Evita Reviews - Dominion Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Dominion Theatre

Dominion Theatre
268-269 Tottenham Court Road
London
London
W1T 7AQ

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
The theatre can be seen from the station, on the corner of the crossroads between Tottenham Court Road and Oxford Street.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 1st November 2014
Booking Until: Saturday, 1st November 2014
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 2.8 out of 5 stars based on 28 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Went to see this at the weekend,it was one of the best shows I have seen ,well done to all the ca..."

Reviews Sort by
    Saturday, 4th Oct 2014 by emh

I really can't understand some of the online reviews for Evita. I thought that Madalena Alberto's performance was one of the best that I have seen in a very long time. Her voice was amazing and her solo of "don't cry for me argentina" was spine-tingling and she looked absolutely stunning. Marti Pellow had a very difficult role as he was on the stage for 95% of the time but I think he carried it off very well with a very strong voice. The other members of the cast were fantastic, as was the very clever staging. The recently re-vamped theatre is easily the best I have visited in London and even had roomy leg-space!

    Friday, 3rd Oct 2014 by Candice

Having listened to the amazing Antonio Banderas as Che, you can imagine how surprised, no, how appalled we were when Marty Pello opened his mouth! We went opening night along with the usual stars and paparazzi.... "Elaine Paige" was there when my husband commented 'I bet she wished she wasn't ' brought hoots from our assembled Evita fans. Madalena Alberto screamed through her score and we did think who actually cast the show. However, great chorus performance and the superb Ben Foster and Sarah McNicholas saved the show.

    Saturday, 27th Sep 2014 by Mala

Fantastic, "jaw dropping "performance of "don't cry for me Argentina ". ,,,,thinking of going again :)

    Wednesday, 24th Sep 2014 by Tanyaj

Loved every minute of this stage show. I didn't want it to end. We're still talking about it now 4 days after seeing it

    Tuesday, 23rd Sep 2014 by m. wallace

Elocution lessons for Marti Pellow please.

Without understanding most of his narration the story was lost.

    Tuesday, 23rd Sep 2014 by Debbie Bryan

whether Marti Pellow had had an 'off' day, I don't know, but, his singing was weak and it was very difficult to understand the lyrics. He lacked gravitas in his performance, looking bored and uninvolved. Madalena was passable and the saving grace was the brilliant members of the chorus. I was very disappointed, having loved the music so much.

    Saturday, 20th Sep 2014 by Anthony

The first time I've ever walked out of a west end show at the interval... Was appauling... The Narrator was weak, and Evita could not sing... The sound quality was awful and I'm up for guessing whether many of the chorus numbers were mimed to a backing track.. Was not impressed.

    Wednesday, 17th Sep 2014 by Mrs Wallace

I'd like to send most of the cast to elocution lessons, especially Marti Pellow. Since he was supposed to be narrating ,not understanding most of his words meant the story was lost.

Confusing.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 1 + 1)