Billy Elliot Reviews - Victoria Palace Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Victoria Palace Theatre

Victoria Palace Theatre
Victoria Street

Seating Plan


(2mins) The theatre is on the Wilton Road bend and can be seen from the station.

Show Information
Booking From: Thursday, 7th April 2016
Booking Until: Thursday, 7th April 2016
Running Time: 3 hours
Age Restriction: Contains frequent strong language, children under 7 will not be admitted. Not recommended for children under 12. Children under 16 must be accompanied by an adult.
Important Info: Contains some bad language and violence.  Ruthie Henshall will not appear on selected Tuesday performances.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 100 review(s)


Latest Review: "What a fantastic show we have seen. The cast were fantastic . Billy and Michael were brilliant an..."

Reviews Sort by
    Sunday, 11th Mar 2012 by Jestyg

Absolutely fabulous, the strong language was a shock but overall a stunning performance, captivating, moving, enthralling, the entire time, I laughed, I cried, a very memorable musical!

    Sunday, 12th Feb 2012 by sue deacon

Seen billy 6 time now but each time is as  magical as  the first. It takes u on the most heatwarming journey. Its funny, sad and extremly clever. The cast are so talented and just cant wait to see it again. fellas if u want any tips for valentines day then take her to see  the show.

    Thursday, 12th Jan 2012 by John Elkins

A very energetic performance, and unbelievable  young 'Billy' at just 12 years old. A standing ovation said it all,I think I was expecting a lot more tap, But of course its a ballet story. I thought the Theatre was  enchanting. Just a pity the roadworks outside were such a shambles. no doubt the end result will be worthwhile'

    Saturday, 31st Dec 2011 by trish walsh

What a wonderful show, the acting singing and dancing was brillant, I was so excited to go watch Billy I have watched the film I thought that was good but to go see it on stage was even better. Thankyou all the cast for making my night.

    Tuesday, 4th Oct 2011 by Emma

Wow is what I thought of this show. It was so amazing my first ever show in London and I loved it so much. The cast were totally fantastic. The young man that played Billy Elliot on 01 October @ 7.30pm was breathtaking. Wow Wow Wow. XX

    Monday, 19th Sep 2011 by JOHN GIBSON

Tremendous, magnificent. I have watched most musicals in the West end over the years but Billy Elliot is by far and away the most entertaining. The humour is both subtle and in your face - it will have you laughing out loud. My opinion - Just go and watch it - you will return - I have - 9 times !

    Monday, 11th Jul 2011 by Jessica Cabrera

We took my son (8) He just loved it.  We had such a great time. Greatly recommended.

    Sunday, 12th Jun 2011 by K Harrison

I could never understand why some people would want to see a show many times...until I saw Billy Elliot! It has humour pathos terrific dancing and some very moving moments. If you don't like it either you have a heart of stone or you are a died-in-the-wool supporter of Mrs. Thatcher's policies!

    Friday, 6th Aug 2010 by David Grech

Brilliant show not to be missed.

    Sunday, 30th May 2010 by Boxoffice Review

This multi award winning international smash hit musical hailed by critics as "the Greatest British musical ever" is currently playing in Chicago and on Broadway. It has just celebrated its fifth birthday (March 31st 2010) and it is still one of London's must see musicals. 
Based on the 2000 BAFTA award winning Oscar nominated film (also directed by Stephen Daldry) Billy Elliot is set the North of England during the miners strike in 1984 and follows the story of a young boy who stumbles upon a ballet class one day and discovers he has an extraordinary talent for dancing.  His gifts are encourage by the hard nosed but ultimately selfless ballet mistress, Mrs Wilkinson, while keeping this newly found love of dance a secret from his father and brother who are preoccupied with the strike as they fight to save their way of life.
The current cast, led by Olivier award winning actress Joannah Riding as Mrs Wilkinson and Joe Caffery (who played Billy's brother Tony in the original cast) as Billy's Dad, is terrific and keep the show pulsating with the freshness and vitality it had when it first began in the West End.  Riding is commanding ans sensitive as Mrs Wilkinson belting out numbers like Shine and Born to Boogie she portrays Mrs Wilkinson as a woman hardened by life and disappointment who is given a glimmer of hope and fulfilment by the talent of young Billy. 
One of the reasons the show is so fresh is the constant cast changes of the children involved in the show.  Since it began countless children have trad the boards of the Victoria Palace theatre as Ballet Girls, young kids in a boxing class and of course as Billy himself and his two friends Michael and Debbie.  Each of the kids bring something different to their own portrayal of these characters making each show incredibly different (there are 3 Billy's, Michael's and Debbie's that play the part in rotation with different combinations nightly).  On the evening I saw the show Billy was played by Fox Jackson-Keen, Connor Kelly as Michael and Francesca Mango as Debbie.  The three of them were superb.  Brilliant comic timing and emotional depth was on display by these youngsters and their cheekiness absolutely charmed the audience.
The role of Billy is a demanding one requiring the young actor to excel in Ballet, Tap and Jazz dancing as well as being able to sing and act to the higest possible standard.  Jackson-Keen was more than equal to this task.  It is brilliant to see that in numbers such as Electricity, the creative team incorporate the strengths of each individual actor playing Billy (as they did with the original 3 actors). 
All in all, whichever cast of kids you get you are sure to have a brilliant evening.  It's funny, charming and touching feel good with fantastic dance numbers (especially Solidarity, Electricity and the end of act 1) and memorable moments.  This is a show for anyone who has ever had a dream and been fortunate to have those who love them enough to help them follow it no matter what. 
One word of warning, there is a lot of strong language in the production so parents of younger children may want to watch the film before deciding to bring them.
Musical - Billy Elliot the Musical - Music by Elton John. Lyrics and Book by Lee Hall
Where - Victoria Palace Theatre (Victoria Street, London, SW1E 5EA)
When - Monday - Saturday 7.30pm Matinees Thursday + Saturday 2.30pm
Running time - 3 hours

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 8 + 1)