Motown the Musical Reviews - Shaftesbury Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Venue Information
Shaftesbury Theatre

Shaftesbury Theatre
210 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
London
WC2H 8DP

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Turn right onto New Oxford Street (past the Dominion) for 200 metres, and then turn right onto Shaftesbury Avenue, where the theatre will be on your left 100 metres down.

Show Information
Booking From: Monday, 18th September 2017
Booking Until: Saturday, 5th January 2019
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4 out of 5 stars based on 91 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Totally agree with A Hughes. This could have been a celebration of Motown music and been upliftin..."

Reviews Sort by
    Friday, 25th Aug 2017 by W southall

Totally agree with A Hughes. This could have been a celebration of Motown music and been uplifting but we came out of the theatre disappointed with the story line and reflecting on the missed classics, like Tears of a clown. The best part was the Jackson Five medley. The audience didn't engage much so maybe they were feeling the same as us?

    Wednesday, 23rd Aug 2017 by Anne richardson

What an absolutely brilliant entertaining show . The cast were brilliant,the songs too.

Came to London just for the show with some friends.brilliant

    Sunday, 13th Aug 2017 by Hannah Miles

Wasn't what we expected thought there would be more songs - more like the Motown story or the Dianna Ross story. Disappointing! We had great expectations - advertised as best show in London.

    Tuesday, 25th Jul 2017 by Sheryl

What a fabulous show. I enjoyed it so much I will be returning to see it again. It was a birthday celebration outing and it did not disappoint. We left with a real feel good factor. The story was informative, the music was fabulous and the cast were all very good at their craft. Do go and if you are in town visiting our beautiful city treat yourselves to a performance of this musical. Then enjoy

    Saturday, 22nd Jul 2017 by Sam

Absolutely fantastic show. Loved it from beginning to end . A moving story which made me want to dance and sing from start to finish . All the actors/singers where amazing . Also very moving, bring a tears to my eyes . Thank you x

    Wednesday, 19th Jul 2017 by Daniela Kustec

Hi guys and all who are in the crew,

You have been amazing!!!!

Felt a bit sorry for the stiff audience.

Keep going even though they are not so lively.

You are great!!

Keep the spirit alive!!

    Sunday, 16th Jul 2017 by jimbo

First class from start to finish coreography excellent leading male and female artists spot on to play leading roles what cracking singers thoroughly enjoyed start to finish

    Saturday, 24th Jun 2017 by Sharon

Wow, what an amazing show , enjoyed every single element from Berry Gorey's story of how he founded Mowtown to the fabulous music and performances of all the artists especially Diana Ross who I had seen live many years ago in Dublin . The actress captured everything which I loved about Diana, her music, singing , character and the glamour of an icon. Don't miss this show would definitely recommend 10*+

    Sunday, 11th Jun 2017 by a. hughes

Very disappointed. 1st half was good with great songs from well known motown acts i.e.4 tops, temptations, Supremes etc. Brought back good memories from my youth. 2nd half just got flatter and flatter. Like a bottle of cheap champagne! Some quite obscure songs played and really surprised Smokey Robinson biggest hit, Tears of a Clown, was not even mentioned. Too many half songs sung also. Didn't make me want to get up and dance and sing,unlike jersey boys and dirty dancing. would probably have been ejected from the theatre if I had!! Certainly wouldn't recommend it.

    Thursday, 1st Jun 2017 by Elizabeth Bridgehouse

Went to see Motown the Musical last night at Shaftesbury theatre and it was everything I expected and more . What a wonder night, I am massive Motown fan and this musical was magic.The portrayals of the musicians ,their voices were truly brilliant. Berry Gordy was amazing and the young Michael Jackson outstanding.I would recommend this show to any Motown fan.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 9 + 8)