Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Reviews - Theatre Royal Drury Lane

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Theatre Royal Drury Lane

Theatre Royal Drury Lane
Catherine Street
London
WC2B 5JF

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Go right on Long Acre; turn right into Bow Street and after 100 metres it will be on your left in Russell Street/Catherine Street.

Show Information
Booking From: Friday, 30th September 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 7th January 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Age Restriction: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is recommended for a general audience. The show is suitable for children aged 6 and over. All persons entering the theatre, regardless of age, must have a ticket. Babes-in-arms will not be admitted. All children must be old enough to occupy their own seats.
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 81 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "The most spectacular show I've seen EVER! I have seen a lot of musicals over the years, but this..."

Reviews Sort by
    Wednesday, 26th Jun 2013 by Dordee

Takes the genre to another 21st C level absolutely superb beyond anything I could have imagined on stage. Wonka sublime, Oompa Lumpas joyous and we especially loved Charlie.

    Sunday, 23rd Jun 2013 by Kad

Saw this on saturday 22nd June, evening performance. Excellent production, based on the film. Scenery fantastic, songs superb with lots of humour. The only thing that slight tainted our evening was the row of girls behind us that fidgited all evening. I even got a kick to the shoulder on several occasions and is it really necessary to scream and whistle after every scene!!!

    Sunday, 23rd Jun 2013 by Claire donnelly

Amazing show, was seated in the balcony row F. If you ok with heights these cheaper seats were quite roomy and great views.

    Sunday, 23rd Jun 2013 by Trevor Goddard

Had a wonderful day to see Willy Wonka, everything excellent staff very helpful an wonderful show,not been to theatre for a few years very impressed.

    Saturday, 22nd Jun 2013 by lindsay smith

Brilliant from start to end, would see again, just wish you had chocolate bars to buy like of the film. Love it definitely go see it.

    Thursday, 20th Jun 2013 by Jam

It must have been more than OK as my 4 year old granddaughter - (if you know the book, as she did, why the age recommendation? - ) sat intently throughout. And even though the sweet garden was not up to expectations, she still exclaimed, "I can't speak! It's amazing." But I thought the music derivative and unmemorable, and some wonderful moments were lost, like Grandpa Joe leaping out of bed when Charlie shows him the winning ticket. Also - a small moral point: finders is not keepers, especially when you know who has dropped the ticket. Dahl's moral dilemma was far more believable and acceptable than this Charlie's who, knowing full well who had accidentally dropped the ticket decided to keep it for himself. A no no.

    Tuesday, 18th Jun 2013 by Sandra Horgan

Saw show 17th June for my 50th birthday. AMAZING SHOW Douglas Hodge is a legend as Willy Wonka! The whole cast gave 200 per cent. Great story telling and amazing special effects. Can't wait to come again. The cast take you through every emotion a wonderful extravaganza! Thank you for a magical evening.

    Monday, 17th Jun 2013 by tania e

Amazing. my 2 boys and us had an amazing time. excellent special effects. Willy wonka and Charlie and grandpa joe are spectacular.the ompa lumpas are great fun and very clever how they are done, loved it from start to finish. had very very high expectations as favourite book when little and loved the original film but this show well exceeded my expectations, truly amazing.willy wonka amazing and very funny, had a great time and would love to see it again. great music.great songs. best show I have seen and I have seen a lot of shows. my boys had a geat time too.

    Sunday, 16th Jun 2013 by Carmen

Sam has now worked his magic on stage as he does with his movies. Brilliant evening.

    Saturday, 15th Jun 2013 by Jilly

Saw the show last night,14/06/13, loved the original film so was really looking forward to the show, was a bit disappointed as no oompa loompah song and was really disappointed as no wonka chocolate bars on sale, Charlie and willy wonka were very good as where the other kids, very clever how some of it was done but just felt something was missing, the lady next to me fell asleep, not sure if she was bored or just tired lol, a bit disappointing but had a good night with a few laughs and glad I went to see it.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 9 + 3)