Shrek The Musical: Wimbledon Reviews - New Wimbledon Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
New Wimbledon Theatre

New Wimbledon Theatre
93 The Broadway
London
SW19 1QG

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
Take the tube to Wimbledon (District) or South Wimbledon (Northern) and the theatre is an easy walk. The Wimbledon railway station is also nearby.

Show Information
Booking From: Friday, 29th January 2016
Booking Until: Friday, 29th January 2016
Running Time: 2 hours 30 minutes
Age Restriction: Suitable for ages 5 and over.
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 4.9 out of 5 stars based on 36 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "I went with my two daughters and my wife and as soon as the music starts I knew that this was goi..."

Reviews Sort by
    Friday, 22nd Jul 2011 by Sean McCabe

It was incredible last night the way Amanda and the rest of the shrek crew delivered their lines. Was incredible i am so proud for them and keep up the good work.  

    Tuesday, 12th Jul 2011 by Lesley

Outstanding show fun for all the family the best i've seen as good as the lion king.

    Saturday, 9th Jul 2011 by tina collister

Great show, fun for all the family one of the best I've seen for a very long time.

    Sunday, 12th Jun 2011 by Paul Watts

What a fabulous night  thoroughly enjoy this show  just got back from london today. This is well worth the money i can promise you.

    Friday, 10th Jun 2011 by Boxoffice Review

When the Oscar CG animated movie version of Shrek was first released in cinemas, it was a breath of fresh air.  A clever satire of the Disney fairytale memorable for its catchy soundtrack, excellent animation and hilarious vocal performances from such powerhouses as John Lithgow and comedian Mike Myers.  Shrek the Musical boasts an original sound track (the exception being the Monkees track I’m a Believer) and offers excellent family entertainment and gags galore while providing us with a visual feast that puts 3D cinema to shame.

For those of you not familiar with the movie, the musical pretty much tells us the story of the first Shrek adventure (with a few parts of the more recent movies included).  Shrek (played by Nigel Lindsay is not your typical fairy tale hero.  For a start he is an Ogre and he doesn’t like to be bothered by anyone.  When he is forced to perform a task for Lord Farquad (played by a vertically challenged Nigel Harman) in order to restore peace and quiet to his beloved swamp, he embarks on a quest with his unwanted companion Donkey (Richard Blackwood) to find the beautiful - and temperamental - Princess Fiona (Amanda Holden) and he may just find that there is more to life than the contents of his swamp.

I was skeptical about this stage version of what is a brilliant piece of animation.  What was a fresh take on the genre has become stale in recent years with the subsequent sequels paling in comparison to the brilliant original.  This is why I think it was a good move to go back to the source material as it works so well.  Shrek is a tale of companionship and love that is more than just skin deep.  The scale of the production is amazing.  Wonderful and magical use of projection (the magic mirror scene is incredible) as well as some excellent performance that come through despite the heavy prosthetics in place.  The musical numbers are infectious and the creators of Avenue Q (Rob Ashford and Jason Moore) really get the most out of the great humor in the piece.  It is just the right side of panto and really great family fun.

    Thursday, 9th Jun 2011 by Kim D

I find it hysterical that Shrek is playing on Drury Lane, incidentally where the creator of Gingy lives, the one and only Muffin Man!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 1 + 2)