Let It Be Reviews - Garrick Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Garrick Theatre

Garrick Theatre
2 Charing Cross Road

Seating Plan


(2mins) Follow Charing Cross Road parallel to Leicester Square until you reach the theatre on your left.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 5th September 2015
Booking Until: Saturday, 5th September 2015
Running Time: 2 hours 20 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for 5+
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.1 out of 5 stars based on 209 review(s)


Latest Review: "A great show, we never got to see the original Beatles but these guys definitely looked the part ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Saturday, 13th Apr 2013 by Kevin

No offence but we saw this show in January and it had a brilliant cast especially the musician that played John Lennon so we decided to take our children to see the show and although we enjoyed it I have to say its a different cast and not quite as good.

    Sunday, 7th Apr 2013 by Dragon Slayer

"Proficient musicians " that says it all! Its ok, but its not a West End musical, so still we wait for a theatrical production that tells the story of the Beatles in any real sense!

Maybe we don't need one

The music is the legacy and maybe its better it was viewed pure form by John, Paul, George and Ringo

Long live The Beatles x

    Sunday, 7th Apr 2013 by Barbara J

This isnt a musical as others have mentioned so why isnt it at a cabaret venue people would expect just a concert then, im a Beatles fan but found myself bored and waiting for it to end nothing new or interesting IMO not a show i would recommend to any avid musicals fan.

    Saturday, 6th Apr 2013 by Mary Larkin

I first visited Let It Be in December 2012, and fully expected not to like it. Within 16 bars of the first song, however, I was totally engaged. Since then I have visited a further six times. They are energetic and proficient musicians who clearly love their work, and this production is a joy to watch. Peace!

    Friday, 5th Apr 2013 by Denis

Avid Beatles fan, I found Let it be too polished and lacking in drive passion there's no raw magnetism that the Beatles had in the lorry loads

    Thursday, 4th Apr 2013 by Angie

The singing was pitchy and the theatre cold started off so dark we only saw flashes of Guitar, teeth and ringo's drums, the Beatles suits looked good but music was crashy and dated second half better the acoustic bits pleasant and the last two numbers good, but its not great most people around me also failed to get it or get onto it. one man said to me this lots better than the others are at least Paul's left handed

Not my cup of tea and I like the Beatles it says it all I felt the need to listen to them in the car on the way home. surprised at the 5 star ratings but each to their own.

    Thursday, 4th Apr 2013 by Bev, Karen and Wendy

We went to see Let it be at the savoy not very impressed. ending was good, but the beginning mega boring, dark, kinda depressing, thankfully the savoy bar is fantastic, it needs to be, cos the show is best seen when you've had a few bevvies.

    Thursday, 4th Apr 2013 by Lawrence

Just a gig by a so so Beatles tribute band not a proper musical. Weak effort.

    Wednesday, 3rd Apr 2013 by Archie Debunker

Re a few points made by other reviewers.


The show is badly mis-sold Beatlemaina is back!! its never been away ( I tweeted this to the theatre and was ignored)

Almost all the songs featured have been played live by at least one an actual Beatle!

Some of the later songs the Beatles did play live are played by the Let It Be cast, the way they are on record, and not the way the Beatles did the songs themselves live.

Without doubt there are hiden cast members playing for instance the harmonies are too full and multi layered to not be, either that or part of the show is 'on click'

I'll plump for the hiden cast members given the careful wording used by the show "All vocals and instrumentation provided live by members of the cast." Also its an open secret that other cast members are present 'at work' than the ones on stage.

"The only show to be granted theatrical rights to the Beatles back catalogue!" What about LOVE ? which is frequently visited by Paul, Ringo and members of the Lennon/Ono Harrison families.

Yet no mention of Let It Be as ever been made by any of their official channels

The show may well be official it is not approved, Sony ATV might own the copyright, but that doesn't give them the moral right to do whatever they want with the music. Especially given the circumstances in which they gained ownership over the composers, who themselves wanted to buy back the rights.

while Let it Be is an ok tribute show it is not a musical and its not worthy of five stars the music is - the show is not.

No story, no humour, no chemistry, very little interaction, its all very robotic and lacking in soul and spirit.. three sets of cast members, with two main casts who are of vastly different abilities in terms of pulling of The Beatles illusion.

    Tuesday, 2nd Apr 2013 by Gill Smith

Went to see this show last week im not one to write reviews normally will just put show down to experience as in liking it or not, some of the over hyped reviews on here are obviously by fans of the show with a very biased view and unrealistic fair enough, but you have just as much right not to like a show and not be questioned over it IMO its a average Beatles tribute band not bad but not as great as some are making out there are much better acts around , why its sold as a musical is beyond me its not and not what i expected in the west end.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 6 + 9)