Cabaret Reviews - New Wimbledon Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
New Wimbledon Theatre

New Wimbledon Theatre
93 The Broadway
SW19 1QG

Seating Plan


Take the tube to Wimbledon (District) or South Wimbledon (Northern) and the theatre is an easy walk. The Wimbledon railway station is also nearby.

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 28th August 2013
Booking Until: Saturday, 31st August 2013
Matinees: Wednesday and Saturday 2.30pm
Evenings: Monday to Saturday 7.30pm
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 73 review(s)


Latest Review: "Saw the film but that was not a patch on this production !Will it be coming back to South ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Friday, 16th Nov 2012 by Bluey

I saw this show at The Lowry but was so taken with it that once was not enough and I went to see it again at The savoy recently. Will Young's performance was superb; I was quite stunned by his performance of "Tomorrow Belongs to Me" at the end of the first half , particularly as it is not what you might expect from Will ;it was quite terrifying ! The audience was silent and I found I was holding my breath at the end of the show as it was so moving , so alarming. The whole cast were superb - great singer-dancers and , of course Sian Phillips was utterly believable with a great stage presence. It was the best show I have ever seen.

    Friday, 16th Nov 2012 by Frankie

Superb, I thought it was amazing! The whole cast are brilliant...The stage presence of all was great, the end gives us something to think about especially in the month of Remembrance. I loved it - Go see if you can. Will Young is such a gifted entertainer, he belongs on the stage (and screen)....

    Tuesday, 13th Nov 2012 by Chris

Amazing show. I didn't know what to expect but wow. It builds slowly until an unforgetable ending. Will Young stole the show, what a talent. The change he goes through from light hearted to darkness is incredible. Who knew Michelle had that voice. I didn't think the romance between her and Cliff was as touching as the romance between the older couple but it didn't spoil the show for me. Great dancing and lighting make this a must see show. Will definately be going back.

    Sunday, 11th Nov 2012 by Garry

Really enjoyed the show, took us through a period of light time in Berlin to really dark times with excellent timing and expression. All the cast were excellent and a really thought provoking ending. Well done.

    Sunday, 11th Nov 2012 by Phil

I never saw the movie, I didn't know the storyline. I was whisked back to 1931 and became entranced by this West End production. WIll Young was excellent, and MIchelle Ryan was sensational . Brilliant powerful singing performances, eye candy choreography, and stage sets. Congratulations to all.

    Friday, 9th Nov 2012 by Kay

I went to this show without having seen the film or show before. I think I must have seen a different show than those that left such negative comments.

I loved it, although the plot was much darker than I had thought. Will Young seemed to be made for the part of Emcee, and Sian Phillips was superb. Is she really 79?

Definately don't miss this show.

    Thursday, 8th Nov 2012 by Jean Eva

I was quite apprehensive about seeing this show after reading some of the negative reviews but having seen it first hand yesterday I can only think that the negative reviewers saw a different show. The show captured the darkness of the period brilliantly and the scenes between the elderly lovers was so poignant and at times so sad. All the cast were excellent but top marks to Will Young who is just a simply brilliant entertainer and was a superb emcee. Michelle Ryan did well as Sally Bowles but no one could live up to the performance of Lisa Minnelli in the film version. Please do go and see it, it is fantastic!

    Monday, 5th Nov 2012 by dannynot

Will Young was fantastic! All the dancers too. Every actor was brilliant.

    Saturday, 3rd Nov 2012 by Irene

What a great show. Will Young was made for this part and I did not know Michelle Ryan was such a good singer. The story builds gradually but once it starts to hot up is was mesmerising and dark in places. Really enjoyed the whole show excellent!

    Tuesday, 30th Oct 2012 by Diane Howe

Brilliant! Brilliant! Brilliant!

Saw the matinee on Saturday 27th October. Loved everything about it: powerful performances especially from Will Young ,who had the audience in the palm of his hand,quirky choreography, great sets and a slick adaptation.

Deliciously dark as it builds to the emotional and stunning final scene. We were rendered speechless and the impact lingers. A truly WOW show.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 4 + 6)