there were a number of singing weaknesses as well as acting ones and not so special dancing.

This was accompanied by some poor body language - the monologue section was boring leaving one with very little empathy for the performer.

There were a number of cast changes with Scarlett Strallen replaced by Lucy Jane Adcock a less than convincing Cassie. The pluses Leigh Zimmerman was because of her role underused but lit up the stage - the Tits & Arse performer Genevieve Nicole was excellent so was the girl who played Morallis. The one real standout though was John Partridge great stage presence and really gave a dynamic portrayal of Zach.

They did receive a standing ovation though but with that classic finish I think I would get one too.

 

    Monday, 18th Feb 2013 by otto

It's not that the performances are bad, It's simplythat the show is dated. And I think a huge mistake to have the original creatives back to simply recreate it. What's the point of that? It needs looking at afresh and the book needs some serious editing for a modern audience. It all feels a bit hackneyed and juvenile. i'm all for an introspective musical but in an economic downturn, a musical about the inner thoughts of some New York dancers seems misplaced. Also the 'will they, won't they' love plot needs a much better actor than John Partridge to pull it off.The Director just comes acoss as some kind of didactic automaton.

I also think some thought should have gone into which theatre it should have been presented at. It is quite funny looking at some of the reviews and seeing how many people have no idea what they are going to see - but as the Palladium is known for glitz and glamour, it is only natural that people come to this theatre expecting big whizzy sets. Well they ain't gonna get 'em!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 8 + 7)