Mamma Mia! Reviews - Novello Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Novello Theatre

Novello Theatre
5 Aldwych
London
London
WC2B 4LD

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Go right on Long Acre; turn right into Bow Street and after 100 metres turn left (Russell Street) then immediately right onto Catherine Street, where the theatre is located 100 metres down on the corner with Aldwych.

Show Information
Booking From: Monday, 5th December 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 14th October 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 35 minutes (with a 15 min interval)
Age Restriction: Suitable for ages 5 and over.
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.45pm
Tue: 7.45pm
Wed: 7.45pm
Thu: 3pm and 7.45pm
Fri: 7.45pm
Sat: 3pm and 7.45pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.6 out of 5 stars based on 48 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Seen the show twice so far and looking forward to seeing again Love the show the whole cast was a..."

Reviews Sort by
    Sunday, 8th Jul 2012 by Kim O'Connor

WOW what a show it was amazing would love to see it again the cast were fab it was very well done loved it

    Tuesday, 26th Jun 2012 by Brigitte

It was absolutely great, fantastic, brilliant like always! many, many thanks for that! And I'll come again in September!!! I'm looking forward to the new theatre and the performance!!! See you then!

    Tuesday, 19th Jun 2012 by debbie wilson

Well what can I say apart from this is an absolute must see. Everything about this show was fab... the actors were amazing, and with plenty of laughs and songs to sing along with you really must see this show.

    Monday, 7th May 2012 by angela

Super show, highly recommend, go see! Tanya is my inspiration would love to play her.

    Tuesday, 24th Apr 2012 by Brigitte

It was absolutely gorgeous!! I've seen the musical four times so far and I will give me this as a birthday present next time!

    Sunday, 8th Jan 2012 by Lord Peter Bishop

Excellent enjoyed the show very much, would go back again, really loved the characters Rosie was my favourite I must say.

    Tuesday, 13th Sep 2011 by Erika Winkelmann

Last Thursday 8. September we visited the performance of Mamma Mia. We were very delighted.The cast were wonderful especially Joanna Monro was fantastic.

Thank you for this wonderful evening.

Greetings from Switzerland

yours sincerely

Erika Winkelmann

    Sunday, 6th Mar 2011 by Boxoffice Review

Since Mamma Mia! opened on 6th of April 1999, 45 Million people across the world have been seduced by its sequin clad delights. It’s not a “sit quiet and listen” type of show but is lively family entertainment which appeals to all ages.  Now in its twelfth year, its home for the past six being the beautifully restored Prince of Wales Theatre, it still entertains and provides it’s audiences with two and a half hours of plain and simple fun. Bringing new meaning to the lyrics “My, my how can I resist you?” it can only be described as a worldwide phenomenon.

The plot is basic but moves along with vigour and enthusiasm. Donna is a single Mum running a Taverna on a Greek Island and Sophie, her soon to be wed daughter. Sophie yearns for her unknown Dad to walk her down the aisle and after a quick snoop in her mother’s old diary confirms three candidates for “Father of the Bride”, she secretly invites all three potential dads to the wedding. The drama and hilarity begins upon arrival as the men discover why they are there and Donna is forced to confront her questionable past.

The set is basic yet affective with most of the action taking place in or around the Taverna’s white washed walls. The book by Catherine Johnson is kitsch and sentimental but sewn together with 22 of Benny Andersson & Bjorn Ulvaeus’ songs you feel like you’re getting good ABBA value for money. It’s true that some of the numbers, such as Chiquitita, feel like they have been crow barred into the plot but this is played with knowing smiles to the audience proving that as a piece it doesn’t take itself too seriously. Combine some highly energetic choreography by Anthony van Laast with the cast’s infectious energy and you have the recipe for the ultimate feel good show. Throw in a mega mix and by the end the whole audience is on their feet, waving their hands, and indeed saying “thank you for the music”

I have to say that I was not looking forward to my evening at the Prince of Wales.  As a twenty something male going alone to see this show, I am not exactly the target audience of this show.  However, I have to say I really enjoyed it.  The current cast (lead by West End regular leading lady Linzi Hateley) look like they are having a ball and that enthusiasm is infectious.  No matter what mood you are in when you enter the theatre, I am convinced you will leave this show with a smile on your face.

Bruce Gutherie

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 4 + 1)