Motown the Musical Reviews - Shaftesbury Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Venue Information
Shaftesbury Theatre

Shaftesbury Theatre
210 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
London
WC2H 8DP

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Turn right onto New Oxford Street (past the Dominion) for 200 metres, and then turn right onto Shaftesbury Avenue, where the theatre will be on your left 100 metres down.

Show Information
Booking From: Friday, 21st April 2017
Booking Until: Saturday, 24th February 2018
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4 out of 5 stars based on 75 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "This was a birthday present and I was delighted with the show.I was expecting the performa..."

Reviews Sort by
    Wednesday, 21st Dec 2016 by Steve

Bitterly dissapionted ?? I found the racial undertone distasteful and not needed was trying to be to PC should have focused more on the music as that is what Motown is all about after all but on a more pleasant note the singers has great voices

    Friday, 9th Dec 2016 by Valerie

The show itself was ok but our complaint was the theatre itself. Very hot, seating near the back in the stalls are all on one level so lots of people like us were not able to see at all. I spent the whole evening dodging the very tall man in front to try and see which made the lady behind me quite angry. It spoilt our expensive evening. We won't visit this theatre again

    Monday, 28th Nov 2016 by LB

Went to the Saturday evening performance and I wasnt disappointed. I loved it.

    Friday, 18th Nov 2016 by Julia Morgan

Not at all like the Motown I remember. Poor imitation, although I suppose only the Four Tops and Diana Ross et al themselves could recreate the excitement of the Motown sound of the 60's. Thought the theatre was extremely uncomfortable also - not a good experience!

    Saturday, 12th Nov 2016 by jacqueline clark

THE START OF THE SHOW WAS BRILLIANT BUT WE WERE ASKED TO LEAVE BECAUSE AS WE HAD NO ONE BEHIND US WE STARTED TO DANCE, WE WERE TOLD TO SIT DOWN. fOUR GIRLS TO THE RIGHT OF US WERE TRYING TO SIT ON TOP OF CHAIRS MAKING A NOICE AND HAD THE CHEEK TO COMPLAIN ABOUT US. WE WERE NOT GIVEN A CHANCE. WE SAW OTHER PEOPLE BEING ASKED TO LEAVE.IT WAS A COMPLETE JOKE AND A WASTE OF MONEY.

    Saturday, 12th Nov 2016 by patsy

Didn't like the show one bit. No story and very amateurish.

    Sunday, 30th Oct 2016 by Maureen phillips

I thought the show was fantastic Gordy, Marvin and Michael Jackson knocked it out the park and the dancing to 'War' was fantastic. But agree with the others theatre is awful. Awful seats very hot no air conditioning and trying to get drinks was a nightmare. The amount of money paid by people deserves more comfort. Move Motown to a better theatre!!!

    Monday, 24th Oct 2016 by Dissapointed

went to see the show on 15th Oct. Very average and wouldn't want to go and see it again. Sound was poor and singing/acting and story very average.

    Sunday, 16th Oct 2016 by Philip Bennington

Went and saw what I consider to be the Best Motown Story Live Ever.yes I also think the Grand Circle is to cramped and there is a jobs worth of a member of staff who shouts at anybody who goes near the front rail and anybody who have been knows there is no room what so ever.I was glad at half time to be able to stretch my legs a little only to be shouted at by this jobs worth.

Getting back to the Show it's Fantastic Brilliant Voices and Fantastic Individual Performancies,Young Micheal Jackson is a Brilliant Talent for the Future..Motown Lovers Go and see it.

    Thursday, 29th Sep 2016 by christopher john shepherd

The show was out of this world if you havent seen the show you are missing something brilliant.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 2 + 8)