Dreamgirls Reviews - Savoy Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Venue Information
Savoy Theatre

Savoy Theatre
Strand
London
London
WC2R 0ET

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Head out onto the main road Strand. Go right 200 metres and the theatre is on your right.

Show Information
Booking From: Friday, 18th August 2017
Booking Until: Saturday, 10th February 2018
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes (One interval)
Important Info: Amber Riley is currently scheduled to play the role of Effie White for 5 out of 8 performances per week. On 3 out of 8 performances per week, currently scheduled on Monday evenings, Wednesday matinees and Saturday matinees, the role of Effie White will be played by either Marisha Wallace or Karen Mav. This is subject to change.
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.7 out of 5 stars based on 22 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Just got back from seeing this amazing show this evening. An incredible production , so well prod..."

Reviews Sort by
    Tuesday, 14th Mar 2017 by anne maddocks

Outstanding, pure class show!!! Effy was amazing, standing ovation every time she sang, we were totally mesmerised by her...the best over singer ever....recommend this show to everyone now!

    Thursday, 9th Mar 2017 by Susan

Went to see this yesterday afternoon. Was a bit disappointed that it wasn't Amber but it was Marisha Wallace playing effie but wow she was absolutely amazing!! The whole show was marvellous just could not fault it. Am currently booking to go again. Best show by far. Even purchased a programme which normally too mean to fork out for!!.

    Thursday, 2nd Mar 2017 by Sue & Lisa

What a fabulous show ,the best my best friend and I have ever had the privilege to attend .Marisha Wallace was so wonderful ,her version of 'I am telling you' was stunning and so moving . All of the cast were fabulous , so entertaining and talented.. We just had the best time . Once again I have to say ,utterly fabulous .

    Monday, 27th Feb 2017 by Christine Stewart

on the 22nd Feb 2017 we came for my Birthday and was blown away by the whole entire performance of the whole cast Effie reduced my daught in law to tear and Curtis was amazing so was the dancers , custumes and music score absoutely fantastic and sent goose pimples when effie sung she was just amazing so powerful , i loved every minute , a must see musical worth of more than the 5 * rating do not miss this , i see it again one day

    Monday, 13th Feb 2017 by lesley jones

Saw this show sat evening.Non stop song & dance.We have seen many shows but for me this is up there with the best.Obviously amber riley was terrific but all the cast were great.

    Thursday, 5th Jan 2017 by Jackie Mortimer

Having seen the film and the big shoes to fill, the cast on 04 January matinee performance absolutely filled them effortlessly. There just wasn't the time to give the applause justified due to the fluidity of the show. Utterly blown away with Marisha Wallace's version of "And I am telling you". Each and every cast member was absolutely fabulous. Some people complain about ticket prices for shows, all I can say "money well spent". A perfect birthday treat X thank you

    Friday, 30th Dec 2016 by Fiona Miller

I arranged for my extended family to see the matinee performance of Dreamgirls yesterday 29 December, we were at first extremely disappointed to find that Amber Riley was indisposed, especially as it was one of the reasons we booked the tickets (my daughters being fans of GLEE). However we all agreed that her stand in - Marisha (sorry think that was her name - saw a glimpse of it on a note on the bar) completely smashed the role. Unfortunately we could not find her name on the programme we bought which was a shame - it would have been nice to have known more about her and her background as in our opinion, once she warmed up, she completely carried the show. Would you kindly pass on our comments to her and if possible it would be great to hear a little bit more about her. Thanking you, Fiona et al

    Tuesday, 6th Dec 2016 by Andrea

Absolutely brilliant show ... Amber Riley was outstanding...great cast and singers, emotional and funny .. Perfect show, and need to see again .. Definitely a wow factor

    Sunday, 4th Dec 2016 by Molly

Most amazing performance I have ever seen, not a dry eye throughout the whole show, truly fantastic. Would happily go again and again, Amber Riley was absolutely incredible and hit all the notes perfectly!! Would highly recommend

    Wednesday, 30th Nov 2016 by kwt

Wow, what a show, what a cast and what a voice. Brilliant, moving, colourful, funny, sexy ,sad , its got it all. Amazing show. dont miss it.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 1 + 6)