Motown the Musical Reviews - Shaftesbury Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Venue Information
Shaftesbury Theatre

Shaftesbury Theatre
210 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
London
WC2H 8DP

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Turn right onto New Oxford Street (past the Dominion) for 200 metres, and then turn right onto Shaftesbury Avenue, where the theatre will be on your left 100 metres down.

Show Information
Booking From: Tuesday, 18th July 2017
Booking Until: Saturday, 24th February 2018
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4 out of 5 stars based on 84 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Wow, what an amazing show , enjoyed every single element from Berry Gorey's story of how he found..."

Reviews Sort by
    Saturday, 24th Jun 2017 by Sharon

Wow, what an amazing show , enjoyed every single element from Berry Gorey's story of how he founded Mowtown to the fabulous music and performances of all the artists especially Diana Ross who I had seen live many years ago in Dublin . The actress captured everything which I loved about Diana, her music, singing , character and the glamour of an icon. Don't miss this show would definitely recommend 10*+

    Sunday, 11th Jun 2017 by a. hughes

Very disappointed. 1st half was good with great songs from well known motown acts i.e.4 tops, temptations, Supremes etc. Brought back good memories from my youth. 2nd half just got flatter and flatter. Like a bottle of cheap champagne! Some quite obscure songs played and really surprised Smokey Robinson biggest hit, Tears of a Clown, was not even mentioned. Too many half songs sung also. Didn't make me want to get up and dance and sing,unlike jersey boys and dirty dancing. would probably have been ejected from the theatre if I had!! Certainly wouldn't recommend it.

    Thursday, 1st Jun 2017 by Elizabeth Bridgehouse

Went to see Motown the Musical last night at Shaftesbury theatre and it was everything I expected and more . What a wonder night, I am massive Motown fan and this musical was magic.The portrayals of the musicians ,their voices were truly brilliant. Berry Gordy was amazing and the young Michael Jackson outstanding.I would recommend this show to any Motown fan.

    Sunday, 21st May 2017 by Mowtown generation

The first half magnificent, the songs and dance routines fabulous and Gordies story great

Second half it becomes about the Diana Ross Story!

We found the second part all about Diana Ross, Michael Jackson, who left Mowtown early in careers, just because they became more famous later in life, did not make them the true Mowtown sound..we grew up with Mowtown so we know. There were some fantastic groups, duos and singers about who were not included.

Not taking away from the cast who were brilliant.

    Monday, 1st May 2017 by Stephanie

Like previous reviews, very disappointed! 6 of us went on Saturday and all Mowtown fans. Very poor story line, too much talking and not enough singing, or songs sung were cut very short.

I definitely would not recommend this, I have seen far better Mowtown shows elsewhere.

    Monday, 1st May 2017 by Linda

Wasn't disappointed enjoyed every part of it. Would like to thank the floor staff too who found us alternative seats so my husband could sit comfortably as he has just had knee surgery. The cast worked so hard, bravo.

    Sunday, 23rd Apr 2017 by T.Donoghue

One of the best shows we've seen, marvelous, superb, great cast, singing,dancing, and sometimes emotional. Absolutely loved it.

    Sunday, 23rd Apr 2017 by Sue

My husband and I are big Motown fans. There are so many songs and groups that in the time they couldn't possibly sing the songs all the way through and been able to have all the groups represented.

Unfortunately the struggles of the day were very real and had to be told as it was part of the black music /artist struggle at the time and offensive words like nigger used repeatedly

We loved every minute and it was a wonderful trip down memory lane

    Sunday, 23rd Apr 2017 by Richard Dandy

Went with very high expectations but ended up deflated. Slow first half, second somewhat better but it had to be, Singing didn't sound anywhere near the real thing unlike Jersey Boys which, did and was exceptional by comparison. Many Motown classics not mentioned. Plus points.....Michael Jackson, star of the show and shame there wasn't more of him and the Temptations doing 'My Girl'. Hate penning such a negative review especially as so looking forward to it but can't hide the truth! One last thing .....saw nobody dancing which, probably sums it up and many around us were looking forward to it.

    Friday, 31st Mar 2017 by mum and daughter

This was a birthday present and I was delighted with the show.

I was expecting the performance to be a history of the development of Motown rather than a "musical" where many of the hits are just replayed. (Others seemed unprepared for this)

I love the music, knew a bit about the history but this show brought it all to life.

Some excellent singing and fantastic costumes

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 6 + 3)