Let It Be Reviews - Garrick Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Garrick Theatre

Garrick Theatre
2 Charing Cross Road
London
London
WC2H 0HH

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(2mins) Follow Charing Cross Road parallel to Leicester Square until you reach the theatre on your left.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 5th September 2015
Booking Until: Saturday, 5th September 2015
Running Time: 2 hours 20 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for 5+
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.1 out of 5 stars based on 209 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "A great show, we never got to see the original Beatles but these guys definitely looked the part ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Sunday, 23rd Jun 2013 by Stuart

Read the reviews before the wife and kids and I went to see let it be tonight Saturday 22 June.

Very disappointed Just like The real Beatles! On which planet, they look and sound nothing like the real Beatles

Close your eyes and your back in the sixties, I tried that and found myself suffering sharp notes, pitchiness and even worse the unintentionally comedic attempts at Liverpudlian accents in their full horror

The songs of The Beatles remain FAB

But here they are sold short.

    Saturday, 22nd Jun 2013 by Gary H

Patchy affair - some great moments, some toe curling, some tedious and some out of tune ones too!

No one looks or sounds particularly like 'their Beatle' which I found distracting - there's nothing outstanding or special to lift the show above others like it.

A band running throught Beatles songs while in custume. That's it!

    Friday, 21st Jun 2013 by Tracy Neal

I've been a fan of the Beatles since I've been a little girl, and was disappointed with Let It Be. Not look a likes or sound a likes at all. Just a good band admittedly playing Beatles covers. I could see that any day of the week in any city in the world and done in a lot of cases better.

This is a West End show and soon to be broadway too, I expected a lot better and it should be a lot better!

Paul was right handed when everyone knows he is left handed. There's no real attention to detail, its we'll dress the band up in a few of the outfits and add few moustaches and longer wigs, to show the passing of time and then set then off playing.

No story its not a musical even a jukebox one it is just a gig.

Last night Thursday the Beatles I saw sounded nothing like the fan four the start of the show bored me a die hard fan, and it was too dark the accents are rubbish Paul sounded Welsh and John like he was from Manchester.

If they recast the lead Bealtes and added some narration they might have a proper show and actually attract an audience to play too.

Bealtes songs are great, playing good, singing ok, (but not Bealte like) not a very good tribute to the sixties or the Beatles Shame

    Wednesday, 19th Jun 2013 by anne martin

After reading some of the reviews and being a beatles fan for 50yrs i didnt know what to expect as some of the reviews were rating the show poor. I was delighted to find that the show was very good. These musicians were great and worked their sox off. They captured the sound of the beatles and took me back to my youth. I loved the fact they encouraged the audience to dance and sing along. I was sorry when the show ended it left me wanting more.

    Wednesday, 19th Jun 2013 by Paul Dunne

Right handed Paul McCartney and the order of the songs are not right . Hit and miss singing and a sparse audience that only had pockets of people enjoying it.

No story, very camp and I found it a bit cringey.

Not a fitting tribute to The Beatles the band that shaped all music that's come after them.

    Wednesday, 19th Jun 2013 by Michaellydon

A complete travesty! No story, distorted sound, laughable Liverpudlian accents, wigs, adverage singing and playing.

Without a story the need for this "show" escapes me, when one of the actual Beatles a certain Paul McCartney is currently touring and performing much of this material with a world class band backing him.

    Saturday, 15th Jun 2013 by Jan and Mike

We enjoyed the show from the black and white days in the early 60s through the colours of Sgt. Pepper and flower power. With clever backdrops and brilliant lighting we felt we were experiencing every moment. The singing and guitar playing was amazing and Ringo's encouragement to join in worked. We felt we had been to a huge party and enjoyed every minute. This was a birthday surprise for us on the 8th June and what an amazing experience we had.

    Monday, 10th Jun 2013 by Daniel

Went to see the show for the second time taking a few work colleagues with me, and saw a different cast to the one I had seen previously with my wife, this cast were not in the same league, for looking and sounding like the Beatles.

its clear to me why people can't understand other people's reviews, its a matter of what you expect on terms on content, there's no story line or thread of any kind.

And more importantly which of the sets of Beatles you get, either cast are bad.

Its rather more a case of one is pretty close to be one of the better tribute bands the other set play and sing well, but are not really a tribute band they are more which okay Beatles songs in costume.

, its never going to please everyone. Because Its not a proper musical and some of the production values are a little lacking. its an OK night out for a drink, a sing song and a 'bop' but nothing more.

    Friday, 7th Jun 2013 by Billy

It was ok a concert really not a musical if i had seen clips of what it was like must admit i would have picked a different show as im a seasoned musicals fan and go regular, i didnt particulary think they looked or sounded much like the Beatles and it all seemed a bit rushed i wondered if there is some in joke between the cast to see how many songs they can fit in ! not a show i would go and see again and if i like a show i do tend to go a few times.

    Thursday, 6th Jun 2013 by Gill

I went to see the show last week. I thought it was brilliant, and thoroughly enjoyed it from beginning to end. I knew all the songs, apart from the odd one or two, and enjoyed singing and dancing

along with other people in the audience. I thought they harmonised very well together, and liked the costume changes.

I am appalled at some of the reviews made by other people.

I have also seen other shows in the west end. I don't know what peoples expectations are. I would definately go and see it again.

Great show. Well done!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 8 + 2)