Let It Be Reviews - Garrick Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Garrick Theatre

Garrick Theatre
2 Charing Cross Road
London
London
WC2H 0HH

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(2mins) Follow Charing Cross Road parallel to Leicester Square until you reach the theatre on your left.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 5th September 2015
Booking Until: Saturday, 5th September 2015
Running Time: 2 hours 20 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for 5+
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.1 out of 5 stars based on 209 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "A great show, we never got to see the original Beatles but these guys definitely looked the part ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Tuesday, 2nd Apr 2013 by Richard

The show is awsome highly recommended.

    Tuesday, 2nd Apr 2013 by RobK

I saw this show on Sunday 31st March 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed it. I'm a musician and big Beatles fan from the very beginning so I'm very aware of the structure and the true sound of the original songs. Believe me, this production in many ways is spot on.

OK, so the bass player doesn't look like Paul and he's right-handed and Ringo is too tall. So what? Does no-one have any imagination any more? These guys are acting the part and re-creating something that is technically really challenging in parts - I don't need them to look identical to the real Beatles to enjoy the music. Of course there are other instruments being played (by the one other cast member on keyboards). Without this augmentation it would be impossible to render much of the music that was originally created in a studio. There was no miming to voice as far as I could tell and no evidence of any other personnel backstage. All five guys did a great job as far as I'm concerned. All the audience got into it and I saw no empty seats at any time throughout the show.

However, this is basically a gig. There is no storyline other than the natural progression of the music so I wouldn't describe this as a musical in the sense of The Jersey Boys, for example. But if you want to hear a lot of the Beatles music, faithfully re-created live, go along and have some fun!

    Monday, 1st Apr 2013 by Fab Four Fan

As I was down in London for the weekend, I took in both shows on Saturday expecting to see both casts as I had back November. I actually saw the same cast twice, but was more than happy. The show has had new songs added since I last saw it and now opens in the Cavern. This was a great addition, although the Cavern staging was a little dark for a theatre. There were few empty seats for either show and the audiences of all ages seemed to be loudly enjoying themselves needing little encouragement to get to their feet. No it’s not a traditional West End show, it doesn’t claim to be. It’s a celebration of 50 years of the Beatles music with 40 of their best known songs, played by two casts of very talented musicians. No of course it’s not the real Beatles, who actually never played a lot of these songs live themselves. But it is over 2 hours of great nostalgic LIVE entertainment! I can’t believe some of the negative reviews on here were watching the same show and there was certainly no miming or backing tracks on the shows I saw. Interesting to see that reviews posted by Cherry and Me&Mum on 28th are almost identical to those posted by Chicketa and Bubble fan on 26th. It’s also surprising that some people claiming to hate the show so much have been back more than once? It won’t be everyone’s cup of tea, if you are very critical of anyone playing the Beatles it may not be for you. But if you just love the Beatles music and want a great night out, go along and make up your own mind! I certainly hope to get to see it again before it closes.

    Sunday, 31st Mar 2013 by Big G

Went to see Let It Be Saturday 30th March, not great, a lot of people failed to return after the interval.

My wife and I were tempted John and Paul were nothing like the real thing, in any way whats so ever.

its not the story of the Beatles at all. Which the advertising suggests not are the Beatles back. They should be stopped for saying that, because that is impossible.

Beatles tribute show, by a house band is the real truth of it.

    Sunday, 31st Mar 2013 by Brian Walker

Saw this show last week at the Savoy Theatre and in answer to Sue, yes the show as changed, there are more songs also some of the original cast have been dropped and there are new cast members and there's an extra setting.

 

Of the new cast a couple are an improvement, but the weak Paul remains (right handed,sweet voiced, but very unMccartney like in looks and voice)

I've seen him three times now trying to catch one of the others, to be able to see if there really is a five star cast.

 

Its all too rushed and nothing you can't see from hundreds of other Beatles tribute bands out there.

Its ok for what it is, but so many people say its the next best thing to seeing the Beatles it is a very long a way from being even close to that.

    Sunday, 31st Mar 2013 by Sue

I can't believe these reviews. Is the show different now it's moved to The Savoy? I saw the show at The Prince of Wales and absolutely loved it. Had tingling moments all through the show and have seen it 3 times with different casts but all superb. What do you want? The actual Beatles? Great tribute and loved seeing how they might have performed the songs had they stayed together. Go and see it and judge for yourselves.

    Saturday, 30th Mar 2013 by Little T

I loved this show. A fab evening out; watching a very talented cast of musicians. Would highly recommend this show for a great night out.

    Thursday, 28th Mar 2013 by Catherine P

I am a massive Beatles fan, hated this show. Its an insult we are expected to act as if we are watching the actual Beatles, Paul played by ** is a joke!

Come on if you are going to put on this show at least get people who bear passing resemblance to the Beatle whom they are portraying and have people who sound as close to the original as possible, the cast I saw do neither!!

I have since found out Sir Paul McCartney disowned the production, saying he'd "Rather people took the music in a new direction and ran with it like Dangermouse did, but the record company doesn't like that... "

Let It Be as no connection with or endorsement by the actual Beatles.

 

    Thursday, 28th Mar 2013 by David Henry

I have seen the show twice now, because I wanted to be absolutely sure before I commented. Whilst the group on stage ARE Talented musicians, there is no way that they made you feel like you we're watching the Beatles.

For all those complaining about miming I can ensure you there ARE definitely backing tracks and miming used, or at the very best there are other involved, who are not featured on stage!

I am musician and know without question some of the guitar sounds produced were not being made by anyone on stage.

Also the same voices could be heard on backing vocals to the one singing the lead vocal this is impossible without some part of the track being on click.

    Thursday, 28th Mar 2013 by Me&Mum

How has this been called a musical????

it is in my eyes a tribute band/ school concert/fancy dress show. We brought my mam as a treat for mothers day and I wouldnt call myself a fan, but I am familiar with alot of their songs, they didnt do a bad job, but its hard to watch when they are trying to interact with the audience as if they thought that, we thought they were the Beatles!!! Sheer madness and very embarrassing!!!

If you want to see a tribute band-by all means go and see them but if you want to see a musical that is funny, has a story and you can sing along to go see jersey boys.

We paid £63.00 each for the tickets expecting to be blown away, we weren't even half that!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 6 + 3)