Let It Be Reviews - Garrick Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Garrick Theatre

Garrick Theatre
2 Charing Cross Road

Seating Plan


(2mins) Follow Charing Cross Road parallel to Leicester Square until you reach the theatre on your left.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 5th September 2015
Booking Until: Saturday, 5th September 2015
Running Time: 2 hours 20 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for 5+
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.1 out of 5 stars based on 209 review(s)


Latest Review: "A great show, we never got to see the original Beatles but these guys definitely looked the part ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Saturday, 27th Jul 2013 by Cherie

I love Iain Hornal as Paul McCartney, he nailed the vocals and mannerisms absolutely, psychically he has the same chubby cheeked baby-faced wide eyed mischief of the young McCartney,

Fantastic casting.

However I wasn't as keen on the mature gentleman playing John and felt letdown that there is no story at all, and the show drags for long periods of time.

    Thursday, 18th Jul 2013 by Nick

I agree with the good reviews. It doesn't matter that 'Paul' was not left handed and they don't look exactly like the real Beatles. It was a great show - enthusiastic performances - some songs, e.g. Hey Jude, While My Guitar Gently Weeps, really good. Great audience tonight - clapping, dancing and singing along.

    Wednesday, 3rd Jul 2013 by Gaz Cluelow

The Beatles are Fab, the gig I saw wasn't I knew from reviews not to expect a musical, but I was prepared for the soulless robotic, performance, for a gig its too scripted every ad-lib is parroted. The night I saw Let It Be. Paul missed one of his lines the others glared at him and John replied to the comment he had failed to make regardless, that sums the whole thing up really fpe

It delivers on the music, but on nothing else. If you want humour, a story, passion and danger all things the real Beatles traded in, you won't find it here.

    Tuesday, 2nd Jul 2013 by Ricky Cox

Fair gig, nothing outstanding certainly not five star or a one star show.

Two casts - i have seen them both. one Paul is really good and the other one isn't .

Everyone's opinion is valued. That's the point of review sites

For me I would have liked Paul to be left handed and little narration others clearly just enjoy the show as gig

Anyone expecting more than a gig will be disappointed.

    Tuesday, 2nd Jul 2013 by Sandra

OK night out, but just a gig of Beatles songs by competent musicians. A few custume changes and a video screen providing the 'theatre' all things a lot of Beatles tribute acts have done for years.

There's nothing new or fresh other than the music of The Beatles, which is amazing for songs over half a century old!

The songs are the only star of the show and anyone could be doing them, which is just as well because the major failing of Let It Be is the personnel, its very badly cast the fifth Beatle (Billy Preston) is white and Paul McCartney is shifty looking with narrow baggy eyes and right handed!

No story or narration music played in at times a mystifying order, its not musical theatre and comes up a long way short of being even a half decent tribute the greatest pop band in the world!

As for the comments about Paul McCartney's singing they are ridiculous his voice on his current world tour is as good as it was in the 1970's


    Tuesday, 2nd Jul 2013 by Tony

My girlfriend and I seen the show last nite,It was brill,I've read some reviews and I don't know what show those guys were at!we thought they were amazing,harmonys were perfect,great sound,great set list,if your a proper music fan you will love it!The lads give there all(Paul)is exceptional.For anyone thinking about going,don't even look at the bad reviews,it nearly put us off,Thank god it didn't!!,As a musician myself,I thought it was rockin!! :)

    Sunday, 30th Jun 2013 by The Quiet Ones Fan

Let it Be is an OK night out, I am not sure its musical theatre and can understand some people's concerns where it may lead both I'm terms of the Beatles legacy and the future of musical theatre.

Everyone in the cast gives it their all. It not their fault the show as got many failings and some of the, are poorly cast right handed actors playing both Paul and Ringo being the most obvious to even the biggest Beatles virgin.

The show divided opinion, nothing wrong with that, what I take offence is the need for some loved who love it

To bad mouth the actual Beatles. The comment about Paul's singing was uncalled for and unfounded.

    Friday, 28th Jun 2013 by Caroline & Tim

What is wrong with these people and what are they expecting the actual Beatles? I have never been a fan of the Beatles but my fella is well into them. We both thoroughly enjoyed the night and we were on our feet singing, dancing and clapping nearly the whole night. We went NOT expecting to see the Beatles and I think that is the problem people do expect them to be the Beatles. The wigs and costumes represent the time and set the scene and it was a whistle stop tour of their hits and performed as if they were on tour so no, no narration, no story but a concert. The cast we saw were fab especially Paul and John but equally they all made the night. By the way has anyone heard Paul McCartney sing lately because the cast in Let it Be on Sunday 23 June 2013 were far better.

    Monday, 24th Jun 2013 by Sally

Went to see the show last week, it wasn't my cup of tea, I feel it really needs some sort if narration between sets, there's no feeling of history that they all fell out songs are all over the place the playing and singing ropy in places, the band came across as smug, and robotic we saw it twice on the same day expecting to see the different cast we saw the same one that was later informer by someone who butted into our conversation there are THREE casts.... Some of which interchange and also three cast of had left, that they had seen them all, but one but they wete aiming to see that Beatle soon.

The accents are terrible Paul's is shocking and he is also right handed and the wigs he wore were pure comedy ill fitting and coming away at his neck!

The Beatles songs are still the best this show is far from that.


    Monday, 24th Jun 2013 by Peter

This show really splits opinion! I wonder whether it is because there are two sets of 'Beatles'? We went on Saturday 22 June for the matinee and thoroughly enjoyed it. Yes - it is just a concert rather than a storyline show but I think it is better for it. The songs were wonderful and performed to a very high standard. Being a big Beatles fan, I was even impressed by the little nuances - Ringo with a ciggy in the first set, John chewing constantly throughout the later songs - just as in real life. One other reviewer said some of the songs were out of order - well, yes some were, but that was in order to use the same instruments and not constantly change. It also meant a few ballads were sung together followed by a series of foot-stompers, when we all got up and joined in. My congratulations to the cast - perhaps I should go when the other 'group' are on - just to check whether they deserve 5 stars too!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 9 + 8)