Dirty Dancing: Edinburgh Reviews - Edinburgh Playhouse

Post Review
Venue Information
Edinburgh Playhouse

Edinburgh Playhouse
18-22 Greenside Place
Edinburgh
Edinburgh
EH1 3AA

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
The Edinburgh Playhouse is situated on Greenside Place, at the top of Leith Walk and close to the east end of Princes Street. This is less than 10 minute's walk from Waverley Station, 5 minutes walk from the bus station and on various major bus routes.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 4th December 2012
Booking Until: Saturday, 12th January 2013
Matinees: Friday 5pm, Monday and Saturday 2.30pm
Evenings: Tuesday to Thursday and Saturday 7.30pm, Friday 8.30pm
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars based on 56 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Dire..... Like a school production. Paid 60 pound a ticket and ended up leaving due to staffing p..."

Reviews Sort by
    Sunday, 23rd Dec 2012 by Shona

An average show with some high points that were totally spoiled by embarrassingly drunk and riotous audience. Staff were completely inept and made no attempt to tackle the inappropriate and cringe worthy behaviour yet pounced like a pack of wolves on someone who attempted to take a photo. We had the misfortune to be sat in front of a highly charged village idiot armed with a 2litre bottle of diet coke and a bottle of vodka. Dirty Dancing meets Jeremy Kyle Edinburgh style. Disappointing.

    Saturday, 22nd Dec 2012 by Ann

Very disappointed with this show. It lacked the energy and 'feel good' factor I was expecting.

The tickets are over-priced and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

    Thursday, 20th Dec 2012 by Louise

Have seen it in London and it was like watching a different show! The acting was abysmal (by Babys' character in particular....) and the crowd was shocking - loud conversations, mobile phones out, late arrivals, etc. The producers should be ashamed that they ruined what was a really great show, simply with the horrific casting. The prices were also ridiculous for such an amateur performance.

    Thursday, 20th Dec 2012 by MillyMolly

Agree with all reviews on here - sadly disappointed with the acting and dancing. That coupled with drunk females insisting on just chatting all way through and the number of people moving around was utterly ridiculous - have sent a complaints letter to ATG. Would not waste your money on this production :(

    Thursday, 20th Dec 2012 by Michelle

The worst show I have ever seen. The attempted fake American accents were laughable - and believe me we laughed! The last minutes were the best part of a very disappointing show. We found ourselves more entertained by the other audience members' reaction to the shirtless 'Johnny' than the actual cast. The 'orchestra' were at least good, but this did not make up for the wooden acting and mediocre staging.

    Wednesday, 19th Dec 2012 by Mary

Went to see Dirty Dancing after saving for nearly 2years was very disappointed with the show, did not hold my attention and the cast did not stand out as I would expect for a show of this calibre

    Wednesday, 19th Dec 2012 by Sarah

I agree alot with what has already been said. Apart from Ghost, Dirty Dancing is my favourite film ever! Having seen Ghost on stage and it being the best musical we have ever seen we decided to see Dirty Dancing too. What a disappointment! I totally agree with the comments about west end prices for an amateurish performance. The magic of the film was not captured at all on stage, some of the best bits of the film were missed out completely, wooden acting, boring scenes, scenery poor. If I had paid £15 for the local amateur performance I would have enjoyed it but I didn't and was thoroughly disappointed. How did it get to tour as such a professional production?

    Tuesday, 18th Dec 2012 by Lornie

Agree with an earlier review that refunds are due. The show was very slow, could not hear what the cast were saying due to a distracted noisy audience. The last 30 minutes of the show was the only part worth watching and, the only part that kept the attention of the majority of the audience who were drunk middle aged women who you would not mess with. We could hear the clink of wine bottles, think they belonged to the same two that fell down the stair. 3 tickets a £45 - totally disappointed and a total insult to a lovely theatre.

    Monday, 17th Dec 2012 by Louise

Hi

Went to see this show on Saturday night with a friend. Thought the whole show was fantastic. Great singing and dancing a real feel good musical which the audience thoroughly enjoyed and most joined in with all the songs. 98% female audience who all appreciated Johnny's singing and dancing! The atmosphere was great! - most enjoyable christmas musical I have been to in Edinburgh!

    Monday, 17th Dec 2012 by christine

West end prices for an amateur performance. Wooden acting, last scene passable but that was more to do with the audience than the cast.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 8 + 8)