Charlie and the Chocolate Factory Reviews - Theatre Royal Drury Lane

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Theatre Royal Drury Lane

Theatre Royal Drury Lane
Catherine Street
London
WC2B 5JF

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Go right on Long Acre; turn right into Bow Street and after 100 metres it will be on your left in Russell Street/Catherine Street.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 27th September 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 7th January 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Age Restriction: Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is recommended for a general audience. The show is suitable for children aged 6 and over. All persons entering the theatre, regardless of age, must have a ticket. Babes-in-arms will not be admitted. All children must be old enough to occupy their own seats.
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 81 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "The most spectacular show I've seen EVER! I have seen a lot of musicals over the years, but this..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 30th May 2013 by The Cole Family

My wife,daughter and myself attended the evening show of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory on Wednesday 29th May,absolutely fantastic production,amazing from start to finish.Out of this world.

    Thursday, 30th May 2013 by Sandy

Went to see the show last night,so well done all cast were 100% and the staging has to be the best in London at the moment. The only bit that let it down was the end, it needs to get the audience on their feet to send us out on a high, it left me feeling flat, the children in the audience would love to jump around how about blowing bubbles and the Oompa Loompah doing their song then you will get 5 * every night well done to all.

    Thursday, 30th May 2013 by John griffiths

Musicals not really my thing to be honest

Great set, good performances let down by lack of any good tunes. Much of the first half humour seemed to be too much for many of the kids in the audience who consequently made a lot of noise!

Shame really as everyone on stage was great. Well done Alex and the kids.

    Thursday, 30th May 2013 by Lou

It was a good show which my children loved aged 6 + 10, but none of the songs where from the film which was a little disappointing. I kind of expected a bit more from a west end show. But overall was good and quiet funny in parts.

    Thursday, 30th May 2013 by C Smith

We saw the show on Saturday (25th). I have to say it is the best stage show/musical we have ever seen.

It was funny, clever, and a visual feast.

The child actors were great, my daughter especially loved Violet and I though Verruca was fab and funny.

It was a modern/cool take on the film we all know - with Mike Teeve being computer game mad and Violet a sassy street teen with bling.

I don't want to give too much away but the bits we loved were - the way they showed the kids with the winning tickets, Mike Teevee's mum, the way each child met their sticky end when in the factory, the Oompa Loompa's were fab too.

I enjoyed the songs and think they could become classics over time.

My daughter (10) and son (6) were transfixed throughout.

It is a must see show, infact the only show I have ever been to where I would happily (infact, want to) go again.

    Wednesday, 29th May 2013 by susan gibberd

Wow! What an amazing production I went with my friend and her 5 year old daughter it was out of this world. I want to see it again! The cast our outstanding.

    Wednesday, 29th May 2013 by Debbie W

Just come back from seeing the show today. My honest review is that whilst the show was good and cleverly done (with the costumes and sets etc) the thing that let it down for me was the music which was somehow lacking. I think sticking to the music from the original film would have made this show SO much better. I really missed the famous 'Oompa Loompah' songs and the rest of the music was wishy-washy at best and not catchy at all. That aside it was still good hence the high score - but could have been better

    Tuesday, 28th May 2013 by A Finch

I went with my wife to see this last Friday (24th May). I can sum it up in one word - SUPERB!! The cast are fantastic, I would recommend this show to everyone. Well done to the cast and crew.

    Monday, 27th May 2013 by J Matthews

We had seats in the circle and we couldn't see the whole stage if anyone goes to see this I would recommend sitting in the stalls. I had some woman moaning at me because my children were leaning forward to try and see. I wish the seating had said restricted viewing. As we wouldn't of booked the circle seats.

    Sunday, 26th May 2013 by s jones

Took my grandson to see the show yesterday. All I can say is fantastic and well done to everyone. The little boy who played Charlie [Tom] was brilliant.Would def go to see it again.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 2 + 2)