Motown the Musical Reviews - Shaftesbury Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Venue Information
Shaftesbury Theatre

Shaftesbury Theatre
210 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
London
WC2H 8DP

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Turn right onto New Oxford Street (past the Dominion) for 200 metres, and then turn right onto Shaftesbury Avenue, where the theatre will be on your left 100 metres down.

Show Information
Booking From: Thursday, 19th January 2017
Booking Until: Saturday, 28th October 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.1 out of 5 stars based on 68 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "We found that the performance got a little monotonous, especially the first half which seemed to ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Tuesday, 10th Jan 2017 by Simon Naylor

We found that the performance got a little monotonous, especially the first half which seemed to take ages.

Some of the main stars were 'off the mark', and whilst the music was iconic, the show lacked depth.

    Sunday, 1st Jan 2017 by Nicky

I cannot believe some of the miserable reviews. The show gave an interesting insight into the start of Motown and Berry Gordys struggles. The few racial remarks were part of the story at the time (part of history) The cast are brilliant and so professional, the music is electric and hard to sit still very upbeat show and very enjoyable.

The remarks about the theater ie: seats small and theater itself in need of refurbishment.....really. Shaftsbury theater is 100 odd years old and beautiful and part of historic London, also people back then were a lot smaller due to lack of take away outlets etc so if you are a lump yes the seat will be a cosy fit but doesn't detract from a fantastic show about the start of Motown music and the struggles between black and white.

    Thursday, 29th Dec 2016 by Matt

Certainly not what I expected.... a regular visitor to the West End for shows, sadly this show ranks amongst the poor efforts of a musical performance.

The show is sold as a musical extravaganza of Motown classics, but actually it's a heavy (deep) recollection of the racial divide and white supremacy in the 60s & 70s. The show is flat, has long dialogues and at times spins left field, to highlight the struggle of black music (use of the word "Nigger" continuously was quite annoying).

Surely celebrating the music genre that is Motown, oppose to dwelling on its struggles, would prove a finer and more enjoyable stage performance.

    Wednesday, 21st Dec 2016 by Steve

Bitterly dissapionted ?? I found the racial undertone distasteful and not needed was trying to be to PC should have focused more on the music as that is what Motown is all about after all but on a more pleasant note the singers has great voices

    Friday, 9th Dec 2016 by Valerie

The show itself was ok but our complaint was the theatre itself. Very hot, seating near the back in the stalls are all on one level so lots of people like us were not able to see at all. I spent the whole evening dodging the very tall man in front to try and see which made the lady behind me quite angry. It spoilt our expensive evening. We won't visit this theatre again

    Monday, 28th Nov 2016 by LB

Went to the Saturday evening performance and I wasnt disappointed. I loved it.

    Friday, 18th Nov 2016 by Julia Morgan

Not at all like the Motown I remember. Poor imitation, although I suppose only the Four Tops and Diana Ross et al themselves could recreate the excitement of the Motown sound of the 60's. Thought the theatre was extremely uncomfortable also - not a good experience!

    Saturday, 12th Nov 2016 by jacqueline clark

THE START OF THE SHOW WAS BRILLIANT BUT WE WERE ASKED TO LEAVE BECAUSE AS WE HAD NO ONE BEHIND US WE STARTED TO DANCE, WE WERE TOLD TO SIT DOWN. fOUR GIRLS TO THE RIGHT OF US WERE TRYING TO SIT ON TOP OF CHAIRS MAKING A NOICE AND HAD THE CHEEK TO COMPLAIN ABOUT US. WE WERE NOT GIVEN A CHANCE. WE SAW OTHER PEOPLE BEING ASKED TO LEAVE.IT WAS A COMPLETE JOKE AND A WASTE OF MONEY.

    Saturday, 12th Nov 2016 by patsy

Didn't like the show one bit. No story and very amateurish.

    Sunday, 30th Oct 2016 by Maureen phillips

I thought the show was fantastic Gordy, Marvin and Michael Jackson knocked it out the park and the dancing to 'War' was fantastic. But agree with the others theatre is awful. Awful seats very hot no air conditioning and trying to get drinks was a nightmare. The amount of money paid by people deserves more comfort. Move Motown to a better theatre!!!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 4 + 6)