Once Reviews - Phoenix Theatre

Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Phoenix Theatre

Phoenix Theatre
Charing Cross Road

Seating Plan


(3mins) Take Tottenham Court Road south (towards Leicester Square) and the theatre will be on your left after 100 metres.

Show Information
Booking From: Friday, 20th March 2015
Booking Until: Friday, 20th March 2015
Running Time: 2 hours and 30 minutes
Age Restriction: Children under the age of 4 are not permitted in the theatre.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars based on 42 review(s)


Latest Review: "I loved the film so was looking forward to the show. I'm so glad I went I enjoyed it far more tha..."

Reviews Sort by
    Sunday, 6th Apr 2014 by gill

Loved it! Touching, clever, sweet, sad and funny. The music was great and the cast talented and worked well together. Better to describe it as a play with music, then people thinking it is a typical west end musical might be more prepared for the slower, dialogue sections.

    Friday, 7th Mar 2014 by Margaret

Not one for me. Too slow. The songs weren't up beat enough. The set was poor. It kind of petered out.The talent of the musicians, however was not in question as they were excellent.

    Friday, 21st Feb 2014 by Kate

I deliberately didn't look at reviews beforehand. But was pleasantly impressed by the actors/singers/musicians.. A great show! And an unusual one! However swearing could have been toned down for half term matinee .

    Thursday, 16th Jan 2014 by Alice

The bit on the stage before the show was great, made me think I was in for a good show. I felt that it needed a kick up the backside, it never got going in my opinion. I was very disappointed.

    Wednesday, 15th Jan 2014 by alan

poor sound

poor acting

poor set

no i did not like it one bit, what was the czek sub titles about? this was the most miserable romance i have seen on stage, screen or TV, dont go and see not even ONCE!!!!!

    Tuesday, 10th Dec 2013 by Janice McGuiness

Fantastic show, didn't stop smiling all the way through, didn't want it to end. I've seen lots of shows but never one where everyone was brilliant. Well done cast, I hope it goes on and on....

    Saturday, 14th Sep 2013 by Marny and Georgia

Mother and daughter who have long adored the film, the cast and glorious songs, and now in love again with the London stage performance. Magical. Life isn't the same after Once! The one (stage and film) doesn't detract from, but rather superbly complements, the other. The talent is awesome. Free flowing tears and plenty of smiles! Thank you SO MUCH.

    Sunday, 11th Aug 2013 by Karen Jacobs

Soooo lived up to our expectations, great seats in the dress circle - great views and felt so much a part of it all. My friends, who had not seen the film, were absolutely blown away by this production. Would highly recommend this wonderful show, to alll , such a simple love story made amazing by the cast and the lovely songs - A must see!!

    Friday, 2nd Aug 2013 by Naomi e

Blown away by this beautiful musical you feel you are part of the story as its such a cosy theatre and the audience can join the cast before the show on stage whilst they do a bit of jamming and at the initerval wherethe stage becomes the bar for interval drinks. The story was portrayed so magically and left you in tears, the music wonderful. All I can say is I want to see it again soon.

    Friday, 19th Jul 2013 by janette

Sadly the sound was not good under the balcony and my friend and I had difficulty in hearing the words of the beautiful songs.

We were in stalls M11.m12

We had heard such good reports and were very disappointed.

Please get the sound balance right so that future people can enjoy the performance.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 3 + 7)