Stephen Ward Reviews - Aldwych Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Aldwych Theatre

Aldwych Theatre
49 Aldwych
London
London
WC2B 4DF

Seating Plan

Directions

Directions
(10mins) Head out onto the main road Strand. Cross street where possible and go right. When you reach the fork, veer left onto Aldwych.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 29th March 2014
Booking Until: Saturday, 29th March 2014
Running Time: 2 hours 20 minutes
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars based on 93 review(s)

image

Latest Review: "HEY! WE HAVEN'T REACHED LONDON YET (AUGUST 26) AND YOU ARE CLOSING ALREADY!! JAMES LIVED THROUGH ..."

Reviews Sort by
    Monday, 7th Apr 2014 by STEPHEN and JAMES

HEY! WE HAVEN'T REACHED LONDON YET (AUGUST 26) AND YOU ARE CLOSING ALREADY!! JAMES LIVED THROUGH THE SCANDAL; STEPHEN HAD TO READ THE AUSSIE PRESS AVIDLY...SUCH AN ENTHRALLING EVENT FOR TWO HEALTHY 15 YEAR OLD BOYS!

WE WANT TO SEE THE SHOW! PLEASE TELL US THAT (LIKE 'WARHORSE', IT WILL TRANSFER TO ANOTHER THEATRE FOR OUR WINTER PLEASURE.....AND SAVE US A CD, PLEASE!!!

    Saturday, 29th Mar 2014 by Barry

My wife and I loved this show. In particular, Alex Hanson and Charlotte Spencer were great and the power of the whole saga was evident in the songs. We really want to see it again, sad that it is closing at the Aldwych and hope it will tour.

    Tuesday, 25th Mar 2014 by KC

I went to see Stephen Ward with my mum, 16yr old son and my husband because we live near Cliveden and was intrigued to see how the story would be interpreted in a musical. We have seen many musicals and this was by far the worst. We all thought the stage sets were extremely poor and the songs very disappointing. Certainly not up to Andrew Lloyde Webbers usual standard. There were 2 memorable songs and the rest were terrible. We also thought the interpretation focused far too much on the 'seedy' side of life and very embarrassing in parts!

    Saturday, 22nd Mar 2014 by Barbara

I have just seen the show for the second time and have loved every minute of it - it is a fantastic musical. I have enjoyed it as much as any other musical I have seen, and that includes Les Mis and Miss Saigon - I do not understand why it is closing, other than the fact that it was put on at the wrong time ie just before Christmas and that it is not really a family show. Also it would I suppose, attract a niche audience -due to the subject matter. However the production and cast were faultless and the music brilliant.

I do hope it can return at a future date to the West End and be more successful. It doesn't deserve to be taken off.

    Friday, 21st Mar 2014 by Sarah Walker

Really enjoyable! We went with an open mind after reading critics reviews but were pleasantly suprised. Exciting, gripping and some amazing singing voices from the cast. The first musical my husband has sat through without fidgeting....but maybe that was the nudity! Strongly recommend people see this!

    Friday, 21st Mar 2014 by Judith

Great show and cast! The script exposed the corrupt establishment and media distortion of the facts perfectly - no change there then!

    Wednesday, 19th Mar 2014 by Bambi

One of the best musicals I have seen in ages. Fantastic cast and storey kept to the facts. Disgrace how Stephen Ward was treated by The Establishment and his friends. Cannot understand why you are closing. Maybe because few of the numbers have been played on The BBC I have only heard one. Please do not close.

    Wednesday, 19th Mar 2014 by Richard

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed and we're moved by this show. Go and see it now. You may not have a second chance.

    Tuesday, 18th Mar 2014 by HB Cobham

A brilliant show: best we have seen in recent years. We were transfixed from start to finish .We did not know how such a complex story could be staged but it was with marvellous effect. I would like to have seen the same backdrop as the one shown in the Royal Variety performance. All my family have seen it and want to go back to see it again. Cannot understand why it is not continuing. Alex Hanson and cast absolutely superb - glad we bought the CD.

    Monday, 17th Mar 2014 by Denis

This show should not be closing! My wife and I attended on 8th March being aware of poor professional reviews, but were enthralled by the performance and by the music. It is a great tribute to all concerned with the script, the staging, the music and the lyrics to condense this whole affair into such a pacy, comprehensive and musical performance. The staging, acting and singing were first-rate. Congratulations to all concerned. I purchased the CD on exiting the theatre and have listened to it numerous times since then. The script might be said to gloss over the significant shortcomings of Ward and Keeler but this was not a problem to us - after all it is a musical not a documentary. But your treatment of the story focused our attention on the injustices brought about by the political, judicial and police corruption in the affair, and allowed the insertion of the very moving final scenes. We very much hope that the production transfers to the provinces, possibly with a title that does not rely upon a recognition of the name of Stephen Ward.

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 6 + 3)