Motown the Musical Reviews - Shaftesbury Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Venue Information
Shaftesbury Theatre

Shaftesbury Theatre
210 Shaftesbury Avenue
London
London
WC2H 8DP

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Turn right onto New Oxford Street (past the Dominion) for 200 metres, and then turn right onto Shaftesbury Avenue, where the theatre will be on your left 100 metres down.

Show Information
Booking From: Thursday, 1st December 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 28th October 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 3pm and 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 3pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.2 out of 5 stars based on 62 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "Not at all like the Motown I remember. Poor imitation, although I suppose only the Four Tops an..."

Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 8th Aug 2016 by Jennie

Fantastic show full of energy and a real trip down memory lane!

    Thursday, 4th Aug 2016 by Shaz

Looking so forward to this show I love Motown music but what a disappointment, the sound was terrible we couldn't catch the end of conversations. The 1st half was so flat, some of the dancers were out of time, found it really boring.

The theatre was so hot it was unbearable uncomfortable seats with no leg room would not recommend this show.

    Monday, 18th Jul 2016 by kim Simmons

It was awesome! I had a smile on my face throughout the entire show. I would love to see it again.

    Sunday, 17th Jul 2016 by Dag Kjetil

This show is essential for everyone who loves that Motown sound. The muscial is based on Berry Goryds' story, and I think this really is a big asset to the musical, and makes it autentic. The actors, singers and dancers are really really good. But I have to mention, that there are too little of Stevie Wonder and The Jackson Five. But I guess you can't inklude everything in one show?

    Thursday, 7th Jul 2016 by RimaO86

Fantastic show! At times, it feels like going to a real superstar singing show. I like it when the singers encourage the audience to sing along.

    Thursday, 7th Jul 2016 by Ashley

This was a birthday treat for me from my wife i love motown,but it was really disappointing there was very little music too much talking and it might as well have been the Diana Ross story all the other artists were barely in it, they made Smokey Robinson out to be some sort of idiot and Stevie wonder was hardly in it these guys were major players,When music did come on the audience clapped and sang but there were far too many lengthy dialogs and it was really boring we left before the end. If you need to see a good motown show go to the magic of motown far better loads of music fun and audience participation.

    Thursday, 30th Jun 2016 by Lisa

Disappointed- Too much script which at times was very boring and hard to hear..the music, singing and dancing was very good but there was not enough to keep it flowing, also lack of audience interaction, one song to dance to at the end was not enough. Then the curtain went down. Sadly wont recommend.

    Sunday, 19th Jun 2016 by lorraine taylor

my cousins and I went 3.00pm 18.06.16 and had a wonderful time all the performers were fantastic such energy and lovely people will be booking again. made us all feel happy and lifted your spirits the story was told so well. thank you to all the performers you were wonderful.

Christine, buckinghamshire

    Friday, 17th Jun 2016 by Terri

AMAZING - could not sit still in my seat. The cast were fantastic great songs and great voices? A must to see in the west end, you will no be disappointed

    Thursday, 16th Jun 2016 by Lyn

The show itself was very good, however our enjoyment was spoilt by latecomers who were still trickling in 15 minutes are the show had started and believe it or not a group of people holding a conversation during the show.

On tickets that have been purchased for another show it clearly states on the front of the ticket that latecomers will not be admitted until a suitable break, however on the tickets for Motown nothing is mentioned perhaps this is something the theatre might consider for the future.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 2 + 2)