Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Reviews - Theatre Royal Drury Lane

Check Availability
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Theatre Royal Drury Lane

Theatre Royal Drury Lane
Catherine Street

Seating Plan


(5mins) Go right on Long Acre; turn right into Bow Street and after 100 metres it will be on your left in Russell Street/Catherine Street.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 25th October 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 7th January 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Age Restriction: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is recommended for a general audience. The show is suitable for children aged 6 and over. All persons entering the theatre, regardless of age, must have a ticket. Babes-in-arms will not be admitted. All children must be old enough to occupy their own seats.
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 81 review(s)


Latest Review: "The most spectacular show I've seen EVER! I have seen a lot of musicals over the years, but this..."

Reviews Sort by
    Tuesday, 23rd Aug 2016 by Sheryl Stenner

The most spectacular show I've seen EVER! I have seen a lot of musicals over the years, but this tops them all. We took our 10 years old son and he was enchanted, excited and on the edge of his seat the whole way through. Thoroughly recommend, whatever your age - simply perfect.

    Thursday, 30th Jun 2016 by Emily

It was amazing cenery and great acting,my favourite part was the end.

    Friday, 10th Jun 2016 by maddie

really great, I loved the scenery and a good school trip

    Sunday, 29th May 2016 by Suewho

I liked this very much . Although it started off quite slowly , after the intermission things picked up at a pace . The sets were spectacular & there was a good dose of humour . Overall , I would recommend .

    Monday, 28th Mar 2016 by Sam

AMAZING!!!! The effects were really good and the show was mind blowing

    Saturday, 20th Feb 2016 by Sue Lewis

Brought my grand daughters to the Matinee on the 16th February - their first West End Show. The Production was good, many of the cast, especially the children, were excellent and the set and special effects were brilliant. It was let down by Wonka who seemed to "mark" his performance all the way through - was this because it was a Matinee and "didn't matter? Please Mr Wonka put some more energy and phzazz into your performance - you are such a let down. Was also disappointed in Daddy Bucket - a very limp performance from him too. Such a disappointment - spoiled the show for me - and was a poor example of teamwork to children.

    Sunday, 7th Feb 2016 by cath from cumbria

Just Super.

    Tuesday, 28th Jul 2015 by Kae kae

Loved it! I thought the girl who played Veruca was brilliant and the boy who played Charlie made it a stunning performance. Although I was slightly let down by the fact that it was different songs since I am a fan of both the sweet original movie and the slightly more wacky remake of the movie. But all in all, this would get a 10 out of a possible 10. It had a fantastic layout, all the actors were on queue and gave it their best, and the theatre was a very comfortable atmosphere I almost fell asleep during the interval but act 2 starting up woke me again. If i had the opportunity to see this again, I would in a heartbeat! Well Done, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory!

    Monday, 18th May 2015 by Nicky g

Had front row seats and was really looking forward to a sing a long as this is my favourite childhood film. Was so disappointed the musical score was completely different. Can't see any reason for this and personally spoilt the magic. Good acting by young Charlie, uncle joe and wonka. Don't know where daddy bucket sprung from. Sorry but how can you have this without ompa lumpa dupidy dee ....

    Sunday, 19th Apr 2015 by Karen

Saw the show yesterday ,songs were different but affects we're amazing we'll worth going to see

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 7 + 7)