Motown the Musical Reviews - Shaftesbury Theatre

Check Availability
Post Review
Venue Information
Shaftesbury Theatre

Shaftesbury Theatre
210 Shaftesbury Avenue

Seating Plan


(5mins) Turn right onto New Oxford Street (past the Dominion) for 200 metres, and then turn right onto Shaftesbury Avenue, where the theatre will be on your left 100 metres down.

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 19th October 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 28th October 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 3pm and 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 3pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 57 review(s)


Latest Review: "Went and saw what I consider to be the Best Motown Story Live Ever.yes I also think the Grand Cir..."

Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 30th May 2016 by Jean Buckinghamshire

This show is fantastic the cast were all so talented in the many parts they all played. Berry Gordy was outstanding. Will definitely

go again and have recommended it to everyone. Motown memories at their best.

    Wednesday, 25th May 2016 by Wendy

I wasn't very impressed. I have seen better Motown tribute shows and think the show title is misleading. There is not as much music in as I would have liked and feel that Berry Gordy's ego got in the way of a good show. They could have done so much better.

    Sunday, 22nd May 2016 by Sandy

Thoroughly enjoyed the show. Thought the 2nd half was a little let down. Brilliant singing. Loved how they interacted with the audience in bringing them together., but they really need to sort the air conditioning out., as for £2.50 for a small bottle of water was ridiculous!! Overall would definitely go and see again.

    Wednesday, 11th May 2016 by Julie Whichelow

Brilliant 1st half, I was spellbound. Not enough Smokey and I did think he was made out to be a bit of a idiot, his songs were the greatest. Marvin Gaye was amazing/ 2nd half was a bit of a let down, it was all about Diana Ross. But on the plus side I would definitely see again. The prorgamme (£7.00) didn't have the stars on stage that were in the programme, so couldn't read about them

    Friday, 29th Apr 2016 by Christine - Kent

Not what I was expecting at all! It was more about how Motown was founded - I sure didn't hear 50 songs as stated in the advertisement - the young Michael Jackson only did one song as did Stevie Wonder - they were brilliant but could have done with a few more from them - I was expecting lots of songs bearing in mind there are numerous Motown artists - and the finale well - it wasn't even a song i knew - overall a very disappointing evening for myself and the 3 friends I went with :(

    Tuesday, 19th Apr 2016 by Diana

I loved the show .. I was a teenager in the 60's, so lots of memories!

The leads were incredibly talented young people - in fact the whole ensemble was excellent! A great evening out ...

    Sunday, 17th Apr 2016 by Mike Harris

Having waited 56 years I was not disappointed quite simply brilliant, he voices were superb and the young Michael Jackson outstanding had to pinch myself when Marvin Gaye entered the stage so good cannot recommend this show to highly if you like Motown you will love this show.

    Tuesday, 12th Apr 2016 by Louise (Paisley)

What a fantastic show would love to see it again Motown is just the best music and it will live on for years to come

    Monday, 11th Apr 2016 by Dave Jones

Very enjoyable show, would like to see the USA version on Broadway when it returns. I am aware of the full story of Motown as I have collecting the music for decades but was surprised by a few things on Berry Gordy and the person performing him was fantastic, and also great performances by Michael Jackson, and Diana Ross. The outfits were great and the dance routines excellent, the show left you wanting more and so much more could have been added had there been another 4 or 5 hours.

The show did not disappoint, recommended viewing for any soul fan

    Sunday, 10th Apr 2016 by Sandra & Roy

We went to see this show on the 1st April and it was outstanding, all the singers had superb voices, we felt we were back in the 60's, so well done to all of the cast for putting on a wonderful show

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 2 + 9)