Stephen Ward Reviews - Aldwych Theatre

Post Review
Venue Information
Aldwych Theatre

Aldwych Theatre
49 Aldwych

Seating Plan


(10mins) Head out onto the main road Strand. Cross street where possible and go right. When you reach the fork, veer left onto Aldwych.

Show Information
Booking From: Saturday, 29th March 2014
Booking Until: Saturday, 29th March 2014
Running Time: 2 hours 20 minutes
Show Status: production_closed
Review Summary
Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars based on 93 review(s)



Reviews Sort by
    Saturday, 8th Feb 2014 by Jeanette Starns

WOW we really enjoyed this show, so glad we went, we really enjoyed the storyline the singing and acting was done with feeling and was superb, we found the show very moving and emotional. Thank you for a fantastic few hours, would definitely see again.

    Friday, 7th Feb 2014 by Ellen Lewis

Disappointing from start to finish. No memorable songs although cast did best they could with them.Would rather have spent money on a good dinner !

    Monday, 3rd Feb 2014 by Andy Ward

The warning signs were there as soon as we entered the theatre and told we would be moved to the circle as grand circle closed. The circle was barely half full and this was Saturday night. The show was poor, the music was at best unnecessary, the court scene too drawn out. Over two hours of my life I can never get back!

    Saturday, 1st Feb 2014 by Rob

Absolutely brilliant! great songs, funny, entertaining and definitely up there with the best shows in London! Brilliant night out.

    Thursday, 16th Jan 2014 by Diane - Banstead

Absolutely up there with the best. The music was very memorable, the actors brilliant. The story telling was very easy to follow although I did know the story which probably helped. Very funny in places and a good insight on what life was like for society in the sixties. I will definitely look forward to seeing it again.

    Monday, 13th Jan 2014 by pamela

Oh ALW you've done it again! And this time so bold and outside your comfort zone. Coachloads of WI women will be disappointed - Phantom of the Opera it is not. It's a very wordy show with daring, intelligent lyrics from Don Black.

It would be better if the viewer knew the story beforehand and this is from someone lived during that time of bent establishment, corrupt police which younger viewers may not be aware of but was superbly shown in the second half.

Buy the CD and see how the music gradually grows on you(like the classics in fact).

I shall definitely see it again as keep singing the songs!!

    Sunday, 12th Jan 2014 by Pauline

I was a little concerned after reading the mixed reviews but I thoroughly enjoyed Stephen Ward The Musical. It was witty, lively, well acted and fast moving. I went with my husband and two friends and we all really enjoyed it. Give it a go.

    Sunday, 12th Jan 2014 by Jeanne

Totally enjoyed the evening. 4 or 5 really memorable songs (more than Cats). I can't wait to see it again. It's a "must see".

    Thursday, 9th Jan 2014 by nmm

Really enjoyed the show - it evoked the music of the time and the music/songs enhanced what was going on stage. It told the story of the "Profumo" affair putting Stephen Ward's role in a new and innocent light.

The only downside was a older lady, sitting in the row behind, insisting on eating chocolates and rustling the papers in the quietest part of the best song sung by Valerie Hobson.

The theatre told you to switch off mobile phones - a warning regarding eating chocolates/sweets might be appropriate too.

    Wednesday, 8th Jan 2014 by Raccie

At last! Another musical from ALW.................................oh dear, oh dear! Sounds like the music was a mix of all his previous shows, words were corny, the set was....hang on, WHAT set????, the shiny curtain which opened and shut like a "Jack in the box", the projections which were so distorted from the crinkles on the shiny curtain you couldn't tell what they were - or else too high to see from our top-price seats, the story seemed muddled as to who it supported. and as for the hula hoops??? What a relief when he died and we could all stretch our legs and go home. Booooo!!!!

Add Your Own Review

Your Name: Displayed on site

Your Email: Private

Your Score:

Your Review

Answer this simple question : (What is 2 + 4)