Once Reviews - Phoenix Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Phoenix Theatre

Phoenix Theatre
Charing Cross Road
London
London
WC2H 0JP

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(3mins) Take Tottenham Court Road south (towards Leicester Square) and the theatre will be on your left after 100 metres.

Show Information
Booking From: Friday, 20th March 2015
Booking Until: Friday, 20th March 2015
Running Time: 2 hours and 30 minutes
Age Restriction: Children under the age of 4 are not permitted in the theatre.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 42 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "I loved the film so was looking forward to the show. I'm so glad I went I enjoyed it far more tha..."

Reviews Sort by
    Sunday, 15th Feb 2015 by Claire

I loved the film so was looking forward to the show. I'm so glad I went I enjoyed it far more than the film. The musicians were amazing and Ronan Keating played the part perfectly.

    Monday, 29th Dec 2014 by Johhny7

Went to see this show on Boxing Day night having seen it 3 times with, 3 other Guys (Arthur Darvill, David Hunter and Daniel Healy). Despite Daniel being my favourite, most Glen Hansard like Guy it was still really enjoyable. Ronan Keating did a fantastic job and the whole cast are multi-talented musiciasn/actors. Don't be put off by negative comments. I think they mostly come from people who like safe, no swearing, jazz hands kind of musicals, no offence. This is definitely one of my favourite plays with excellent songs and a great story of hope, love and the joy music brings to our lives.

    Monday, 1st Dec 2014 by Ann

Saw this Friday night. We were so excited because Ronan Keating was in it. Went with three friends and we were all disappointed with the music, the story and the acting. We all questioned each other to find out who could hear and understand the story line and the songs and we were all of the same opinion that is was very very poor. Tickets cost the same as Thriller, Jersey Boys, War Horse and absolutely no comparison to those superb performances. Don't bother wasting your money.

    Wednesday, 19th Nov 2014 by lynn

Loved this musical.To be honest I wasn't sure what to expect but ended up enjoying it far more than I thought I would.I did go because of Ronan Keating joining the cast and he was fantastic in it as where all the other performers.Booked again as soon as I got home.Some very funny parts in it and the songs are superb.The bar on the stage is something very different with some of the cast members performing whilst the audience are having a drink.Lovely touch.Can't wait to go again

    Friday, 7th Nov 2014 by daphne

this was not professional done, it had bad language which i found very offensive and it spoiled any enjoyment i may have had from some of the music. The performance we went to even started EARLY!!Not a good start for any theatre.

    Sunday, 2nd Nov 2014 by Tracy

Fab fab fab. Loved it. We were a group of 8 ladies, age range late 30's to mid 50's. From the beauty of the theatre its self, to the cast of the show, superb. Even bought the CD...........have never done that before from a show. Highly recommended.

    Tuesday, 28th Oct 2014 by Peter L

The story line was a little clumsy but it did develop and you kind of 'got used to it'. acting was okay, two main characters were good. the comedy was good but the 'star of the show' was undoubtedly the music. cheaper seats sitting high up were quite uncomfortable, cramped.

    Tuesday, 14th Oct 2014 by janet

The story was rather slow and the language offended my friend (we are in our fifties) perhaps we are too old for this sort of play! But we couldn't see the point in repeating the 'F' word so often and sh.. was repeated over and over again too. I couldn't see the point in that when it was a nice love story. There was a few funny witty quips thrown in and acting but it did not flow.

The costumes were not changed throughout the play and we would have liked something more to keep our attention, maybe dancing would have livened it up. The instruments were played beautifully but more popular songs needed. I hope Ronan Keating livens the play up in November. Ticket prices can be very expensive. We left the theatre feeling it lacked something. We were told we weren't the only people to feel like this. but apparently the Americans love this show and the applaud at the end of the show went on for quite some time. So confusing.

    Monday, 21st Jul 2014 by Glen66

I went to see this show with my 18 year old daughter in May. It was her choice to see 'Once' as she wanted to see a London show for her birthday, & had heard a couple of the songs.

Neither of us had any idea what the story was about, but I am so glad we chose this one! The atmosphere as soon as we arrived in the theatre was wonderful. A lot of the cast were on the stage playing their music before the show started, which was lovely. The storyline was simple, the songs were beautifully sang & all the musicians were amazing. We both really enjoyed the whole show & had a fantastic night out. If you enjoy irish style music, I think you will love this show.

    Monday, 21st Jul 2014 by dudley Letts

Excellent show. My wife and I loved it. So So talented all of the cast.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 9 + 4)