Gypsy Reviews - Savoy Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Savoy Theatre

Savoy Theatre
Strand
London
London
WC2R 0ET

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Head out onto the main road Strand. Go right 200 metres and the theatre is on your right.

Show Information
Booking From: Monday, 16th November 2015
Booking Until: Monday, 16th November 2015
Running Time: 2 Hours 50 Minutes
Important Info: Please note that the following performances of GYPSY are going to be filmed: TUESDAY 6th OCT – 7.30pm WEDNESDAY 7th OCT – 2.30pm WEDNESDAY 7th OCT – 7.30pm There will be cameras in the theatre auditorium in both the Stalls and Dress Circle areas.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.9 out of 5 stars based on 10 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "One of the best performances I have seen, Imelda poured her heart and soul into this wonnderful ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Wednesday, 21st Oct 2015 by Anne Regan

One of the best performances I have seen, Imelda poured her heart and soul into this wonnderful production !!

    Friday, 9th Oct 2015 by Dawn Walker

I felt overwhelmed by Emelda Stauntons amazing acting and singing. The complete cast were fantastic. Congratulation to all of them.Also a great big Thankyou for an amazing show. Dawn Walker

    Wednesday, 9th Sep 2015 by Kayleigh

I took my 8 year old daughter to see this and be were both totally blown away by the performance. We have watched the dvd of Gypsy for years, and are still talking about the performance we seen the beginning of September. Well done to all the cast. Highly recommend

    Friday, 31st Jul 2015 by Maralyn Streeter

Just incredible! One of the best shows I have ever seen and Imelda's performance is mesmerising ....can't wait to see it again

    Wednesday, 29th Jul 2015 by Michael Pratt

What a great show,emelda what a star.Would recommend it as a must see.Thank you 😊

    Sunday, 7th Jun 2015 by Jan Cruickshank

At the 23rd May, 2015,matinee, from the first bars of the overture we knew we were in for something very special & we were not disappointed! I was familiar with the musical GYPSY but had never seen it on stage before. My husband didn't know it at all & thought it the best musical ever! Imelda Staunton was phenomenal! We are so glad Stephen Sondheim asked her to play Rose! Laura Pulver was perfectly cast as Louise. I could see what the real Gypsy Rose's son meant about capturing the sadness behind his mother's eyes.Tom Hodgkins played Herbie & we loved his performance. Wonderful singing & dancing throughout by ALL including the younger cast members. THANK YOU & CONGRATULATIONS to ALL the team including director, musical director, choreographers, set, costume, sound & lighting design. I bought the cast recording at the theatre, and have been playing it ever since reliving every second of this first class production. Don't take my word for it - see it for yourself!

    Sunday, 10th May 2015 by Paul Rylance

Fantastic. Spectacular, funny and sad. The best show I have seen in years. Imelda Staunton is magnificent. A triumph for all the cast. See this show, it will not disappoint.

    Sunday, 19th Apr 2015 by D. Rodgers

Impressive Excellent and Strong these are a few words to sum up the performance of Imelda Staunton (Ma Ma) she definately holds the show together in the Palm of her hands.

    Friday, 17th Apr 2015 by vanessahigginson

My friends and I had a group booking for 'gypsy' the evening after the fire in Holborn. I would like to compliment all your staff on the way they handled a very difficult situation. The performance went ahead and was excellent. One of out group is disabled with Parkinson's and the Staff could not have been more accommodating and helpful throughout the evening. Please pass on our sincere thanks to everyone on duty that night.

    Friday, 10th Apr 2015 by Linda

Absolutely fabulous performance from Imelda Staunton......she was made for this role. She took the audience on an amazing ride, ranging from laughter to tears. The whole cast, staging and costumes were terrific. Loved every minute of it!! Worth every penny!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 8 + 3)