Dirty Dancing: Edinburgh Reviews - Edinburgh Playhouse

Post Review
Venue Information
Edinburgh Playhouse

Edinburgh Playhouse
18-22 Greenside Place
Edinburgh
Edinburgh
EH1 3AA

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
The Edinburgh Playhouse is situated on Greenside Place, at the top of Leith Walk and close to the east end of Princes Street. This is less than 10 minute's walk from Waverley Station, 5 minutes walk from the bus station and on various major bus routes.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 4th December 2012
Booking Until: Saturday, 12th January 2013
Matinees: Friday 5pm, Monday and Saturday 2.30pm
Evenings: Tuesday to Thursday and Saturday 7.30pm, Friday 8.30pm
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 2.5 out of 5 stars based on 56 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Dire..... Like a school production. Paid 60 pound a ticket and ended up leaving due to staffing p..."

Reviews Sort by
    Sunday, 9th Dec 2012 by joserobertson

Dreadfully flat non atmospheric production. And what happened to the raunchy dancing i expected? The performers didnt seem to gel. And whilst the audience tried to add to the atmosphere the ladies with torches put paid to that by telling you to be quiet. Dont waste your money. Friday 7 Dec.

    Sunday, 9th Dec 2012 by Sha

Well after reading reviews I thought the show was going to be a let down,but went Saturday nite and it was great and bits were really funny yes something's present in film not in it but hey it's a stage show so they can't do it all! The crowd on Saturday night was good and encouraged the stars on stage which I think made a great night all round!

    Saturday, 8th Dec 2012 by cd

Having been to Dirty Dancing in Edinburgh on Friday I must express utter disappointment. I totally agree with these other reviews. The poorest stage show I have ever been to. It was slow, flat and really didn't get going until the finale by which time it was too late.

Certainly can't say that I had the time of my life!

£48 per ticket - what a waste of money

    Friday, 7th Dec 2012 by Anneka

I went to see Dirty Dancing in Edinburgh a few nights ago and have to say it's one of the worst theatre shows I've ever seen. The dancing was very poor and so was the singing. A lot of the songs weren't even sung - came over as records. It was like watching a school production. With all the talented dancers/signers out there, can't understand where this cast came from. My ticket cost £75 so as you can imagine, I'm quite angry that I paid this much money for a terrible amateur show. Would not recommend this to anyone.

    Thursday, 6th Dec 2012 by HEA

I went on opening night and came away disappointed - in a been there, done that, don't need to see it again type of way. Don't get me wrong - it is not a bad show but it didn't have the vitality that the film offers. It felt quite flat. With such an iconic star of the film (Patrick Swayze), it would always be tough to visualise anyone else in the role of Johnny, but that wasn't even a problem. Some of the dance routines were spectactular but for me the finale seemed really restricted. You really wanted the show to take off but instead it felt like it was being held back. Sadly, I for one, didn't have the time of my life!

    Wednesday, 5th Dec 2012 by peterw

Very flat, poor direction, the show did not get intresting until the end die hard dirty dancing fans will love it as will only remember the end performance. in short glad i went as it made me realize how good Ghost was

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 1 + 7)