Kiss Me Kate Reviews - Old Vic Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Old Vic Theatre

Old Vic Theatre
103 The Cut
London
London
SE1 8NB

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(7mins) Take Mepham Street (100 metres) down to Waterloo Road. Turn right on Waterloo Road, but keep left as the theatre is 100 metres further along on the opposite corner.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 20th November 2012
Booking Until: Saturday, 2nd March 2013
Matinees: Wednesday and Saturday 2.30pm
Evenings: Monday to Saturday 7.30pm
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.9 out of 5 stars based on 9 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "i found the beginning super interesting.. but i took my family to watch it with me and they absol..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 7th Feb 2013 by ronie

i found the beginning super interesting.. but i took my family to watch it with me and they absolutely hated it...i think this play is more for elderly than for us. i have been to many plays like Shrek, dirty dancing, lion king, blood brothers, heda gabler etc. but so far i think this is the worst one!! the sceen with the gangsters singing was too long we had to clap 3 times, at the last clap barely anyone was clapping. also lois was very annoying smiling and acting stupid like a prostitute. but just remember this is my review you might find it Superb (but i didn't) still the actors were very good, the dancing and singing excellent and the set magnificent! but the plot was confusing and predictable

    Wednesday, 6th Feb 2013 by Mimma

What a positive surprise. Went with my 78 year old mother, thinking I was doing her a favour and all I can say is Thanks mum for and entertaining and thoroughly enjoyable show. No dull moments and storyline very cleverly created. The singing was superb clear and distinct. Well done and to anyone who is a bit sceptical, believe me you are in for a treat.

    Sunday, 3rd Feb 2013 by Sara

Oh what joy! Beautiful sets, singing, dancing - and so funny. I want to see it again.

    Wednesday, 2nd Jan 2013 by Guy Consterdine

It was a joyous show, full of Cole Porter music, wit, dance and glamour, with excellent people playing supporting roles. The outstanding star was the leading lady Hannah Waddingham who shone like a beacon, a dazzling beauty with a delicious voice full of power and subtlety, from glorious deep notes to extraordinary high notes. She was so good I marvel that I, a regular theatregoer, had never heard of her before this production. The riotous applause at the end was fully deserved.

    Monday, 3rd Dec 2012 by Alan

What a fantastic masterpiece, we was completely lost in a superb production, shame it had to end.

    Wednesday, 28th Nov 2012 by Liv Parish

This show bursts with glamour and wit, performed by a cast that sings and dances and acts like gold. Hannah Waddingham (Lili)I had never seen before. I'll see her again, though - she's fabulous; a sexy vixen Valkyrie here. I'd seen Alex Bourne (Fred)in The Buddy Holly Story and he has matured into a fine performer.

The zing is kicked off by the amazing Wendy Mae Brown (Rent, King Cotton) as Hattie - her wonderful voice cannot miss. Great comedy from Clive Rowe(Porgy and Bess), but his astounding voice is rather wasted in his part as one of the Gangsters, unfortunately. I feel that David Burt, the other Gangster, is working a process that doesn't reach a theatre audience, because he seems inexplicably slow on cues and delivery. That rather drags down some of the Gangster scenes, but their last hurrah is perfect.

Loved Adam Garcia and Holly Spencer as the ex-nightclub pair. Garcia can do this stuff in his sleep, but Spencer is a new one on me, and she's a doll, all dumb-blond smiles and old-fashioned hoofing sparkles.

Too Darn Hot opens the second half with even more pizzazz than the more contemplative Another Openin of the first act. Sharp, sexy dancing from Jason Pennycooke and the lithe ensemble, punctuated by witty asides from Hattie that brought huge laughs from the audience, this part really gave the supporting characters a showcase that they did not waste!

Trevor Nunn, Stephen Mears and Gareth Valentine have fashioned a great revival, and they have picked the perfect cast for it. Go for the dancing, the singing, the story, the glamour, the hugely witty lyrics and fun acting, and you will leave with a smile.

Warning, though: if you have any fondness for period clothes - or even if you didn't before - those beautiful nipping corsets and cute hats might have you surfing ebay the next day!

    Tuesday, 27th Nov 2012 by Sue Tilling

What a Wonderful Show! Cast, Costumes, Choreography, Singing and a great Musical score! This production of Kiss Me Kate is the best show I have seen for a long time! Go and see it you will certainly get your monies worth!

    Thursday, 22nd Nov 2012 by Jenny

I had never seen the show until I saw it in Chichester. I was expecting it to be an old fashioned dance hall show (being ignorant) but I was blown away. The plot itself was so clever as a musical and the performers were all incredibly strong. I went back a second time and have now booked to see it at The Old Vic. Would highly recommend it! Fabulous entertainment.

    Friday, 14th Sep 2012 by Strolls

We saw this production at Chichester and thought it was superb. Too Darn Hot and Brush up Your Shakespeare were so well sung that they got encores on their own. We would highly recommend this show; definitely a wonderful evening out.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 8 + 6)