Bat Out of Hell The Musical Reviews - London Coliseum

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Venue Information
London Coliseum

London Coliseum
St Martin's Lane
London
London
WC2N 4ES

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(3mins) Take Cranbourn Street until St Martin’s Lane, where you head right until you reach the theatre.

Show Information
Booking From: Friday, 18th August 2017
Booking Until: Tuesday, 22nd August 2017
Age Restriction: No children under 5.
Important Info: Please note: No food or drink purchased off-site including alcohol, soft drinks and water are permitted inside the theatre.
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 67 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Brilliant show brilliant songs and done by brilliant actors.The story might be predictable..."

Reviews Sort by
    Tuesday, 6th Jun 2017 by Rob parkin

Went to first night at the Collisum London, best show Iv ever see just fantastic from start to finish, will have to go again

    Wednesday, 26th Apr 2017 by Stan

Fantastic music, fantastic performances by all cast, great set, just a fantastic show. At Manchester opera house Tuesday 25th April

    Wednesday, 8th Mar 2017 by Dan L

Wow, I've been waiting 20 years or more for this.

Loved every minute.

Every song was a joy to listen to, and closely matched or sometimes exceeded the originals in quality.

Great cast and some excellent audio/visual ideas.

A few funny moments, and some not so funny Jim Steinman "jokes".

The song What Part of my Body Hurts the Most was amazing - I've only heard Jim's old demo version, which was "nice".

The only issue is the silly dancing - which is the Jim Steinman way if you look at many of the early videos. It just looks wrong and takes your eye of the main singers.

Standing ovation from the whole theatre at the end and well deserved.

Meat never delivered that amazing voice after Bat 1 for me (except the odd song such as dead Ringer and Objects in the Rear view mirror) so I never went to see him in concert.

This made up for that.

I'm sure I'll go again.

    Saturday, 4th Mar 2017 by Dave

Just saw this in Manchester, and I have to say that I'm less impressed than I thought I'd be. The singing, choreography, jokes and costumes were all great, but Bat Out of Hell's biggest letdown is the set and storyline.

Without spoiling anything, whilst a very nicely constructed set, the way that it's laid out makes the experience difficult and awkward for those that are sat to one side.

For the storyline, think We Will Rock You with far less cohesion. A dystopian future about a controlling and manipulative government, which is overthrown by Bohemian youths.

The issue here is that the story is never set up properly (it's not explained how things got like this, or why the controlling force is the controlling force, you're given 2 sentences at the start, and it's left for you to draw your own conclusions.

Overall, Bat Out of Hell is a fun time, with all the Meatloaf songs you're probably hoping far. The cast sings, acts, and dances brilliantly, but the set design and storyline let it down.

See it if you're a big Meatloaf fan, don't see it if you're going for the show.

    Saturday, 25th Feb 2017 by Ian Loveday

bat out of hell the musical had you on the edge of your seat from the very beginning to the closing curtain, the entire cast did Jim steinman proud, the whole cast made every song there own, the songs fit perfectly , i cant wait to go see it again, if there is anything you do this year it must be to see Bat Out Of Hell The Musical

    Wednesday, 22nd Feb 2017 by Margaret pemberton

what a fantastic show i loved it,as did everyone else in the theatre by the reactions,every cast member did a stunning job,WELL DONE ALL

    Saturday, 18th Feb 2017 by Jeremy Balcombe

On Friday night, hundreds of hard-core Meat Loaf fans descended on Manchester's Opera House to experience the opening night of Bat Out Of Hell. Now, those who consider themselves fans know that the real star is Jim Steinman, who wrote the music for Bat Out of Hell trilogy, Dead Ringer, and also the core album 'Bad for Good' (more on that later). The crowd was in fine voice, and the common age must have been mid 40's, with denim and leather much in evidence. The show started with a motorbike on stage, being cleaned and pimped by the 2 lead characters, Strat (Andrew Polec) and Raven (Christina Bennington). They were there whist the audience entered, and set up the beginning act. And what an act! I was expecting the opening chord of Bat Out of Hel, but was treated to one of many of the classic Steinman monologues, beginning 'I remember everything,'. Fans recognised this from both the Bad for Good album as well as being in Bat 2, and joined in straight away. Polec was in mesmerising form and held the crowd spellbound with his delivery and stage presence. His awareness of the crowd (and yes the Manchester lot certainly made their presence felt) was clear from the start. Rock hit followed after hit, with songs appropriately adapted to match the story. The evil leader, Falco (Rob Fowler) and his wife Sloane (Sharon Sexton) had a key role in the experience as parents battling with the desire to raise their daughter well, but also battling their own desires of a wasted and lost youth. One of the highlights of the first half was their rendition of 'Paradise by the dashboard light', with full car, baseball commentary team, emotional impact and car wreck into the orchestra pit, played for big laughs from the audience. The other supporting characters that must be mentioned are Zahara (Danielle Steers) and Jagwire (Dom Hartley-Harris) who had some of the best duet songs with the emotional 'Two out of three ain't bad' and the barnstorming 'Dead ringer for love'.

The end of the climactic first half was the escape of Strat and Raven on a motorbike to the pumping sounds of Bat Out of Hell, which got the audience on their feet for a first half standing ovation. The second half fulfilled the promise of a wonderful night with every classic track covered, and finishing with the emotional powerhouse of 'I'd do anything for love' The whole cast was assembled on stage, with the three main couples each taking part of the song for themselves. Even though water on the stage made Strat slip over mid-song, he carried on like a true professional, and got a rapturous cheer from the audience. When the last line was delivered as a challenge by Raven, 'Sooner or later you'll be screwing around', Strat turned to the audience and was given many suggestions about what to do.

Overall, a monster hit for fans of Steinman, the young cast giving some old rockers one hell of a night.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 7 + 1)