Dirty Dancing: Edinburgh Reviews - Edinburgh Playhouse

Post Review
Venue Information
Edinburgh Playhouse

Edinburgh Playhouse
18-22 Greenside Place

Seating Plan


The Edinburgh Playhouse is situated on Greenside Place, at the top of Leith Walk and close to the east end of Princes Street. This is less than 10 minute's walk from Waverley Station, 5 minutes walk from the bus station and on various major bus routes.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 4th December 2012
Booking Until: Saturday, 12th January 2013
Matinees: Friday 5pm, Monday and Saturday 2.30pm
Evenings: Tuesday to Thursday and Saturday 7.30pm, Friday 8.30pm
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars based on 56 review(s)


Latest Review: "Dire..... Like a school production. Paid 60 pound a ticket and ended up leaving due to staffing p..."

Reviews Sort by
    Sunday, 16th Dec 2012 by CL

Went to the show last night full of expectation. My favourite film ever but was very disappointed. It didn't translate to stage as well as I anticipated, flat performances by the cast and don't get me started on the audience. I am all for people enjoying yourself, but when you've got people behind you swearing and having a full blown conversation for most of the show, it tends to spoil things. Wouldn't recommend that you waste your money on this.

    Sunday, 16th Dec 2012 by Jill

Dismal. We left at the interval, wooden acting, ok dancing but that was all. Had been looking forward to this for a long time but I too thought it was an amateur school production. The audience were more animated than the cast. What made my night? Seeing the John Lewis Snowman in the shop window over the road as we beat a hasty retreat to the pub.

    Saturday, 15th Dec 2012 by Rosie Campbell

Absolutely brilliant I laughed and cried all the way through. The only downside are the prices - 2 small tubs icecream at £7 is a rip off!

    Friday, 14th Dec 2012 by Annie

Absolutely awful, laughable and so amateurish. I think refunds are required all round. Apart from the last scene in which the two singers saved the day, this was the worst ever. Cringeworthy!

    Thursday, 13th Dec 2012 by Ian R

Have to agree with the above. My wife and I have been to over 100 stage shows and musicals and cannot think of one that was worse than this. We were dizzy watching the cast walking round in circles to records being played - the final dance sequence was OK but we had to wait over two hours for that! The two singers were good but hardly sang!! West End prices for a very amateurish production. VERY disappointed.

    Thursday, 13th Dec 2012 by andy whyte

We were really looking forward to this show and paid £78 each...maybe i should not be adding a review because we didn't stay till the end.My wife and i got up and left at the interval we could not believe it was so bad.

Trust me I am being honest,I hate having to say these things but i feel like I've been ripped off.the remarks in the previous reviews regarding the show as being like a school production are exactly what my wife said to me as we walked up to the waverely to catch an earlier train home.

I am sure some people will love this show..not us!

    Tuesday, 11th Dec 2012 by Stacey

I would have given this performance no stars if I could have !!! This was the most disappointing experience for me! Had been looking forward to it for months and was exposed to some serious bad acting, passable dancing and extremely over the top accents ! I would not call the girl who plays baby an actress - she turned baby into an over blown cartoon character. I feel let down and short changed, please do not waste your hard earned cash if you are a fan of dirty dancing........

    Tuesday, 11th Dec 2012 by Trixxter

Was so looking forward to this show, bought our tickets last year.....What a dissapointment! like previous reviews it was more like a school show, characters had no chemistry whatsoever and the dancing was very very poor....If i'd paid £10 at the local halls to see this then fair enough, but way way overpriced for what was on offer...Have friends who saw show in London and said it was Fab....with superb cast....why do we end up with the sloppy seconds here!....If you want my advice stay at home with a bottle of wine and the DVD....wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

    Monday, 10th Dec 2012 by SS

Went to see the show on Saturday 8th December and was very disappointed. The acting was really poor I was beginning to think it was a school production not a west end show. Who picked the cast have they actually ever acted before, did not look like they had to me.

    Monday, 10th Dec 2012 by Mrs Donna Robertson

I saw this show in london a few years ago so was looking forward to a re run of that but this show in edinburgh was very poor.The cast just looked like actors with wigs on and the music was just like a record being played throughout.Anybody not knowing the story would not have had a clue what was going on.I am only glad we chose the matinee as this still gave us the saturday night to enjoy our stay.Staff at the playhouse were excellent,very friendly and most helpful with directions etc.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 4 + 8)