Dirty Dancing: Edinburgh Reviews - Edinburgh Playhouse

Post Review
Venue Information
Edinburgh Playhouse

Edinburgh Playhouse
18-22 Greenside Place
Edinburgh
Edinburgh
EH1 3AA

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
The Edinburgh Playhouse is situated on Greenside Place, at the top of Leith Walk and close to the east end of Princes Street. This is less than 10 minute's walk from Waverley Station, 5 minutes walk from the bus station and on various major bus routes.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 4th December 2012
Booking Until: Saturday, 12th January 2013
Matinees: Friday 5pm, Monday and Saturday 2.30pm
Evenings: Tuesday to Thursday and Saturday 7.30pm, Friday 8.30pm
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars based on 56 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Dire..... Like a school production. Paid 60 pound a ticket and ended up leaving due to staffing p..."

Reviews Sort by
    Saturday, 7th Mar 2015 by Maz

Dire..... Like a school production. Paid 60 pound a ticket and ended up leaving due to staffing problems and terrible acting. joke, absolute joke

    Thursday, 5th Dec 2013 by Chris

I was really lucky to get in as I was waiting for more than 45 minutes outside to get a cancelled ticket. I did this out of excitement to watch this classic movie being presented as a musical. Well, unfortunately I cannot say that I was fascinated, at all. I do recognize the level of difficulty of transforming this particular movie into a musical but I have to say that the actors have long way to go till they become real actors Good dancers? Yes, indeed. But the acting part needs a lot of work!

    Tuesday, 15th Jan 2013 by flojan

I enjoyed myself but It wasnt great. The problem as i see it is that it doesnt translate to a stage show. It felt like a comedy at times, the dancing in water scene is an example.

felt sorry for the actors, dancers etc there were some really rude members of the audience

    Monday, 14th Jan 2013 by Not a Happy Baby!!

Went to see the show on 22nd December, having booked the tickets about 18 months ago. Paid £85 per ticket for the premium stalls, and still don't know what that actually means! Oh my, what a disappointment, it is my favourite film by far, but the stage show was very poor, the set, costumes, acting and dancing was on par with a high school production. I have to say I had a better evening at the Kings Theatre on Sunday 23rd December seeing Mother Goose!!!

    Monday, 14th Jan 2013 by Janey7edgar

I went to see dirty dancing on its last night in edinburgh and what a show!!! My friend and I are in our early 30s and love the movie. The show was fabulous, to create a show from such an iconic movie leaves little possibility to change things as it would not work. The show was perfect, I was quoting lines as it was on. The audience were amazing that night and created a fantastic atmosphere. When 'johnny' came back for the last dance with baby the place erupted, and stood clapping and dancing till the end. Fabulous show it was dirty dancing, as people should expect. If you didn't like the movie, don't go!!!

    Sunday, 13th Jan 2013 by Raymondo

My wife loves dirty dancing however last nights show at the playhouse was very boring. A few good dances, however no atmosphere. No sing alongside, poor scenery and to be honest I nearly fell asleep. The performance did not work, a bit stop start with little audience Participation. The price of the tickets left a large hole in the pocket , and little to brighten up the NewYear. London next time, certainly not Edinburgh. Its a great pity because the Scottish audiences can be the best given a chance.

    Saturday, 12th Jan 2013 by A.V.W

Went to see Dirty Dancing on the 4th Jan - what a let down - cannot believe they got away with charging all the money for that terrible show. Had spent £200+ on 5 tickets handed out as Xmas Presents I was actually livid by the end of the show...

WHAT A WASTE OF MY HARD EARNED MONEY ...

The Playhouse need to think twice before promoting something as terrible as that on TV. Did yourself no favours there..

 

    Saturday, 12th Jan 2013 by millington

Fantastic show, 36 of us all went along today for the last show. and we all had a brilliant time - Well done to you guys the show was amazing!!! - thank you xx

    Friday, 11th Jan 2013 by Ron & Liz

Went to show last night (10th Jan).cant believe the rubbish im reading in most of the reviews on this show....it was great !!! the staff excellent, the people at our performance where great,yes a few shouts.but hey !!! they made us laugh..maybe thats what some of you should try on here.good acting,good singing and most of all the live band where superb....only and i mean only downfall was the price of drink,,,this was a xmas gift to my good lady to which she enjoyed very much.we also stayed the evening so the local pubs took a bashing lol..I know there is only a couple of shows left before it comes to an end, but trust me YOU will enjoy it.

    Friday, 11th Jan 2013 by Cat

unbelievably poor. Wooden acting, mediocre dancing. The band were good but I can't actually get over how rubbish it was. NO chemistry at all between Baby and Jonny, the lines seemed rushed and Jonny looked like he didn't want to be there. Cringeworthy, if you hadn't seen the film you'd have no idea what was going on. Hardly any singing. The audience was the good bit, everybody was laughing as it was SO bad! A waste of money i'm afraid - pull your socks up Playhouse!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 8 + 7)