Motown the Musical Reviews - Shaftesbury Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Venue Information
Shaftesbury Theatre

Shaftesbury Theatre
210 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
London
WC2H 8DP

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Turn right onto New Oxford Street (past the Dominion) for 200 metres, and then turn right onto Shaftesbury Avenue, where the theatre will be on your left 100 metres down.

Show Information
Booking From: Monday, 5th December 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 28th October 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 3pm and 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 3pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.2 out of 5 stars based on 63 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Went to the Saturday evening performance and I wasnt disappointed. I loved it...."

Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 28th Nov 2016 by LB

Went to the Saturday evening performance and I wasnt disappointed. I loved it.

    Friday, 18th Nov 2016 by Julia Morgan

Not at all like the Motown I remember. Poor imitation, although I suppose only the Four Tops and Diana Ross et al themselves could recreate the excitement of the Motown sound of the 60's. Thought the theatre was extremely uncomfortable also - not a good experience!

    Saturday, 12th Nov 2016 by jacqueline clark

THE START OF THE SHOW WAS BRILLIANT BUT WE WERE ASKED TO LEAVE BECAUSE AS WE HAD NO ONE BEHIND US WE STARTED TO DANCE, WE WERE TOLD TO SIT DOWN. fOUR GIRLS TO THE RIGHT OF US WERE TRYING TO SIT ON TOP OF CHAIRS MAKING A NOICE AND HAD THE CHEEK TO COMPLAIN ABOUT US. WE WERE NOT GIVEN A CHANCE. WE SAW OTHER PEOPLE BEING ASKED TO LEAVE.IT WAS A COMPLETE JOKE AND A WASTE OF MONEY.

    Saturday, 12th Nov 2016 by patsy

Didn't like the show one bit. No story and very amateurish.

    Sunday, 30th Oct 2016 by Maureen phillips

I thought the show was fantastic Gordy, Marvin and Michael Jackson knocked it out the park and the dancing to 'War' was fantastic. But agree with the others theatre is awful. Awful seats very hot no air conditioning and trying to get drinks was a nightmare. The amount of money paid by people deserves more comfort. Move Motown to a better theatre!!!

    Monday, 24th Oct 2016 by Dissapointed

went to see the show on 15th Oct. Very average and wouldn't want to go and see it again. Sound was poor and singing/acting and story very average.

    Sunday, 16th Oct 2016 by Philip Bennington

Went and saw what I consider to be the Best Motown Story Live Ever.yes I also think the Grand Circle is to cramped and there is a jobs worth of a member of staff who shouts at anybody who goes near the front rail and anybody who have been knows there is no room what so ever.I was glad at half time to be able to stretch my legs a little only to be shouted at by this jobs worth.

Getting back to the Show it's Fantastic Brilliant Voices and Fantastic Individual Performancies,Young Micheal Jackson is a Brilliant Talent for the Future..Motown Lovers Go and see it.

    Thursday, 29th Sep 2016 by christopher john shepherd

The show was out of this world if you havent seen the show you are missing something brilliant.

    Sunday, 18th Sep 2016 by dinglesboy

Thought the show was very good, there was a lot that I expected in there that wasn't but obviously limited time. As others have said, the Shaftsbury theatre was awful, cramped, unbearably hot, so much so that it really did detract from our enjoyment of the show, not sure I would go back . I really think they need to look at some sort of ventilation.

    Sunday, 18th Sep 2016 by Paul Vine

I went to the show Tuesday 6th September,7.30 performance. My expectation of this show was HUGE . It was poorly organised, a kind man from your staff got a drink of water,very kind.Waiting areas were small, slow service. i eventually got served for a drink, then waited ages for a programme & Mug. Finally got to our seats, very uncomfortable, a person behind sneezed over my head ! Lady in front kept bobbing around ,really annoying .i thought the story was poor, the actors were poor,apart from the guy playing Berry Gordy. Hardly any reference to ASHFORD & SIMPSON who are probably the greatest songwriters,in my opinion. Theatre was extremely hot & humid, very little AIR CONDITIONING. It was my first visit to the theatre in London, i was so disappointed, after all the hype for this show! In the USA , it no longer runs on Broadway,maybe people got like me, i don't know. For such a Music Label it deserved so much better. I have been to Philadelphia Records, Kenny Gamble is a Legend with Leon Huff & Thom Bell.

know after this experience, it will be a long time,if ever , i go to a west end show again. A very disappointed Customer.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 6 + 3)