Love Never Dies Reviews - Adelphi Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Adelphi Theatre

Adelphi Theatre
409-412 Strand

Seating Plan


(3mins) Head out onto the main road Strand. Cross the street where possible and go right (approx. 150 metres). The theatre is on your left.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 20th February 2010
Booking Until: Saturday, 27th August 2011
Matinees: Wednesday and Saturday 2.30pm
Evenings: Monday to Saturday 7.30pm
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 5 out of 5 stars based on 8 review(s)


Latest Review: "Hi, I cannot believe the show is over. I went to see the show in March 2010 while..."

Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 15th Oct 2012 by Mary (Ireland)


I cannot believe the show is over. I went to see the show

in March 2010 while on a visit to London.This is Oct 2012 and I had planned to see the show again in 2013 in London and bring some friends.

    Friday, 26th Aug 2011 by Betty Boo

5 Star PLUS.  It is ALW's masterpiece. It has a depth and passion unequalled in the West End at the moment.  I cannot believe that it is coming off.  I have seen it four times and it gets better with each visit.  When I read the reviews it is almost as if the critics have seen a completely different show.  How one critic could complain that there is no 'show stopper' - what was he watching.  The audience always appears to love it, with an enthusiastic standing ovation each time I have seen it.  It will be back I am sure.

    Thursday, 25th Aug 2011 by PFFellows

"Love Never Dies" is certainly the Best Musical of the 21st Century (so far), I'll never understand why it's closing so early, especially when there's so much "Dross" playing at other West End Theatre's (and Broadway too). May it soon return, as no doubt it will. It's a masterpiece of Musical Theatre and I can vouch for that, having seen the London production SIX times.

Well done ALW (History will remember you as "One of the Greats" of Musical Theatre. Thank you for the enjoyment you've given to so many....

    Tuesday, 9th Aug 2011 by Mary Ellis

I took my granddaughter to see this in April 2011 we both thoroughly enjoyed the performance and are very sorry that it is finishing so soon.

    Monday, 18th Jul 2011 by Debs

Loved the show, a must see! We cant stop singing the songs. Can't believe it will close in August... go see it while you can you won't be disappointed!

    Friday, 8th Jul 2011 by Joshiesnan

One of the best shows I have ever seen, and I have seen many!!  This sequel to "Phantom of the Opera" is far better than the original.  It's a masterpiece.

    Saturday, 16th Oct 2010 by Bushytash

Simply put this is Andrew Lloyd Webber's masterpiece.  I believe that this is the first of his musicals which is from a completely original story rather than adapted from a book.  So here we have complete artistic freedom and creativity to make the perfect show.The music is glorious the s stunning and the performances simply superb.If you liked Phantom you will love this.  Just one warning...  take tissues.

    Monday, 26th Apr 2010 by Boxoffice Review

The long awaited follow up to one of the most successful musicals of all time is finally here.  Love Never Dies is set 10 years after the events of The Phantom of the Opera and takes us to Coney Island, New York where a mysterious impresario is behind a hugely successful and wondrous fairground know as Phantasma.  Despite building a new life for himself, the Phantom feels incomplete as his obsession with his beloved Christine eats away at him. 

He longs for his muse and devises a plan to lure the now world famous Opera singer to the new world he has created.  Plagued by money problems as a result of Raoul's (now her husband) gambling debts, Christine arrives in New York City to perform for the mysterious stranger who run this renowned attraction.  Little does she know that the Phantom is once again in pursuit of his Angel of music and will once again be torn between the men she loves but this time, there is more at stake than her future alone.
This show acts both as a sequel to The Phantom of the Opera, with many characters from the original making an appearance, but also works well as a stand alone show.  The score is terrific, a mixture of haunting melodies, big ballads (such as TIL I HEAR YOU SING ONCE MORE & the title song LOVE NEVER DIES), fun and quirky numbers (BATHING BEAUTY) and beautiful operatic swells.
It also features a terrific cast. Ramin Karimloo (The Phantom) Sierra Boggess (Christine) and Summer Strallen (Meg Giry) give outstanding performances bringing this vivid and rich score to life with their fantastic voices. 
Jack O'Brien has directed this with a mixture of musical theatre and operatic styling.  Bob Crowley's set and costume designs create an intriguing - and often beautiful - world for the eyes to explore (complete with singing chandeliers and walking desks!) as the Phantom's world has changed from the rich elegance of the Opera House to the dark and eclectic world of Coney Island full of grotesque freaks and dancing girls (aided by Jon Driscoll's brilliant projection design).
The show has been widely acclaimed as Lloyd Webber's best since the original Phantom of the Opera started its run at Her Majesty's theatre 22 years ago and will be opening in New York and Australia later this year.  Book now and be one of the first to see it.

Love Never Dies 
Adelphi Theatre, Strand, London WC2
Running time - 2 Hours 30 Mins

If you like this you may also enjoy - The Phantom of the Opera, Wicked and Les Miserable

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 7 + 1)