Cabaret Reviews - New Wimbledon Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
New Wimbledon Theatre

New Wimbledon Theatre
93 The Broadway
London
SW19 1QG

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
Take the tube to Wimbledon (District) or South Wimbledon (Northern) and the theatre is an easy walk. The Wimbledon railway station is also nearby.

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 28th August 2013
Booking Until: Saturday, 31st August 2013
Matinees: Wednesday and Saturday 2.30pm
Evenings: Monday to Saturday 7.30pm
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 73 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Saw the film but that was not a patch on this production !Will it be coming back to South ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 4th Oct 2012 by daisy moore

I came to expect an opening night full of promise,but i'm afraid this show has been very poorly put together.

First and foremost do not expect any good dancing,if not for a few trite steps (both from dancers and stars),secondly the story evolves more around the sad elderly couple (with lots of very slow action and songs) than around Sally and her lover,thirdly the famous scene where Sally sings dancing on/with a chair is completely gone (may be due to lack of dancing prowess by Ryan )replaced by a very boring one fronting two mirrors;and last but not least the show ends in a very depressing mood with cast naked (their backs to the audience) and heading for the gas chamber .The show stalls troughout and there's never a crescendo.

In three words : boring,average and slow.Probably what to expect these days when show-business standards are all lowered to reality show ones.Disappointing.

    Thursday, 4th Oct 2012 by FT

One of the best productions I have ever seen. Will Young was quite simply superb. His stage presence is mesmerising. Sian Phillips gave a heart touching performance as Fraulein Schneider and I wish we could have seen more of Harriet Thorpe, who was outstanding as Fraulein Kost. The direction, staging, lighting and music all combined to form true theatrical magic, with the excellent cast becoming one with the set through imaginative choreography. Michelle Ryan as Sally Bowles was good - and could do with a bit more of something. Depth? Or perhaps it was just that some of her timing was a bit out due to 'first night in London' nerves? Notwithstanding, I would recommend this show to anyone. Laughed my socks off through 'Two girls one boy' and was brought to tears in the final act. Catch it while you can.

    Wednesday, 3rd Oct 2012 by Jean Sumner

Watched this at Lowry last Wednesday. Fantastic show. All performed great - Will Young stunning, so professional, such an all-rounder.

    Wednesday, 3rd Oct 2012 by Hattie

Went to see show at Norwich Theatre Royal - FANTASTIC x Will Young as Emcee - just perfect in the role. For those who know the story of Cabaret you won't be disappointed - supporting cast fantastic loved Sian et al, dancing superb and my young adult daughter (the only young adult in the house) is inspired to continue her dance classes.

    Tuesday, 2nd Oct 2012 by Jean

What a fabulous show. Went to the Lowry from the Midlands on 30th especially to see this and was blown away by the performances. Will was out of this world, the part was made for him and he did it proud. Michelle also had a lovely clear singing voice and gave a good performance. Sian Phillips was great also. All in all a superb production, I certainly would see it again and hope it runs and runs in London. A funny, sad, sexy with a very thoughtful and poignant message at the end. A must see.

    Sunday, 30th Sep 2012 by Rose

I would urge everyone to go and see Cabaret if they can,it's amazing.

Cast and choreography are excellent but Will Young in particular was phenomenal.He was made to play the Emcee,he made me laugh he made me cry and his vocals are sublime,and he gives 100% of himself to the role.

A definite must see.Take tissues for the final scene.

    Sunday, 30th Sep 2012 by Martha Annis

Travelled from Hull to The Lyric, Lowry in Salford for yesterday's matinee to see this show, and I wasn't disappointed. Will Young was sensational as the Emcee, a perfect role for him and he played it for all he was worth, truly fabulous. I have to be honest and say I was disappointed with Michelle Ryan as Sally Bowles, the part needs a great voice, personality and charisma and she is somewhat lacking in all 3 but looks gorgeous! It was Will's show all through, and he'll go down a storm in the West End.

    Saturday, 29th Sep 2012 by musical fan

Saw this in Manchester on Monday. A superb production. Excellent choreography, excellent singing (both Will and Michelle Ryan, who is clearly going to go far, with her strong, clear singing). Spectacular. Powerful ending.Will be a huge hit in London.

    Saturday, 29th Sep 2012 by Beth

We were in Manchester for an evening away and just happened to see this was on so bought last minute tickets. Didn't know the story and hadn't seen the film. Oh my goodness, it was fabulous! Michelle was fantastic and totally convincing and Will couldn't have been more perfectly cast. From comical to sinister with ease and of course with amazing vocals (with German accent!). I didn't think I'd see a musical that would compare to Les Mis but because of the direction and cast this really does! Go and see it, Will is a true star.

    Wednesday, 26th Sep 2012 by Ken Haworth

The Lowry Salford, Monday 24 September 2012.

Was gripped by this production of Cabaret from beginning to end. Very tight, disciplined and superbly performed.

Very dark ,serious, decadent, atmospheric and the musical numbers are brilliantly staged and performed.

Will Young is outstanding as the Emcee , well supported by Michelle Ryan as Sally Bowles, Sian Phillips (quite excellent as Fraulein Schneider) and the rest of the cast.

Highly recommended.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 7 + 7)