Les Miserables Reviews - Queen's Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Queen's Theatre

Queen's Theatre
51 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
London
W1D 6BA

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(3mins) Take Shaftesbury Avenue along where the famous illuminated signs are. The theatre will be on your left about 100 metres along, just after the Gielgud Theatre.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 25th July 2017
Booking Until: Saturday, 3rd March 2018
Age Restriction: Recommended for children aged 7 or over; children under 5 will not be admitted. Parental guidance advised.
Important Info: Recommended for children aged 7 or over; Children under 5 will not be admitted. Parental guidance advised. Seats on the side of the Upper Circle are classed as side view restricted. Seats from Row R back in the Stalls and Row H back in the Dress Circle may be restricted view due to the overhang and may not have a view of the top of the stage.
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.9 out of 5 stars based on 169 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "My thanks go to the whole of the cast and the brilliant orchestra for an amazing show on Wednesda..."

Reviews Sort by
    Saturday, 15th Jul 2017 by Poppy

My thanks go to the whole of the cast and the brilliant orchestra for an amazing show on Wednesday afternoon. I saw it for the first time two decades ago and it is still worthy of the standing ovations. Great singing from all, from our seats we heard every word. Such a rarity in the musicals of today. Well worth the tedious journey into London to experience!

    Wednesday, 5th Jul 2017 by Norman Bristow

My family and went to see Les Mis last Saturday.

This was a treat for my two girls who are leaving home to go to uni and the army in Sept.

the first half was as expected wonderful.

We had an ice cream and waited for the 2nd half, but the curtain stayed down.

this went on for about 50 mins.

Mr Shaw the manager came on stage to say there was a problem with the set.

He explained if any people want to leave they could have a refund.

obviously, anybody who stayed forgo their right to the offer.

He told us the cast were happy to carry on and do a concert version of the rest of the show.

Sadly many people seemed to take up the offer to go.

We stayed

We obviously stayed....how could anybody be so crass as to go?

The cast treated us to a fantastic second half, the set was immaterial.

They were wonderful, at the end they were treated to a very loud standing ovation.

We in turn were treated to applause from the cast, followed by Killian Donnelly (Jean Valjeean) coming to the front of the stage, went down on he's knees and bowed to us. in mutual thanks.

This was a very special experience and I thank everyone from Mr Shaw, he's staff and everybody involved with the show for an afternoon of theatrical magic.

    Monday, 3rd Jul 2017 by David Gregson

Most people's visit to see a show in the West End is an experience that they will never forget.However our experience for my wife's 60 th birthday was unforgettable for different reasons.The performance of Les Mis on Saturday 1st July was a complete disaster.We were surprised that he theatre doors were late opening.As the crowds gathered around the door a gentleman pushed his way to the front and announced that there had been a technical error that would not allow the second part of the show to be performed as normal.The cast would simply sing the songs without the setting.We could either choose to watch this at no reduced cost,which was appalling or have a full refund.We chose the later.By this time it was to late to find another show.So the months of careful planning and costs of travel to London and two nights in a hotel were simply flushed down the pan in minutes.At least we had not come from as far away as Australia as some people that we spoke to.

Sometimes things go wrong.However it is how you respond to these events that is important.A garbled announcement 30 minutes before the start of an event is not adequate as I'm sure many people waiting to enter the theatre did not hear it.Any one booking a show should read the small print on their ticket and realise that the theatre companies will not take responsibility for costs to the theatre or any accommodation costs.It quite obvious that these sort of things have happened before,it is a great disappointment however that the Queens Theatre had no contingency plans for such an occurrence.

    Monday, 1st May 2017 by Karen Flavelle

What a truly amazing outstanding show.I am still recovering by being pleasantly overwhelmed by its magic.The cast are dedicated and I believed every single word that I didn't want it to end! Could not keep the tears of emotion from falling but the tall man to my right was doing the same !!! Thank you am already looking to arrange my next visit x

    Sunday, 9th Apr 2017 by David Kelly

I would enjoy this musical if I was looking at it for the 100 time but it was only the 5th time, the reason I only give it 4 out of 5 is it has lost some of its rawness over the years, I first saw it the year it opened 32 years ago, its a very raw story and the singers should project it as such. I still loved show when I saw it last week.

    Sunday, 9th Apr 2017 by Susan Byard

Not to be missed

    Wednesday, 22nd Mar 2017 by jacqueline ennis

absolutely stunning performance incredible cast with outstanding voices

thank you for a wonderful afternoon

    Monday, 23rd Jan 2017 by Sue K

My first ever theatre visit so looking forward to it. The performers sounded great but unfortunately our seats in the upper circle prevented us from seeing the majority of the performance. Second row from the front with others heads totally blocking our line of sight meant that we left very frustrated and my first visit somewhat tarnished. Very very disappointed.

    Thursday, 12th Jan 2017 by Jacqueline

I have wanted to see this for so long after singing some of the numbers with our little choir and of course the film. I was not at all disappointed. Putting it out there...I am not a huge fan of musicals! However everyone should see Les Mis at least once in their lives. It was truly amazing! The set was ingenious and the talent of the cast was stupendous. I could watch it again and again. So moving and mesmerising. We weren't sat in the best seats, at the side in the upper circle (last minute booking) but even the heads bobbing about in front of us couldn't distract from the outstanding performance. Everyone was brilliant especially Simon Gleeson. We will definitely be back, hopefully a bit nearer to the stage next time. Thank you so much to everyone involved.

    Monday, 14th Nov 2016 by Emily Digby

Was absolutely amazing!! Fantastic views and brilliant singing, I would recommend anyone to see this. The best musical performance on stage that I have ever seen!!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 9 + 5)