Let It Be Reviews - Garrick Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Garrick Theatre

Garrick Theatre
2 Charing Cross Road
London
London
WC2H 0HH

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(2mins) Follow Charing Cross Road parallel to Leicester Square until you reach the theatre on your left.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 5th September 2015
Booking Until: Saturday, 5th September 2015
Running Time: 2 hours 20 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for 5+
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.1 out of 5 stars based on 209 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "A great show, we never got to see the original Beatles but these guys definitely looked the part ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Tuesday, 7th May 2013 by Lois Walton

I am really glad I made the effort to see this show (5th May)it was brilliant. The whole theatre was up and dancing even the very young children. The range of guitars and the piano the guys can play is amazing. We should have been back on the coach at 15.15 but the encores meant we did not leave the theatre until 15.45.

    Tuesday, 7th May 2013 by Dublin Ray

Wasn't my cup of tea at all, far too wooden and humourless not a fitting tribute there are far better Beatles tribute acts out there' this is bet viewed as a tribute act with some terrible wigs!!

I've had far more fun tonight watching The real Paul McCartney perform the later Beatles classics live in Brazil the other night on YouTube.

All the other customer review sites I have checked out, exactly mirror this one in terms of ratings and reviews, save for a certain ticket website - who failed to publish my lowly review despite the fact I had gotten my ticket with them.

    Tuesday, 7th May 2013 by Emma K

I saw the show on May the 2nd also, I am not one to write reviews, but after reading some of the comments feel I need to speak up , I too saw the drunken fans of the guy playing Paul, I found them very intimidating and distracting.

And I have no dea how Dudley can say he looked and sounded like Paul. I agree he can really play Bass and the piano and sings in tune, but his impression and Liverpool accent along with the shows wigs are a joke John sucks too.

Not happy I wanted to see Beatles with the Apple pies beautiful Paul.

    Tuesday, 7th May 2013 by Bryan Hopkins

Not bad as tribute bands go good muscians i dont particulary think they sounded like or looked like the Beatles myself ( the cast i saw ) i have the same opinion that its over hyped and shouldnt be advertised and more or less sold as a musical its not everyone is entitled to their view and thats mine im afraid sorry if fans of the show dont agree, it not one i would see again.

    Monday, 6th May 2013 by Dudley Langley

Well I am glad I didn't come on here to read the reviews before I went to see the show. The reviews on here seem to be very negative where on the other sites I have been on they have been the complete opposite. My family and some friends went to see the show on May 2nd. We couldn't fault the guy who played Mc Cartney; infact we thought he was excellent as indeed all the cast were. The audience was up and dancing and there was also a standing ovation at the end. We didn't see any drunk fans either. We would definitely see this show again.

    Friday, 3rd May 2013 by Mel 'Starman' Jones

I am a major McCartney fan, I finally got round to seeing let it be tonight 2nd of May. I am speechless!

I am sure the guy playing Paul is a nice bloke and he can play really well, and he can hold a tune, but he is right handed and looks and sounds nothing like Paul McCartney, I found myself wondering why he'd been employed, I got the answer watching a small group of his fans, who were clearly very drunk and making more fuss and noise than the rest of my fellow theatre goers combined.

The rest of the cast were little better at least Ringo and George manage to sound a little like they should.

If I pointed out the historical and musical flaws in this production I'd still be typing on the 60th anniversary of Love Me Do!

    Thursday, 2nd May 2013 by Liz Stephens

Loved it. Ok wigs a bit dodgy and purists will miss the left handedness as well as chronological errors but as a major fan who has seen Paul live many times, I welcomed the chance to sing along to some John and George led classics. Even got a tut from my husband for being a bit too vocally enthusiastic!

    Wednesday, 1st May 2013 by Pat J

Not impressed sorry seen much better Beatles tribute bands personally i cant understand how its billed as a musical seen many great musicals in the last few months this is not one.

    Wednesday, 1st May 2013 by Helen Hill

A few fans are enjoying the show going multiple times seem to have a biased opinion fair enough im a music teacher also play instruments nobody is questioning they are qualified muscians just the fact its over hyped, not a musical as you would expect as in no dialog or story to follow just a tribute Beatles concert with daft wigs and costumes.. IMO there are much better shows worthy of seeing compared to this one.

    Tuesday, 30th Apr 2013 by Mary Larkin

I visited the show again on Saturday 27th April, and took three friends with me- we all had a really great night out. Luke Roberts is a fantastic drummer, and made a really splendid smiley Ringo. Emanuele Angeletti has a really pure voice; his Paul was expertly done, and his bass playing was great. Reuven Gershon makes a fab John; he had my friends waving peace signs in the air and swaying to the music! And Stephen Hill was channeling his inner rock God when he played 'While My Guitar...'. It was super. And his voice is just great - soulful and deep, with gritty and raw edges, lol; just like George. Ryan Alex Farmery played some great piano; I really enjoyed watching.

We all went home happy after a good nananana, and of the four of us, we would all go again and again and again...

Not that this is relevant, but I am a trained musician; I play guitar, and can play bass, drums and piano. My opinion is that these guys are great. Go see them!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 3 + 6)