Evita Reviews - Dominion Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Dominion Theatre

Dominion Theatre
268-269 Tottenham Court Road

Seating Plan


The theatre can be seen from the station, on the corner of the crossroads between Tottenham Court Road and Oxford Street.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 1st November 2014
Booking Until: Saturday, 1st November 2014
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 2.8 out of 5 stars based on 28 review(s)


Latest Review: "Went to see this at the weekend,it was one of the best shows I have seen ,well done to all the ca..."

Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 3rd Nov 2014 by sam sanderson

Went to see this at the weekend,it was one of the best shows I have seen ,well done to all the cast.

    Monday, 3rd Nov 2014 by Emi

Really enjoyed evita , I went with my sister wedesday afternoon great performance and marti pellow was really good great show.

    Friday, 31st Oct 2014 by Sue

Disappointing. Do we really have to block both ears to shut out the volume of the speakers? I have never left a theatre at half time before, but couldn't wait to get out, along with a lot of other people. Sorry cast, but his just was not good theatre.

    Wednesday, 29th Oct 2014 by Liz

We saw Evita today and thoroughly enjoyed it.

I thought that Magdalena was excellent in her portrayal of Eva. We were very close to the stage and I was mesmerised by her whole performance . She played her character so well, that by the end of the play it was hard to have any sympathy for her dying at such a young age . I must agree with other comments about Marti as Che

He was very wooden and lacked presence , and putting him in a pink t shirt did not do anything for his strong male character he was portraying . To be honest camped it up a bit.

I certainly loved the show but then I've always loved the music reminiscing to listening to it on a double L P many years ago .

    Wednesday, 29th Oct 2014 by Mum

Don't read the negative reviews. Go along and make up your own mind. Had terrific seats, reasonably priced. Marti Pellow had big boots to fill but pulled it off. However Ben Forster and the terrific Madalena were the stars of the show. Would definitely revisit if show was on for a longer run.

    Tuesday, 28th Oct 2014 by Gill Wood

I nearly didn't go - even though I had bought my discount ticket still at a higher than usual price - but after reading the reviews I wondered if I should waste my time. I'm so very glad I did! I can only assume that the producer, director and cast have listened to the feedback and come back with 100% turnaround - because what I saw, heard and felt tonight was a magical, emotional, well sang, beautifully interpreted show. I am a fan of the film interpretation and of A. Ban eras' Che... But Marti Pello did a magnificent job- great command, strong voice and every note hit. I did at first struggle with Eva's accent... Her words are sharp, clipped and often a little unusual sounding, but you cannot criticise her musicality, pitch or performance. The cast were a wonderful support - I preferred General Peron to the film version - he was fantastic as was Magaldi!

If you get chance to go... Look for discount tickets, and prepare for a wonderful evening. Well done all.

    Monday, 27th Oct 2014 by Barry

Not at West End standards. Bad Casting (Marti Pellow), Bad staging (Bill Kenwright & Bob Thompson) Tiny orchestra (Synthesised/prerecorded) If you want to see a good revival see Miss Saigon or save your money.

    Sunday, 26th Oct 2014 by claire

I went with my daughter having enjoyed the film very much and loving the music.We could not believe how empty the theatre was.We thoroughly enjoyed it,especially Madalena.Her vocals were stunning and she looked beautiful.The emotion reduced me to tears.I feel the tickets may have been overpriced,surely it would be better to fill the theatre.Marti Pellow has had some harsh criticism but it was a difficult role and I think he did ok.

    Friday, 24th Oct 2014 by Rob

Oh dear,wish we had read these reviews before we made a last minute decision to see evening performance on 22nd October.

We've seen 2 previous West End performances of this wonderful show but this was awful!

I too feel there was some "lip-synching"

Marti Pellow was very wet.............. (reminded me of Alan Partridge singing ABBA tribute)! Musical theatre not his forte.

The last 20 minutes of the show was particularly tedious.

    Monday, 20th Oct 2014 by Nick Dickson

Absolutely awful. Walked out in the interval. Marti Pellow cannot sing and the staging was unimpressive. Spent the most on theatre tickets I ever have done, and it was a total waste of money. Go and see anything else!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 5 + 3)