The Phantom of the Opera Reviews - Her Majesty's Theatre

Check Availability
Date:
When:
Quantity:
Post Review
Featured Video
Venue Information
Her Majesty's Theatre

Her Majesty's Theatre
57 Haymarket
London
London
SW1Y 4QL

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(5mins) Go along Coventry Street and then take Haymarket on the right where the theatre will be approx. 200 metres along.

Show Information
Booking From: Thursday, 1st December 2016
Booking Until: Saturday, 14th October 2017
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Age Restriction: Recommended for ages 10 and over. Under 5s will not be admitted. Parental guidance advised.
Important Info: The sides of the Grand Circle are side view restricted. The rear of the Stalls and Royal Circle are restricted by the overhang. Seats in the Balcony have restricted legroom.
Show Schedule
Mon: 7.30pm
Tue: 7.30pm
Wed: 7.30pm
Thu: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Fri: 7.30pm
Sat: 2.30pm and 7.30pm
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.9 out of 5 stars based on 108 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "WOW!! I really enjoyed this Fabulous show. The whole production blew me away. It was my first ti..."

Reviews Sort by
    Tuesday, 6th Dec 2011 by Naseem M

This show had been on my wishlist since a long time. Saw it last weekend and boy was I amazed! The jaw-dropping sets, the spellbinding performances...Lucky to have booked one of the best seats in Stall...All in all a Fantastic show!! To more 25 years of this amazing show! Cheers

    Tuesday, 29th Nov 2011 by Gordon Mokes

Really beyond all doubt at all the best show i have ever seen.

    Friday, 28th Oct 2011 by Bryony

I first saw this when I was 3 when my mum had a spare ticket and couldnt find anyone to bring. Safe to say i can still remember the chandelier scene! Ive seen it again since then and listen to the soundtrack repeatedly. Loved both this and Love Never Dies although they have mostly different musical styles their core themes are the same: dark, dangerous and ultimatly captivating. I would definately recommend this for anyone wishing to see a really gripping show!

    Friday, 9th Sep 2011 by Babs Sandercock (Devon)

Absolutely fantastic. Felt goose bumps and emotional when signature tune began. Was given it as treat for my 60th birthday could not have wished for better. Brilliant..

 

    Tuesday, 30th Aug 2011 by dave broadbent

We saw the phantom on the 23rd Aug and i've never seen a stage production so breathtaking. The singing, acting and sets were first class. I can't stop telling people about our visit. Well done this was the best i've seen thank you.

    Sunday, 7th Aug 2011 by Louise |Tarry

Brilliant - I cried like a big baby through most of it.  Wonderful score and incredible sets - one of my best nights out ever  

The first time that you hear the signature tune - goosebumps on every part of your body  FANTASTIC!

    Wednesday, 23rd Feb 2011 by Coral Williams

Spellbinding! I have seen many shows in the west end but none so captivating as Phantom. The performances were flawless and the music magical.

    Saturday, 7th Aug 2010 by Boxoffice Review

This show is a theatrical blockbuster in every sense of the word.  Perhaps the most famous show in the history of modern musical theatre, Andrew Lloyd Webber’s monster smash hit has played in more than twenty five countries and 124 cities around the world.  It has won more than 50 major theatre awards (including 7 Tony Awards) and there are currently 8 productions playing around the world.  It is the second longest running musical in the history of the West End and the longest running musical in history on Broadway.

Based on Gaston Leroux’s famous story of a talented but disfigured musician who lives a secluded life away from prying eyes in the catacombs beneath the Paris Opera house.  His presence is felt by those in the opera house and he is known as the mysterious opera ghost.  He falls in love with a young and talented Opera singer, Christine Daae, who he tutors and advises from the shadows until he feels the time is right to reveal himself.  Christine has another admirer in Raoul, a new patron of the Opera house, who remembers Christine from his childhood.  When Raoul and Christine fall in love, the Phantom vows revenge and his obsession with Christine threatens the lives of all connected with the Opera house.

Phantom of the Opera was one of the first musicals I saw as a child.  It was a stunning experience then with the huge, gothic sets, memorable score and brilliant special effects.  I am glad to say that while I am older and have seen many more shows since then, this remains a potent and wondrous night of theatre.  David Shannon is imposing as the Phantom.  His renditions of such hit songs as The Phantom of the Opera and Music of the Night are memorable and his brilliant stage presence make his Phantom both impressive and frightening.  Gina Beck plays Christine beautifully and her duet (All I Ask of You) with Simon Bailey as Raoul is a high point of the evening along with a haunting rendition of Wishing you were somehow here again .  The shows famous set pieces such as the decent into the Phantom’s Lair and the Masquerade Ball are as impressive as ever.

This is a show that has helped to define modern musical theatre.  If you have never seen a musical before, I can suggest nothing more successful that Phantom.  It is an intriguing thriller, love story and special effects laden show that makes for a memorable night of theatre.

Phantom of the Opera - Andrew Lloyd Webber at Her Majesty’s Theatre, Haymarket, London. WC1

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 9 + 8)