Let It Be Reviews - Garrick Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Garrick Theatre

Garrick Theatre
2 Charing Cross Road
London
London
WC2H 0HH

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(2mins) Follow Charing Cross Road parallel to Leicester Square until you reach the theatre on your left.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 5th September 2015
Booking Until: Saturday, 5th September 2015
Running Time: 2 hours 20 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for 5+
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.1 out of 5 stars based on 209 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "A great show, we never got to see the original Beatles but these guys definitely looked the part ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 28th Mar 2013 by Cherry

Awful show, not helped by the bass player who sounded like his voice was about to give out at any second, his vocals suddenly improved and I became aware he was now singing along to himself on a backing track what a rip off.

Why have they employed someone with a history of vocal problems who looks and sounds nothing like the world known and much loved character he is , the rest of the band are little better, John looks older than the hills and is extremely wooden , George sounds the best of a bad bunch , but is heavy set abd tall everything Harrison was not.

    Wednesday, 27th Mar 2013 by Steve

I thought this show was brilliant!

I'm a massive Beatles fan and a musician so i'm suitably critical yet the cast captured the sound and spirit of the Beatles entirely.

I didn't feel the musical needed a storyline as the story of the Beatles is best told through their music and clear impact that they had on society. 'Let It Be' presents this nicely with great visuals and costumes to match (Sgt Peppers era is amazing with audible 'wows' coming from the audience). Having a 'Mama Mia' style storyline hashing it together would just be awful!

Honestly can't recommend it highly enough, go see it!

    Wednesday, 27th Mar 2013 by Lucy

Seen the show twice now and loved it! Talented musicians that made you feel like you we're watching the Beatles. For all those complaining about miming I can ensure you there are NO backing tracks or miming used at all!

    Tuesday, 26th Mar 2013 by chicketa

How has this been called a musical???? it is in my eyes a tribute band/ school concert/fancy dress show. We brought my mam as a treat for mothers day and I wouldnt call myself a fan but familiar with alot of their songs, they didnt do a bad job but its hard to watch when they are trying to interact with the audience as if they thought that we thought they were the beatles! If you want to see a tribute band-by all means go and see them but if you want to see a musical that is funny, has a story and you can sing along to go see jersey boys. We paid 63.00 pounds for the ticket expecting to be blown away and I think if i had just paid half that I wouldnt feel as hard done by.

    Tuesday, 26th Mar 2013 by Bubble fan

Truly awful show, not helped by the bass player who sounded like his voice was about to give out at any second, his vocals suddenly improved and I became aware he was now singing along to himself on a backing track what a rip off.

Why have they employed someone with a history of vocal problems who looks and sounds nothing like the world known and much loved character he is playing.

He's certainly not a draw half empty theatre proved that.

 

    Tuesday, 26th Mar 2013 by Scotty

I've seen many an excellent Beatles tribute band before, but this isn't one of those its a very poor show.

it was clear during the second half there was some miming going on, that is just wrong in a live stage show.

Worse London threatre production I have ever seen!

    Sunday, 24th Mar 2013 by Joe & Jon

Dull and boring start to the show, which got going in the second half only really hitting the spot for the last fifteens minutes, simply not good enough!

A poor poor tribute to The Beatles, we have seen better tribute bands in pubs around London for free.

Thank goodness for the wonderful Ian Hornal who carried the show and completely stole the audiences hearts at the end, he manages to really embody and channel McCartney in every way - can't praise him enough.

    Saturday, 23rd Mar 2013 by Caroline Brown

Rather disappointed in the lack of plot, and some of The Beatles in sound and looks this is my second time seeing the show, but Iain Hornal is a great Paul far better than the Welsh guy I saw before, Mr Hornal looks And even better really sounds like Paul.

Baby faced and cute Iain is a fantastic addition to the show and great replacement.

A few less songs and a little narration still needed I am afraid.

    Tuesday, 19th Mar 2013 by Magpie

Overally very disappointed. Local tribute shows were much better. From the reviews it is obvious that the show has got worse instead of better, too many songs shoe horned in, The last 10 minutes were the best and from the perspective of a London show that is not good enough. I nearly went to sleep in the first half.

    Tuesday, 19th Mar 2013 by Alison

Iain Hornal is great as Paul McCartney, he was by far the best of the Beatles sounding like Paul while both singing and talking, he also captures Macca's cute baby face and mannerisms fantastically.

It is a pity the rest of the cast and show let him down.

 

Worth going to see just for Iain Hornal he is a revelation!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 2 + 5)