Dreamgirls Reviews - Savoy Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Venue Information
Savoy Theatre

Savoy Theatre
Strand
London
London
WC2R 0ET

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Head out onto the main road Strand. Go right 200 metres and the theatre is on your right.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 17th January 2017
Booking Until: Saturday, 21st October 2017
Important Info: The producers cannot guarantee the appearance of any particular artist(s). Amber Riley is currently scheduled to play the role of Effie White for 7 out of 8 performances per week. One of the alternates will perform on 1 out of 8 performances per week (currently scheduled on Wednesday evenings until week ending 5th February, thereafter on Monday evenings). This is subject to change and may be affected by holiday, illness, or events beyond the producers’ control.
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Thu: 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 5 out of 5 stars based on 7 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Having seen the film and the big shoes to fill, the cast on 04 January matinee performance absolu..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 5th Jan 2017 by Jackie Mortimer

Having seen the film and the big shoes to fill, the cast on 04 January matinee performance absolutely filled them effortlessly. There just wasn't the time to give the applause justified due to the fluidity of the show. Utterly blown away with Marisha Wallace's version of "And I am telling you". Each and every cast member was absolutely fabulous. Some people complain about ticket prices for shows, all I can say "money well spent". A perfect birthday treat X thank you

    Friday, 30th Dec 2016 by Fiona Miller

I arranged for my extended family to see the matinee performance of Dreamgirls yesterday 29 December, we were at first extremely disappointed to find that Amber Riley was indisposed, especially as it was one of the reasons we booked the tickets (my daughters being fans of GLEE). However we all agreed that her stand in - Marisha (sorry think that was her name - saw a glimpse of it on a note on the bar) completely smashed the role. Unfortunately we could not find her name on the programme we bought which was a shame - it would have been nice to have known more about her and her background as in our opinion, once she warmed up, she completely carried the show. Would you kindly pass on our comments to her and if possible it would be great to hear a little bit more about her. Thanking you, Fiona et al

    Tuesday, 6th Dec 2016 by Andrea

Absolutely brilliant show ... Amber Riley was outstanding...great cast and singers, emotional and funny .. Perfect show, and need to see again .. Definitely a wow factor

    Sunday, 4th Dec 2016 by Molly

Most amazing performance I have ever seen, not a dry eye throughout the whole show, truly fantastic. Would happily go again and again, Amber Riley was absolutely incredible and hit all the notes perfectly!! Would highly recommend

    Wednesday, 30th Nov 2016 by kwt

Wow, what a show, what a cast and what a voice. Brilliant, moving, colourful, funny, sexy ,sad , its got it all. Amazing show. dont miss it.

    Tuesday, 29th Nov 2016 by Carolyn

Absolutely amazing. Amber Riley was outstanding and her voice is mesmerising! Every time she belted out a song I had goosebumps and the song before the interval was so good it left us all with our jaws on the floor in amazement. I've never been to a show where the lead gets a standing ovation mid way through a performance but it was so deserved.

Lots of sparkle and glitter, wonderful!!

    Sunday, 20th Nov 2016 by anthony dowsett

Absolutely stunning show. Amber Riley was sheer perfection. Was there on the opening night Saturday 19th November.

5 standing ovations.

Breath taking set and loads of glitter!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 8 + 1)