Let It Be Reviews - Garrick Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Garrick Theatre

Garrick Theatre
2 Charing Cross Road
London
London
WC2H 0HH

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(2mins) Follow Charing Cross Road parallel to Leicester Square until you reach the theatre on your left.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 5th September 2015
Booking Until: Saturday, 5th September 2015
Running Time: 2 hours 20 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for 5+
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.1 out of 5 stars based on 209 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "A great show, we never got to see the original Beatles but these guys definitely looked the part ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Wednesday, 26th Dec 2012 by amber

The guys playing the beatles were good musicians but there was no story- just one beatles song after another. no better than going to see the bootleg beatles but 4 times as expensive. when i went there were loads of empty seats.

    Thursday, 20th Dec 2012 by JOHN L

BRILLIANT SHOW IT WAS FANTASTIC , I WAS SAT NEXT TO A YOUNG GERMAN GIRL WHO HAD ENDLESS QUESTIONS ON THE BEATLES AND WHAT IT WAS LIKE IN THEIR HAY DAY SHE WAS 23 I AM 62 , SHE SAID SHE JUST WISHED SHE HAD LIVED IN OUR ERA , SHE NEVER STOPPED SCREAMING AND SINGING ALONG SHE KNEW ALL THE WORDS , A BRILLIANT NIGHT, BRILLIANT AND TALANTED GUYS THAT TOOK OFF THE BEATLES TO A TEE , THIS SHOW IS NOT TO BE MISSED , FORGET WE WILL ROCK YOU ITS RUBBISH! SEE LET IT BE TWICE IS MY ADVICE.

JOHN L

BEATLES FAN

    Thursday, 29th Nov 2012 by Michellett

Husband loved it and as it was his era and his birthday thats the important part. The show hadn't sold many tickets though and when we arrived we were 'insulted' by telling us we were being upgraded to better seats and then put right over one side of the theatreright by the speaker ( we had originally paid for Dress Circle seats, centre with an aisle seat. So it spoilt my evening even though we did get moved because we were treated like idiots and basically lied to ! Not what you expect from the West End - will choose a bit more carefully in future !!

 

    Tuesday, 20th Nov 2012 by In My 50's

Four of us went to see the show on Saturday, It was absolutely brilliant, I suppose we were the right age, growing up with the Beatles music. We knew all the words to the songs . Brought all my childhood memories flooding back.

Didn't need dialogue.

Wonderful,Wonderful time.

You will always get a few people that don't want to enjoy themselves, makes me wonder why they went in the first place?

    Saturday, 10th Nov 2012 by deco scotland

Brilliant, brilliant show for anyone who loves The Beatles. No attempt to weave a silly story into the soundtrack. Just some wonderful musicians putting on a brilliant concert with newsreels of 60's stuff filling in gaps and complimenting their music. After seeing Wicked the evening before, this was a refreshingly wonderful and uncomplicated outing. Don't miss it!

    Tuesday, 30th Oct 2012 by Andy

Having read mixed reviews I was very open minded about what i would see. No, Let It Be is not a musical in the sense that it is without dancing or dialogue. It is not a tribute band concert either. What unfurls are two wonderful hours of Beatles music performed extremely well by very hard-working and competent musicians whose body language very effectively mirrors that of the Fab Four. I am old enough to recall the Beatles era with great affection. My son at 16 and wife at 44 were not. However with simple yet effective stage sets and strong costumes, much more than a rendition of Beatles music was achieved. The nostalga was strong and the quality of the performers secured a joyous journey through the music of the greatest band on Earth. I think critics have missed a point in commenting on the absence of a Beatles story. I feel the complexities in the lives of The Fab Four over the Beatles years render it impossible to try and produce a meaningful stage production on the subject. The best story to be told allows the music to do the talking. This Let It Be production does this admirably. All three of us left the theatre uplifted by not only the music but the clever way in which this production delivered. I have seen Beatles tribute bands and I have seen The Beatles. If you wish to feel the spirit of the music of The Beatles, then Let It Be will take you there.

    Monday, 29th Oct 2012 by Dottie

Four of us went on Saturday 27th October 2012. We were brought up with the Beatles. It was a pre-birthday treat me for from my sisters. From start to finish we thought it was absolutely fantastic. We did not stop singing along and clapping it was a really feel good musical brilliant. We personally feel that the Fab Four were fantastic and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves formthe start to the finish. If you are a true Bealtes fan you will love it. In fact my sister and I would definitely to again. 11 out of 10. Very impressive.

    Saturday, 20th Oct 2012 by Beatles Fan

20 October 2012: I saw this show today and it was brilliant!! I would recommend it wholeheartedly to anyone who loves the Beatles. All the musicians who performed today were amazing!! Well done, lads!

    Sunday, 14th Oct 2012 by barbara

A show not to be missed !!!!!!!

    Sunday, 7th Oct 2012 by Phil

Really great show like going to a Beatles concert with a time machine. While My Guitar Gently Weeps was superb starting off as the acoustic demo and ending with a terrific solo. What a great show

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 5 + 9)