Matthew Bourne The Red Shoes Reviews - Sadler's Wells

Post Review
Venue Information
Sadler's Wells

Sadler's Wells
Rosebery Avenue
London
Islington, London
EC1R 4TN

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Take Upper St towards the City Road crossroads. Continue straight and turn right into Rosebery Avenue, where the theatre is 100m down on the right.

Show Information
Booking From: Friday, 23rd December 2016
Booking Until: Sunday, 29th January 2017
Age Restriction: No Under 5's 
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.3 out of 5 stars based on 7 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Bourne's Sleeping Beauty is easily the best ballet I have ever seen but Red Shoes was so disappoi..."

Reviews Sort by
    Friday, 9th Jun 2017 by Magsayr

Bourne's Sleeping Beauty is easily the best ballet I have ever seen but Red Shoes was so disappointing. Whole thing was very dull - like watching an extended version of a particularly dull show dance on Strictly Come Dancing. Very little classical ballet and the leading lady just wasn't up to scratch to carry a show, though tgat may be down to the mediocre choreography. Constantly revolving set just did not work and the "shock" ending was farcical, I actually did laugh. Really very poor.

    Thursday, 9th Mar 2017 by Carol Gladwin

My husband and I were so looking forward to this but were so dissapointed. We have seen nearly all Mathew Bourne's productions and loved them dearly. This felt like the first 2/3 of the first half we choreographed by someone we didn't recognise. It was difficult to know what was going on. Then the ballet within the ballet scene came and it was brilliant! Matthew Bourne at his best. Break for interval, maybe all is not lost? However..... the second "half" wa rushed and again left us dissapointed. What a let down... :-(

    Saturday, 25th Feb 2017 by George

Again great fans of all previous productions but this was nothing short of a long winded mess. Dancers are of course hugely talented but still could not wait until the end. I did have one particular hate and that was the rotating scene change which became a constant irritation. It looked an expensive piece of machinery but did nothing to enhance this production. Why some people gave this a standing ovation I shall never know. This is one production that should not be repeated. What was particularly annoying was that I took friends and spoke of Mr Bournes Productions enthusiastically as they had never been to the ballet before. I can only say that they stayed out of politeness as I had purchased their tickets.

Sorry Mr Bourne but that is the truth

    Wednesday, 21st Dec 2016 by steve macsweeney

Sadly I agree with most of Martins reflections.Bone up hard on the story for full appreciation, I sat back and waited for it all to unfold, and was lost before the interval.

Brilliiant choreography,superb dance, lots of typical Bourne humour, camp and riske to boot, but I've got to say quite a lot of the tale went over my head.

Used to 5 star stuff from Matthew--disappointingly not on this occasion

    Friday, 9th Dec 2016 by john lichnerowicz

As usual Sir Matthew's genius and whimsy were apparent and it goes without saying that all elements of the production were of the highest quality as were the dancers.

This is a ballet which needs seeing multiple times; there is so much content and detail coming at the audience in a constant stream that it is well nigh impossible to absorb it all in one go. I was exhausted by the end!

I won't spoil the surprises that Sir Matt has in store for you but look out for a hilarious Wilson and Keppel.

    Saturday, 3rd Dec 2016 by Wendy

I thought it was brilliantly artistic. Loved the black and white sequences they were so evocative of the film noire. The sand dance was a brilliant innovation to bring a bit of light relive to this dark ballet.

    Tuesday, 22nd Nov 2016 by Martin Wells

To be honest I was a little disappointed. I am a monster fan of Matthew Bourne. He is innovative and he is a wonderful bringer of surprises but this time I felt that there were several parts of the ballet which seemed to have a slight relevance to the story. The Egyptian sand dance and the beach sequence... Why?

The dancing was super and how the dancers maintained their strength throughout the performance was simply stunning and the female lead was quite exceptional. Disappointed only because he has set such a high standard that any less than perfection Is a disappointment.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 8 + 9)