Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Reviews - Theatre Royal Drury Lane

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Theatre Royal Drury Lane

Theatre Royal Drury Lane
Catherine Street
London
WC2B 5JF

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Go right on Long Acre; turn right into Bow Street and after 100 metres it will be on your left in Russell Street/Catherine Street.

Show Information
Booking From: Monday, 5th December 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 7th January 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Age Restriction: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is recommended for a general audience. The show is suitable for children aged 6 and over. All persons entering the theatre, regardless of age, must have a ticket. Babes-in-arms will not be admitted. All children must be old enough to occupy their own seats.
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 82 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Had high expectations for this show, it was really disappointing i found it extremely slow especi..."

Reviews Sort by
    Saturday, 15th Jun 2013 by Jilly

Saw the show last night,14/06/13, loved the original film so was really looking forward to the show, was a bit disappointed as no oompa loompah song and was really disappointed as no wonka chocolate bars on sale, Charlie and willy wonka were very good as where the other kids, very clever how some of it was done but just felt something was missing, the lady next to me fell asleep, not sure if she was bored or just tired lol, a bit disappointing but had a good night with a few laughs and glad I went to see it.

    Thursday, 13th Jun 2013 by gary pennington

Hi well done to everyone involved in the show, was a very good show, shame about the threatre, being nearly six feet tall found the seating very uncomfortable, not enough room, once again well done to all involved,

    Wednesday, 12th Jun 2013 by Kate de Freitas

A wonderful production! So lovely to hear my 10 year old son simply guffaw with laughter at the humour in it. Charlie was wonderful as was Douglas hodge as Wonka. The set was spell binding apart from the chocolate river! What a let down! I agree with earlier reviews that the garden could have had more lollipop trees etc in it. Th original oompa loompa song would ave been nice but what fab costumes! Brilliantly creative. I got the impression that Sam didn't really know what to do with the end- not surprisingly. Might have been better to get the rest of the ticket holders back in whatever state they were in for the top Hat and cane routine and make it really camp showering sweets over the audience? Loved it though. Would happily go back and see it again

    Wednesday, 12th Jun 2013 by Tracey Price

Set was really good 1st half, 2nd half was disappointing as was Mr Wonka. The kids were all amazing, especially Veruca!!!

    Monday, 10th Jun 2013 by Sue Q

.. Simply magical. Didn't hear a peep out of my kids through the entire show. Well done everyone.

    Friday, 7th Jun 2013 by Jessica B

Saw the show on 23rd May. Have to say was very disappointed. Whilst the kids did a great job, I thought the first Act was very boring. The girl who played Violet was amazing although the Verruca, whilst a good actress was very high pitched in places!!! weren't the only ones to think this. No tapping our feet or humming any of the tunes, they just weren't catchy enough! Listening to other comments as we left the theatre we weren't the only ones to think this. I was so disappointed as me and my son (9 years) had booked our tickets ages ago and were really looking forward to this.

    Wednesday, 5th Jun 2013 by thomas

Fantastic!! watched preview in may and had really good songs and some lovely scenes. but 'Grandpa Joe' did drop a prop but apart from that it was really good.

    Monday, 3rd Jun 2013 by Kathy Winder

The show was fantastic my grandson, daughter & i thoroughly enjoyed it.

Unfortunatly when my husband booked our tickets he was informed that the minimum age to see the show was seven +.

This was an 8th birthday present for my grandson, he was really disappointed that his 5 year old brother couldn't go. On arriving at the theatre there were children in the audience even younger than five. Why is this?.

    Sunday, 2nd Jun 2013 by Henry Walker

A exciting musical take of children favourite. Really ejoyed how combined all the magical elements into book onto the stage. The sets, music took.

I must see.

    Saturday, 1st Jun 2013 by R Shipton

Fantastic! Can't normally stand musical theatre, but the whole family - myself included - loved it. Stage design was innovative and dynamic, constantly changing. Story was well paced and the kids (6 and 8) never lost interest. Agree with comments that a couple of the original songs would have been nice, but the ones in the performance were - with the exception of one slow, droning, over-long one at the start of Act 2 - great. The Oompa Loompas, and their songs, were fantastic too. Most enjoyable night out I've ever had at the theatre!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 3 + 1)