Beautiful - The Carole King Musical Reviews - Aldwych Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Aldwych Theatre

Aldwych Theatre
49 Aldwych
London
London
WC2B 4DF

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(10mins) Head out onto the main road Strand. Cross street where possible and go right. When you reach the fork, veer left onto Aldwych.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 25th July 2017
Booking Until: Saturday, 5th August 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 25 minutes
Important Info: We recommend patrons arrive at least 15mins in advance of the show start time.  Security checks will be carried  out upon arrival at the theatre, please be aware that your bags will need to be checked before being seated.
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.8 out of 5 stars based on 24 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Excellent show... Wonderful cast and plenty of songs to bring back memories... But Row G in Grand..."

Reviews Sort by
    Wednesday, 11th Nov 2015 by Charles Pope

What a show!. It is brilliant. Wonderful singing, acting and well organised scene changes.

If you don't come away from the theatre in an ecstatic mood, I don't know what to say.

    Sunday, 1st Nov 2015 by Pauline& darren

Loved every minute

    Saturday, 30th May 2015 by Linda E

An excellent production

    Saturday, 28th Mar 2015 by Jacqui hazell

Fantastic, had the album Tapestry, my daughters loved it even one of them wasn't even born then.

Bravo

    Wednesday, 25th Mar 2015 by Gillian Shaw

This is up there with the.best musical I have seen along with Jersey Boys, Les Miserables. Absolutely fantastic. Will definitely be going agai !

    Tuesday, 17th Mar 2015 by Jan K

Fantastic show - even if you're young and don't know the 'era' it's still a great, true story, good casting/acting, brilliant music. truly uplifting.

    Sunday, 22nd Feb 2015 by Steve and Suzanne

Went to the evening show on 20th February with my wife. We both thoroughly enjoyed the show despite being 'up in the gods' at the back of the circle (which may be a problem for people with vertigo!) The storyline was focused, unfussy and to the point and the acting top quality with special kudos to the leading lady. A measured mix of drama, music and dance with a smattering of comedy for good measure. Held my interest from start to finish and exceeded my expectations. I don't really think it matters if people are not familiar with Carole King or her work because I am sure anyone attending would be surprised at the scale of her song writing credits (with Gerry Goffin) for other artists well known hit records from 'way back when'. I have been to a number of musicals based on artists/bands careers and would say that this comes out very favourably so would recommend wholeheartedly.

    Thursday, 19th Feb 2015 by SAMc

What an evening to hear so many of the songs CK wrote. Joanna Woodward was outstanding as CK and brought tears to my eyes during 'You've got a friend' and 'A Natural Woman'. What emotion!. Our party ranged from 20s to 60s and all left the show wanting to see it again. The pace was good throughout and the orchestrations were excellent. 'Up there with the best' was voiced by all our group of twenty. Highly recommended.

    Monday, 16th Feb 2015 by Bob Poole

Nothing less than top marks for this superb portrayal of a great singer & song writers from the 60's & 70's.. my record collection is full of songs written by these fabulous artists.. You will be surprised...

    Monday, 16th Feb 2015 by M Morris

My Hubby took me to see the show as a Birthday treat on 14th February. We both enjoyed every single minute of it. Katie Brayben was superb as Carole King. The keyboard player in the Orchestra pit, was also amazing !!!!! Would thoroughly recommend this show, without doubt.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 1 + 7)