I Can't Sing! The X Factor Musical Reviews - London Palladium

Post Review
Venue Information
London Palladium

London Palladium
8 Argyll Street
London
London
W1F 7TF

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(2mins) Exit 8 from the tube goes out onto Argyll Street (opposite the large Topshop). The theatre is 100 metres down the road.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 10th May 2014
Booking Until: Saturday, 10th May 2014
Important Info: Audio described performance 8 May 2pm
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.4 out of 5 stars based on 46 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "A hilarious take on popular culture, have been twice now, booking for the closing performance as ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Saturday, 15th Mar 2014 by Bournemouth 4

Brilliant and really funny. I hate the X factor but loved this.

    Friday, 14th Mar 2014 by Tom

Easily the worst theatrical production I've ever seen. The jokes are not only painfully unfunny, they're also blindingly obvious several minutes before the punch line is even dropped. The songs are awful and the funniest point was arguably and disappointingly a puppet dog masturbating which beautifully sums up my next point which is that the whole script can't decide whether it is for children or adults, neither of which groups it engages with particularly well at all. Didn't even stay for the second half. Harry Hill if you are reading this, I beg you, please stop.

    Thursday, 13th Mar 2014 by RT

I watched a recent preview. The Director introduced the show to the audience saying that things might not be running smoothly on the night. The cast are great and give everything. The show is funny in parts, but so unsubtle in others - the same joke being played to death, again and again. The show needs to be pared down from its 3 hour running time (including a 30 minute intermission) - less will be more. The ending is bizarre - as though Harry Hill had run out of good ideas. What was almost as bizarre was that Simon Cowell attended this preview and rather than take a box, he chose to sit in the middle of the stalls, with his attendant minders fending off on-lookers! He lapped up the attention as only he can - this proved to be a complete distraction from the show for many. This show deserves to be a success, but needs a lot of work to refine, slim-down, and hone the many good ideas and jokes, in favour of the naff ending and flab.

    Sunday, 9th Mar 2014 by Caroline Donohoe

Saw half the 'I Can't Sing' show. Did not bother to stay for second half last night as interval was extended to 40 minutes, and the first half of the show, based around one joke - the back-story of contestants, was not so amazing that it was worth the wait. It is okay, but it does not have the X-factor! Better to go for a genius production, such as Billy Elliot as life is too short for mediocre.

    Friday, 7th Mar 2014 by steve holman

Although I've never managed to endure more than 30 seconds of X Factor, i loved every minute of this big hearted musical. The set changes are spectacular and the dance routines dazzling and witty. (Including one in a supermarket check out) Harry Hill's sense of the absurd shines through everywhere. With all three judges, an amusing cross section of wannabe stars - including subo and jedward alikes, plus a talking dog, It must be the musical of the year... go see it asap!

I just wish they'd been a little crueler to Simon Cowell !

    Saturday, 1st Mar 2014 by BedfordMum

I think it is fair to say this musical is totally jinxed before it has even begun. I totally appreciate this is a new musical and perhaps can expect a few teething problems initially, but turned up tonight after buying tickets months ago to be met by incompetant and very insensitive staff who told us it had been cancelled (after we had spend £80 on the train getting there!!). A message had been left on our home phone at 11am the day of the show to say it had been cancelled (by which point we had already travelled to London and so were completely unaware!) So when asked how we could get our theatre vouchers back that we had paid with we were given a number to ring and told we could only have an 'exchange' for another night! I didn't want an exchange as I dont plan to be in London again soon and after phoning 3 different numbers and spoken to yet more staff who couldnt care less about our situation they finally agreed to refund us the cost of the tickets. Spoilt our weekend and have to say I will certainly not be rushing out to buy more tickets for this show now that we have completely lost faith in it and will not be recommending, especially after the way we were treated. A very bitter taste left with this show I must say.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 7 + 9)