Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Reviews - Theatre Royal Drury Lane

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Theatre Royal Drury Lane

Theatre Royal Drury Lane
Catherine Street
London
WC2B 5JF

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Go right on Long Acre; turn right into Bow Street and after 100 metres it will be on your left in Russell Street/Catherine Street.

Show Information
Booking From: Monday, 5th December 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 7th January 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Age Restriction: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is recommended for a general audience. The show is suitable for children aged 6 and over. All persons entering the theatre, regardless of age, must have a ticket. Babes-in-arms will not be admitted. All children must be old enough to occupy their own seats.
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 82 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Had high expectations for this show, it was really disappointing i found it extremely slow especi..."

Reviews Sort by
    Sunday, 19th Apr 2015 by Karen

Saw the show yesterday ,songs were different but affects we're amazing we'll worth going to see

    Monday, 26th Jan 2015 by Heather b

Specific effects amazing. A magical performance. Mrs teevee was hilarious. The only one slight criticism is we struggled to hear some of the singing over the orchestra.

    Monday, 8th Dec 2014 by Susu

Saturday 8th December 2014 - what an absolutely brilliant show. Loved the way Alex Jennings gave Willy Wonka character. Charlie was brilliant, clear and proud. The rest of the cast support was very strong and all the child characters were fearless in the delivery of the individual characters. The sets were just fantastic, I honestly didn't know what to expect when it came to recreating scenes from the movies but they surpassed anything I had expected, very clever. Set changes were spot on and the clours and excitement created was simply amazing. I left the theatre in tears it made me feel so emotional but very very happy. I now have wonderful memories that I'm sure I will still excitedly tell in the years ahead. Theatre staff so friendly and helpful. Thank you with love xx

    Thursday, 23rd Oct 2014 by Sam H

Brilliant show - Alex Jennings once again proving what an amazing performer he is as Willy Wonka, all the cast are fantastic though. First half slightly slow, second half just blows everyone away - would watch again in a heartbeat, kids adored it.

    Saturday, 13th Sep 2014 by Annapiana

Saw previous cast which we're amazing, but what a disappointment this Wonka is, not a patch on Douglas Hodge and a very very stagy child playing Charlie, seemed to over emphasise everything, ( A very natural blond child with a Yorkshire accent played Charlie at Easter, Fantastic) As the old saying goes if it ain't broke don't fix it. If you weren't luck enough to see previous cast, then you won't know what you have missed .The the oompa loompas are inspired, and the technical wizardry brilliant, three of the grandparents are very funny, Granpa Jo however is weak. Still not a terrible show , fun for the kids.

    Sunday, 31st Aug 2014 by Kay

A fabulous production, the set , actors ,music ,special effects superb.

    Wednesday, 6th Aug 2014 by Dianne

I visited the theatre in my wheelchair and received first class service from Dave. Charlie and the chocolate factory was amazing. Will be visiting again soon.. Thank you Dave 😃

    Tuesday, 22nd Jul 2014 by Maria

Fantastic show scenes on set were unbelievable all cast were

fantastic loved every minure of it.

Saturday 28th june 2014

    Tuesday, 8th Jul 2014 by Northern lass

Absolutely amazing!! Alex Jennings made a fantastic willy wonka and the children all stood out in their own special part especially Amy Carter as Verucca Salt what a fantastic young actress at such a young age! Simply fantastic!

    Wednesday, 4th Jun 2014 by roisin lynch

what a spectacle! eye boggling sets, fantastic design, must have had a crew of hundreds to stage whilst cleverly arranged front of tabs cast traversed wonderfully through the oh so well known storyline. my 6 year old had an unforgettable first theatre experience, enjoyed every single scene, great music, great songs, hilarious oompah loompahs, great job by everyone concerned. little charlie an absolute treat. recommend to all

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 2 + 4)