Girl From the North Country Reviews - Old Vic Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Old Vic Theatre

Old Vic Theatre
103 The Cut
London
London
SE1 8NB

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(7mins) Take Mepham Street (100 metres) down to Waterloo Road. Turn right on Waterloo Road, but keep left as the theatre is 100 metres further along on the opposite corner.

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 27th September 2017
Booking Until: Wednesday, 27th September 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes (Including one interval)
Important Info: Audio Described Performance: Tue 19 Sep 2017 at 7.30pm Captioned Performance: Thu 21 Sep 2017 at 7.30pm Travelling via Waterloo? From Sat 5 – Mon 28 Aug fewer South West Trains will run in and out of London Waterloo station and several platforms are closed for major upgrade works. There will also be no Southeastern services at London Waterloo East Station from Sat 26 Aug – Sat 2 Sep. Please leave plenty of time to get to The Old Vic and visit the Network Rail website for more information.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.4 out of 5 stars based on 11 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "This is one NOT to miss. Outstanding performances from the whole cast with some exceptionally st..."

Reviews Sort by
    Wednesday, 20th Sep 2017 by Theresa

This is one NOT to miss. Outstanding performances from the whole cast with some exceptionally strong voices. Sooooo emotional, powerful with a great story.

    Thursday, 7th Sep 2017 by June Sidwell

A wonderful production - loved everything about it. (I did occasionally miss dialogue). The whole cast was excellent but `Elizabeth' was outstanding.

Dylan would approve I am sure.

Definitely will see again if I am fortunate enough to have the opportunity - hope it tours.

    Tuesday, 5th Sep 2017 by Kevin & Elaine Dooley

Can't say much other than it was fabulous.I struggled to hold myself together at the end. Pulled on your heart strings and the music mixed with acting was tremendous.Well worth the visit from Glasgow.Congratulations Conor and the full cast.

    Monday, 21st Aug 2017 by Deborah H

What a truly exceptional performance, loved every minute, i am not a great fan of dylans singing but this lyrics are wonderful,the actors were marvelous and every one deserved great credit for a wonderful performance, need to see again,loved it.

    Friday, 11th Aug 2017 by Kier

The singing was really beautiful - not a weak link across the cast (and I would award this a 6!) -- and I have been known to leave other musicals at 1/2 time!. I would hope Bob Dylan would be proud if he has heard these interpretations (and the wonderful band). The plot was not as strong (probably a 3) - but didn't feel contrived/made up to support the songs -which I was pleased about. Overall its a HIT.

    Wednesday, 26th Jul 2017 by Pipitypong

Great acting.

Magnificent Singing.

    Tuesday, 25th Jul 2017 by Alan J

First half good, very good band and interesting singing, characters introduced and arouses curiosity. But in second half sentimental unlikely development of all the stock characters except perhaps one. Music continues to be good. The epilogue should be cut, it spoils a dark ending.

    Tuesday, 25th Jul 2017 by angelaM

Unique, original and haunting. Go and see this. The singing is fantastic and I hope the cast brings out a soundtrack very soon.

    Saturday, 22nd Jul 2017 by Rosalinde

Absolutely brilliant! The story unfolds around Dylan's songs which are so beautifully sung by the very gifted cast. Don't miss it!

    Thursday, 13th Jul 2017 by Hugh Maguire

The singing was magnificent and the arrangements wonderful - I can normally not stand Bob Dylan's voice - or lack of voice. It would have been better to have a Dylan concert with all these people. What on earth was all the other bumph about the guesthouse and the slimmest of corniest - plots (eh .. what plot), some woeful accents and irrelevant dialogue - which in no way interrogates the genuine misery and hardship of existence. Hard to believe in characters who are damaged one minute and seconds later belting out ballads with gusto - not even Violetta in La Traviata comes up to that. What a waste of good acting talent. What a waste of the ticket price.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 6 + 2)