Motown the Musical Reviews - Shaftesbury Theatre

Check Availability
Post Review
Venue Information
Shaftesbury Theatre

Shaftesbury Theatre
210 Shaftesbury Avenue

Seating Plan


(5mins) Turn right onto New Oxford Street (past the Dominion) for 200 metres, and then turn right onto Shaftesbury Avenue, where the theatre will be on your left 100 metres down.

Show Information
Booking From: Wednesday, 26th October 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 28th October 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 3pm and 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 3pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.3 out of 5 stars based on 57 review(s)


Latest Review: "Went and saw what I consider to be the Best Motown Story Live Ever.yes I also think the Grand Cir..."

Reviews Sort by
    Thursday, 7th Apr 2016 by Dani Yule

It took me back to my teenage years so very nostalgic. I am going to see it again!

    Sunday, 27th Mar 2016 by Sara

I was really looking forward to this show having booked about 9 months prior to seeing it. However, as much as I love Motown music, I came away feeling the show was just ok. I want to come out of a theatre on a high & desperately wanting to book again but I didn't feel this way. There are other musicals in the West End that I would recommend over this. Disappointed.

    Sunday, 20th Mar 2016 by Sally Windsor

Memories are made of Motown... A fabulous, magic, energetic and joyful show. Loving that we still remembered the words to the songs. Great performances from multi talented cast. Our party of four weren't the only ones saying they'd love to see it again.

    Sunday, 13th Mar 2016 by Linda gregory

What a fantastic show and the cast were amazing they worked so hard and was enjoyed by all our party of 49 people thank u

    Saturday, 12th Mar 2016 by Viv Stevenage

Fantastic show. Treated 11 members of my family to celebrate a special birthday. Ages from 13 to 93. Everyone had a wonderful time. One member was in a wheelchair and the staff were excellent. All led to a wonderful afternoons celebration. The show is dynamic from start to finish. Well done to everyone. Best show in town.

    Saturday, 12th Mar 2016 by Peter Knott

I was full of high expectation for this show but sadly a little disappointed at seeing such brilliant songs cut short for what at times was tedious dialogue. If you had half the acting and twice the singing and dancing, Motown the Musical would be an absolute winner.

    Tuesday, 8th Mar 2016 by rose stennett

THis is the most spectacular show in the West End. Thevwhole show is totally. about some of the greatest musical talents in twentieth century show business., and how Berry Gordy. puts them all. on. the Motown Label

    Sunday, 6th Mar 2016 by Larry Restieaux

The opening scene of Temps v Tops taken from the 25th Anniversary was brill but may have been better at the right time line of the story (I'm not complaining). Such a well written play with excellent choreography and loved the crossover scene stills between storyline and singing. The Diana/audience participation was a welcome highlight to interface with the crowd and musical orchestration was simply superb. The singing brings back happy memories ( Smokey especially) and true genius with Michael Jackson and Diana and the Girls. Cedric Neal (Berry Gordy) what an amazing actor and singer. The energy of the whole cast was nothing short of brilliant. A must see xxx long live Tamla Motown xx

    Wednesday, 2nd Mar 2016 by Andrew

OK, the individual songs / performers are ready good. However, there is a weak throughput story line and in the end too many characters to really get too emotional involved. Maybe they should have gone full jukebox musical. Great individual songs, but boring in between those songs.


    Sunday, 28th Feb 2016 by Sonia

Absolutely amazing. Top entertainment delivered by talented individuals. Fun from the beginning to the end.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 8 + 2)