A Chorus Line Reviews - London Palladium

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
London Palladium

London Palladium
8 Argyll Street

Seating Plan


(2mins) Exit 8 from the tube goes out onto Argyll Street (opposite the large Topshop). The theatre is 100 metres down the road.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 5th February 2013
Booking Until: Saturday, 31st August 2013
Matinees: Wednesday and Saturday 3pm
Evenings: Monday to Saturday 7.45pm
Running Time: 2 hours (no interval)
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3 out of 5 stars based on 102 review(s)


Latest Review: "29 August 2013 I had truly expected a fantastic show. I adored the concept and the music...."

Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 18th Feb 2013 by Kim Brown

I had seen this marvellous show when Adam Faith was in it. Loved it then, and loved it now! After reading some reviews, I was a little nervous, having bought tickets for my husbands birthday. BUT, we were not disappointed, it was superb, standing ovation for the cast (we did the matinee performance Saturday 16th Feb). Cannott recommend highly enough, brilliant! The 2 hours fly by, and for those sorry lot that can't do without a cigarette/drink/loo break, no sympathy!!

    Monday, 18th Feb 2013 by A Thorpe

Two hours just flew past - thank you for the lovely evening!

    Sunday, 17th Feb 2013 by Sara

Went to see the show Saturday evening and very disappointing. Was quite bored and the lack of interval meant no chance to escape! Not the usual uplifting experience you expect a show to be.

    Sunday, 17th Feb 2013 by JOHN HALSTEAD

Terrific atmosphere even before the show started. Once it did it was sheer brilliance, with a magnificent orchestra, superb cast, incredible choreography, lighting and set. Faultless evening, Just wonderful, should run forever,

    Sunday, 17th Feb 2013 by millicent

Very disappointing, quite boring! Have seen many many musicals over and over again definitely not this one.Cast were good not there fault.

    Sunday, 17th Feb 2013 by Rick Furno

This was the 7th time I've seen A Chorus Line since I saw the Broadway touring company back in 81. I can understand a lot of the negative reviews on here by people who don't get it. A Chorus Line is such a New York show, it doesn't translate well for a British audience and a primarily British cast. It's gritty, dark, introspective and moving.....not something London audiences are prepared for. Americans love to open up and talk about themselves and love to listen to other people's problems and issues; the British are a bit more reluctant to do so, therefore watching characters on stage do this in the form of a musical(!) is not considered entertaining in the same way as it is for Americans. Having said that, this production is very good indeed, not the best I've seen, but still very good thanks to Mr Avian and Ms Lee from the original Broadway cast. it moved me and it hit all the right buttons as it has for over 30 years. (I despise musicals in general, but ACL I make an exception for.) The biggest problem for me with this production was the bad American accents. Zach and Mike in particular. Still I've got tickets to see it again and ACL remains a very relevant piece of theater.

    Sunday, 17th Feb 2013 by David

I have just been to see the show tonight and had to write to rectify some misguided comments. This show is a REVIVAL of a multi award winning production first seen in 1975. I am in my 40's and have looked forward to seeing this for many years. This production surpassed all my expectations and was far superior to the movie made in 1985.

WOW what a fantastic piece of theatre with fantastic talent. It works brilliantly without an interval as it builds to it's wonderful climax. The full house started applauding during the opening number and the atmosphere remained electric until the enthusiastic standing ovation at the end.

BRAVO all concerned. I thoroughly recommend seeing this exceptional piece of theatre.

    Saturday, 16th Feb 2013 by Sarah K

Really enjoyed the show! Some great performances. Cassie wasn't outstanding but it wasn't Scarlett Strallen we saw (matinee). Would recommend.

    Saturday, 16th Feb 2013 by S Poons

I don't understand any of these negative reviews. Surely if you're going to see a show you'd look beforehand as to what it's about?! There is no big set or scenery, but that's because it completely doesn't work with the show. I think the one star reviews have missed the whole point of the show to be honest.

The cast are fantastic, with standout performances from Victoria Hamilton-Barritt, Leigh Zimmerman and John Partridge. All three of them were outstanding and John's dancing is phenomenal, he is back where he belongs; on the West End stage!

People talking about costumes?? This is set in the 70s, of course the clothing is going to reflect that!!

Overall a wonderful show, one which I will be seeing numerous times before it closes, and I thoroughly recommend you all to see it.

    Saturday, 16th Feb 2013 by stargirl90

Fantastic show! I think some of the 1-star reviewers here missed the point of the show slightly.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 9 + 5)