Motown the Musical Reviews - Shaftesbury Theatre

Check Availability
Post Review
Venue Information
Shaftesbury Theatre

Shaftesbury Theatre
210 Shaftesbury Avenue

Seating Plan


(5mins) Turn right onto New Oxford Street (past the Dominion) for 200 metres, and then turn right onto Shaftesbury Avenue, where the theatre will be on your left 100 metres down.

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 19th October 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 28th October 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 3pm and 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 3pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 57 review(s)


Latest Review: "Went and saw what I consider to be the Best Motown Story Live Ever.yes I also think the Grand Cir..."

Reviews Sort by
    Sunday, 16th Oct 2016 by Philip Bennington

Went and saw what I consider to be the Best Motown Story Live Ever.yes I also think the Grand Circle is to cramped and there is a jobs worth of a member of staff who shouts at anybody who goes near the front rail and anybody who have been knows there is no room what so ever.I was glad at half time to be able to stretch my legs a little only to be shouted at by this jobs worth.

Getting back to the Show it's Fantastic Brilliant Voices and Fantastic Individual Performancies,Young Micheal Jackson is a Brilliant Talent for the Future..Motown Lovers Go and see it.

    Thursday, 29th Sep 2016 by christopher john shepherd

The show was out of this world if you havent seen the show you are missing something brilliant.

    Sunday, 18th Sep 2016 by dinglesboy

Thought the show was very good, there was a lot that I expected in there that wasn't but obviously limited time. As others have said, the Shaftsbury theatre was awful, cramped, unbearably hot, so much so that it really did detract from our enjoyment of the show, not sure I would go back . I really think they need to look at some sort of ventilation.

    Sunday, 18th Sep 2016 by Paul Vine

I went to the show Tuesday 6th September,7.30 performance. My expectation of this show was HUGE . It was poorly organised, a kind man from your staff got a drink of water,very kind.Waiting areas were small, slow service. i eventually got served for a drink, then waited ages for a programme & Mug. Finally got to our seats, very uncomfortable, a person behind sneezed over my head ! Lady in front kept bobbing around ,really annoying .i thought the story was poor, the actors were poor,apart from the guy playing Berry Gordy. Hardly any reference to ASHFORD & SIMPSON who are probably the greatest songwriters,in my opinion. Theatre was extremely hot & humid, very little AIR CONDITIONING. It was my first visit to the theatre in London, i was so disappointed, after all the hype for this show! In the USA , it no longer runs on Broadway,maybe people got like me, i don't know. For such a Music Label it deserved so much better. I have been to Philadelphia Records, Kenny Gamble is a Legend with Leon Huff & Thom Bell.

know after this experience, it will be a long time,if ever , i go to a west end show again. A very disappointed Customer.

    Tuesday, 6th Sep 2016 by bev

I went to see the show with my son who is 25 and we both loved it and felt they did the telling of the story during that time very well. If you love Motown music you won't be disappointed. Loved the Barry Gordy actor and Diana Ross's character. the both had the best voice ranges. The political element and racism they faced during the 60's was handled well and would have educated an new audience in understanding the struggles and what things they faced just trying to feed their families.... Have and will continue to recommend the show.

    Saturday, 3rd Sep 2016 by Rose

It was well worth the three hour travel to come and see this show on the 31st August. The show was fantastic but I have to admit I found it difficult to refrain from singing along with the cast and I am by no way a singer smile. If you are able to go and see this show and like Motown then I am sure you will not be disappointed. As for the theatre you expect the seating to be cramped as it is a very old theatre and in fairness the performers have no control in relation to the structure/architect of the building,

    Saturday, 3rd Sep 2016 by rob porter

The show was disapointing in that there is alot of very good Motown songs that they did not sing or even give reference to.

The theatre itself is awful, i am not a big guy and there is no leg room what so ever up in the Grand Circle. This combined with how unbearably hot it was up there, made it the worse 2.5 hours I think i have ever spent in one place in my life.

    Thursday, 1st Sep 2016 by terry howard

the show was superb from curtain up to the end should have been encores.berry gordy and smokey robinson character actors had the most outstanding voices ,quality guys,rest of the cast were very good .great acting and great support .best show i have been too

    Tuesday, 30th Aug 2016 by Angela

I went and watched the show what can I say it was absolutely brilliant !!!!!!!! If I have my way I will be going to see it again .l loved everything about it

    Tuesday, 30th Aug 2016 by Jay & B

24th August. Brilliant show, would go an see again really enjoyed all the performance especially when Di Ross got a gentlemen out of the audience to sing with her. Brillant you could tell it made is day.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 8 + 4)