Let It Be Reviews - Garrick Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Garrick Theatre

Garrick Theatre
2 Charing Cross Road
London
London
WC2H 0HH

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(2mins) Follow Charing Cross Road parallel to Leicester Square until you reach the theatre on your left.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 5th September 2015
Booking Until: Saturday, 5th September 2015
Running Time: 2 hours 20 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for 5+
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.1 out of 5 stars based on 209 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "A great show, we never got to see the original Beatles but these guys definitely looked the part ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 9th May 2013 by MaryRobert

I read the reviews before seeing this show and so had my worries. But it's awesome. Didn't recognize any of the negatives in the reviews. Maybe producers adapted the show ?

So. it's not a musical, it's a concert.

By the screens surrounding the stage and the soundbits during the breaks, you get a sort of the mood of the period. That's nicely done. The 'Beatles' have a sort of Liverpudlian accent in their singing and in their chatter. And, the guys absolutely perform with their hearts.

The concert follows sort of the Beatles timeline. It was okay before the break and it got really awesome in the second part. Great rocking performances of Revolution, Get back and others. Also a lovely acoustic set. And a really breathtaking version of While my guitar gently wheeps. Reminded me of the Vegas 'Love' show, although completely different.

We all were really touched in the end and greatly enjoyed this show.

BTW, this was seen in the Savoy, Sunday afternoon performance.

    Thursday, 9th May 2013 by Unimpressed Fellow

The dreadfulness of Viva Forever pales into insignificance compared with that of Let It Be!

Clearly conceived for the discount-tickets-for-tourists market, it's the worst Beatles tribute act in history!

One spends the 1st half hour speculating on Lennon turning in his grave. The rest leads one to envy his resting place.

    Thursday, 9th May 2013 by Owen Nethterton

I, and several colleagues, also went to the show on May 2nd, as mentioned by other people in their reviews. Myself, and colleagues, were all wondering if we saw the same show as a couple of reviewers. Were they really “there”? perhaps they need “Help”, excuse the pun. Like Dudley none of us saw any “very drunk fans/drunken fans”. Yes people get up and dance and clap, does that make them drunk, if so the vast majority of the audience would be labelled as such.

It’s not a musical as such, and this may be a disappointment to some, but portrays the Beatles story through their music. It’s been going since September so something must be going right with the production. Nobody will ever be the same as the original Beatles, but the whole cast do an amazing rendition of roles they are portraying. All were talented musicians/singers. Where else in the West End can you have over two hours of Beatles music, sung and played live. As for “the historical and musical flaws in this production,” have you not heard of poetic licence, most theatre productions/films are never exactly true renditions of the original.

We all enjoyed the show, as did the rest of the audience judging by the singing and standing ovation. There will always be a few who don’t, they can go and watch Viva Forever, while it’s still on!!

    Wednesday, 8th May 2013 by Paul's Lass

Insult to the legacy of The Beatles!

Why does this show even exist when Paul McCartney is still gigging and doing these songs?

And yes I have been to see Let It Be, and I went with an open mind and expecting to enjoy the show, but I didn't, silly wigs, terrible costumes, songs not in chronological order, tuning issues, wrong instruments being played especially by Paul, but for me worse of all was the thin faced, right handed Paul who looked and sounded nothing like the great man at all.

A complete disgrace,

Let it be and leave it the man himself.

    Wednesday, 8th May 2013 by Eurovision Les

I saw the show tonight and can sum it up with one word; Woeful!

The first half of the show is dire, no idea about the second half, because I stayed in the excellent Savoy bar which I can heartily recommend, unfortunately I can not say the same of 'The Musical' Let It Be.

Badly miscast for me sorry.

    Wednesday, 8th May 2013 by Philip Walker

The reason for the vast differance in reviews and scores, is simply down to which of the cast you get to see Ruben and co. ate are a good tribute band, however the other incarnations are a covers bands and nothing more enjoyable fir a sing-along yes but fitting of West End musical tribute to the greatest band the world has and will see

NO!! Not by a long, long way!

    Wednesday, 8th May 2013 by Murray Family

Wish i had read the reviews before booking this show ok yes they are divided good and bad, its a fair show as tribute bands go i found it staged and too loud and happy clappy for my taste plus a few fanatical fans spoil it for others, I love the Beatles music but can listen to it anytime i was expecting the tradional west end musical and myself and other family members were left disappointed.

    Wednesday, 8th May 2013 by DeeDeeSTW

I am really surprised by these reviews! My fiancé bought me tickets for Valentines in February as I'm a huge Beatles fan even though they disbanded a long, long time before I was even a twinkle and I thoroughly enjoyed this. In fact, I was that person standing at the back singing along with every song! The actor who played John Lennon was captivating and truly fantastic as was the guy who played George Harrison. In fact, his "While My Guitar Gently Weeps" had me in tears and I am not an overly emotional person. People saying it's staged with no plot or anything, fine it's not fabulous if you're looking for a ""classic" musical, but IMHO if that's what you're after go buy tickets for Wicked or something. Let It Be is a story through time showcasing the musical talent that was the Beatles. I'd far rather listen to their back catalogue of wonderful anthems than a random actress belting out Defying Gravity (and don't get me wrong I really liked Wicked too). In the end it depends on what you're after, if you want to lose yourself in fantasy or happy clappy sing songs and dancing then don't see this musical. If, however, you want to appreciate musical talent and journey with the Beatles through their story and watch their many incarnations unfold right before your very eyes then, please, do. It really is spectacular.

    Wednesday, 8th May 2013 by Linda

I loved this show!! Me and my boyfriend went Monday evening 6/5/13..We were in B stalls on the fourth row and it was perfect! I'm a very big Beatles fan and I got a big smile on my face when it started right until the very end! Especially Luke Roberts (Ringo) and Reuven Gershon (John) are amazing! It was as close as you can be to a Beatles concert. It was a present for my birthday and I can tell everyone: It was the best present EVER!! I wish I could go again.

    Tuesday, 7th May 2013 by Amanda Baker

Not a bad night out, but not a musical and not that like a the Beatles, especially the thin faced, small eyed, right handed Paul, and I found the men in their late forties playing guys I. Their early twenties off putting.

The music is great, but the show isn't.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 8 + 3)