Motown the Musical Reviews - Shaftesbury Theatre

Check Availability
Post Review
Venue Information
Shaftesbury Theatre

Shaftesbury Theatre
210 Shaftesbury Avenue

Seating Plan


(5mins) Turn right onto New Oxford Street (past the Dominion) for 200 metres, and then turn right onto Shaftesbury Avenue, where the theatre will be on your left 100 metres down.

Show Information
Booking From: Friday, 21st October 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 28th October 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 3pm and 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 3pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 57 review(s)


Latest Review: "Went and saw what I consider to be the Best Motown Story Live Ever.yes I also think the Grand Cir..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 7th Jul 2016 by Ashley

This was a birthday treat for me from my wife i love motown,but it was really disappointing there was very little music too much talking and it might as well have been the Diana Ross story all the other artists were barely in it, they made Smokey Robinson out to be some sort of idiot and Stevie wonder was hardly in it these guys were major players,When music did come on the audience clapped and sang but there were far too many lengthy dialogs and it was really boring we left before the end. If you need to see a good motown show go to the magic of motown far better loads of music fun and audience participation.

    Thursday, 30th Jun 2016 by Lisa

Disappointed- Too much script which at times was very boring and hard to hear..the music, singing and dancing was very good but there was not enough to keep it flowing, also lack of audience interaction, one song to dance to at the end was not enough. Then the curtain went down. Sadly wont recommend.

    Sunday, 19th Jun 2016 by lorraine taylor

my cousins and I went 3.00pm 18.06.16 and had a wonderful time all the performers were fantastic such energy and lovely people will be booking again. made us all feel happy and lifted your spirits the story was told so well. thank you to all the performers you were wonderful.

Christine, buckinghamshire

    Friday, 17th Jun 2016 by Terri

AMAZING - could not sit still in my seat. The cast were fantastic great songs and great voices? A must to see in the west end, you will no be disappointed

    Thursday, 16th Jun 2016 by Lyn

The show itself was very good, however our enjoyment was spoilt by latecomers who were still trickling in 15 minutes are the show had started and believe it or not a group of people holding a conversation during the show.

On tickets that have been purchased for another show it clearly states on the front of the ticket that latecomers will not be admitted until a suitable break, however on the tickets for Motown nothing is mentioned perhaps this is something the theatre might consider for the future.

    Thursday, 16th Jun 2016 by Greg

The cast were excellent but the show could have been so much better. Less on Berry Gordy's life story & more on Motown.

Has the potential to be one of the best shows in town.

Frustrating that they missed such a great opportunity.

    Tuesday, 14th Jun 2016 by jackie george

just the best ever, im going back to see it september and november

    Monday, 13th Jun 2016 by debbie & chris

Went on 10th June for our 30th anniversary, loved every minute

    Saturday, 4th Jun 2016 by Nick Thornton

What a fantastic show and cast, anybody who grew up with Motown will love this show

    Monday, 30th May 2016 by Kevin D

Went to see the show on the 21st May and a fantastic evenings entertainment. The whole cast were superb and the singing and the songs were exceptional. Added bonus of Diana Ross singing Reach out and touch with my partner Debbie who was picked out of the audience. Will be definately going to see it again.


Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 6 + 5)