Dirty Dancing Reviews - Phoenix Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Venue Information
Phoenix Theatre

Phoenix Theatre
Charing Cross Road
London
London
WC2H 0JP

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(3mins) Take Tottenham Court Road south (towards Leicester Square) and the theatre will be on your left after 100 metres.

Show Information
Booking From: Thursday, 8th December 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 31st December 2016
Running Time: 2 hours 20 minutes
Age Restriction: Recommended for 12+ Children under 5 years and babes in arms will strictly not be admitted. The show features a limited amount of mild swearing and themes of a sexual nature. Children under 16 must be accompanied by an adult. 
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 5.30pm and 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 5.30pm and 7.30pm
Fri: 5.30pm and 8.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.9 out of 5 stars based on 9 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "I saw the play (it´s not really a musical) on Sunday, December 8. Acting and dancin..."

Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 9th Dec 2013 by Joerg

I saw the play (it´s not really a musical) on Sunday, December 8.

Acting and dancing is very good, no doubt about that.

The disappointing thing was: Too much music from the tape!!! Why can´t they sing all the songs live as they did when performing "Time of my life" at the end? Doing the Sylvia and Mickey theme the two main actors sang playback.

My ticket was 95 pounds ... at least I got it half price.

The songs from Dirty Dancing give you every chance to develope a great and really entertaining musical. That went wrong this time.

    Thursday, 21st Nov 2013 by gillian

Excellent show, amazing dancers and great night.

    Monday, 18th Nov 2013 by sharon

Loved the film so was really looking forward to this, what a disappointment, it was like a high school production, very amateurish and really boring, last 5 minutes were best.

    Monday, 11th Nov 2013 by Donna

Saw the show on sat 9th nov. It was absolutely fab! It was a girlie weekend away and we all loved the film so we thought it was an apt choice. I was amazed how many men were there, and they seemed to be enjoying it too! Great show, and the actor who played Johnny looked just like swayze! Highly recommend it!

    Thursday, 31st Oct 2013 by Tracey Ward

If I could give a rating of 0 for this musical I would. It is probably the worst thing I have ever seen in London and I have seen nearly everything. I have seen better acting, scenery and effort in a local school play. My daughter and I paid £45 each to see this absolute pile of rubbish for my 53rd birthday. I wish we had saved our money! There was no ambience among the cast and it was as if they wanted to get each scene out of the way and off stage as soon as possible. The lead man was ok but the lead girl was appalling. She could not act, sing or dance at all. The scenery and props were amateurish and my daughter was almost in tears as she was so disappointed that my birthday treat had ended so badly. We wish we had gone with our second choice and seen Wicked. Such a shame as we saw this in London about 5 years ago and at that time it was fantastic. We have heard that the Spice Girls musical was quickly withdrawn from this theatre and the touring version of Dirty Dancing put in its place. It should of stayed on tour! Please don't waste your money.

    Sunday, 13th Oct 2013 by Sophie

10/10 fantastic singing dancing and acting. Fantastic cast.

    Saturday, 5th Oct 2013 by Louise

I saw this performance when i was in London on a visit with my class, it was the best on thewhole trip. It was amazing.

    Sunday, 4th Aug 2013 by Lisa

Just got back from seeing this performance tonight. I took my 13year old daughter. It was fantastic! Great dancing, singing and acting. I would highly recommend it for a feel good show.

    Tuesday, 16th Jul 2013 by beth

I am 18 years old and I have always love the film dirty dancing and I love the music and the dancing and the dresses I went on the 16th july 13 and it was FANTASTIC I would go again and see it.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 8 + 8)